Ambassador: 2 Raising Hell

Ambassador

Book 2
Patty Jansen
14
Free sample

The second quickest way to get yourself killed when dealing with Coldi people of the planet Asto is to look a superior in the eye. The Coldi people possess an instinct that demands the formation of hierarchical networks in which every person has a prescribed place. These networks provide stability. They also place one person at the top.
Ezhya Palayi is that person.
After having been released by his previous employers, Cory Wilson not only depends on Ezhya Palayi for his income, but he has developed an unusually friendly relationship with this man whom people on Earth would call an absolute dictator, but whose reign is benign.
The third-quickest way to get yourself killed when dealing with Coldi people is when the leader you depended on for support is suddenly no longer there, as when he goes missing because the system society relies on for interstellar travel goes down.
In a highly-strung hierarchical society, it won’t be long before someone else tries to claim the top spot, someone less benign, someone aggressive who is likely to destabilise peace between Asto and other worlds.
But by far the quickest way to get yourself killed is, as a non-Coldi outsider, to visit Asto and try to interfere in their hierarchical system, to mess with instincts you don’t feel yourself, and people who are much stronger than you.
Oh, and did you know that the average daytime temperature is well over 50 degrees C?

Will appeal to readers of C.J. Cherryh's science fiction, Lois McMaster Bujold's Miles series, Lindsay Buroker, John Scalzi and Orson Scott Card

Science Fiction series, space opera, aliens, thriller, political, Patty Jansen, Ambassador, scifi, sci fi, alien planet, alien society

Read more
Collapse

More by Patty Jansen

See more
A space opera series that spans four self-contained stories that add up to a larger tale. 

In Watcher's Web, Jessica comes to the city of Barresh on the world of Ceren through what looks like an accident, but is a kidnapping attempt gone wrong. Jessica (or Anmi) is Aghyrian, an ancient highly intelligent race that gave rise to all human races on all inhabited worlds. Someone is trying to resurrect the almost extinct race, but a mad tyrant from the neighbouring nation of Miran wants Aghyrians for his twisted, evil plans.
The botched kidnapping almost brings down the successful business of the Andrahar Trading family of Miran. In book 2, Mikandra has just been accepted as apprentice with them when she sees her life's dream evaporate from under her. Going to Barresh to locate a chunk of the family's missing money sounds simple enough, but she uncovers layers of betrayal by people she trusted.
In book 3 jaded soldier Izramith accepts a contract providing security for a an event in Barresh. Privately, she is looking for her uncle who disappeared and is said to be in Miran. He was not the only one; people with a high percentage of Aghyrian blood have been disappearing for years. Attempting to free them from the heart of Miran makes her undertake the most hare-brained operation of all her military career.
In book 4 the task of facing the tyrant of Miran is left to the least likely person of all: Ellisandra, a gentile young lady whose normal job it is to run the Mirani state theatre. She has no guns. Her weapons are words and a single public performance of a classic play.

Will appeal to readers of C.J. Cherryh, Tamora Pierce and Isobelle Carmody. 

Space opera, young adult, adventure, science fiction, aliens, 

 Do make sure to read book 1 first. It's free.


Fifteen years ago, a brilliant scientist built a barrier against the dangerous power that radiates from the City of Glass in the southern land, allowing the citizens of Chevakia to live without fear of their lives. Since then, the democracy of Chevakia has prospered, with free-thinking scientists developing steam power and the beginnings of electricity.
But the power, which they call sonorics, controls the weather in Chevakia. 
Senator Sadorius han Chevonian is the country’s chief meteorologist. While taking measurements for his job, he is the first to notice a rapid rise of sonorics levels out-of-season. The senate is locked in trivial debate, and to make them listen, he has to take a step he never thought to make.
After the huge explosion of the machine they call the Heart of the City, Loriane has fled the southern land with the sorcerer Tandor, who hovers in and out of consciousness. But while Tandor isn’t speaking, she cannot confirm her fears that he caused the explosion, and that the child she carries has something to do with his twisted plans to seize power from the Eagle Knights who rule the City of Glass.
Just before the explosion, southern queen Jevaithi fled into Chevakia with her young lover Isandor. While they think they’re free of the tyranny of the Eagle Knights, it soon becomes clear something very bad has happened in the City of Glass soon after their escape. Something so bad that it sends waves of sonorics into Chevakia, causing even the Chevakians to flee. 
Several streams of refugees are heading for the Chevakian capital. Southerners by train, Chevakians by road, into a city that is tragically unprepared, a country in turmoil with a leader whose support hangs by the merest thread.

For people who like their fantasy dark and gritty. Think Joe Abercrombie, Karen Miller, Robin Hobb, George R.R. Martin.

dark fantasy, steampunk, post-apocalyptic, magic, sorcery, epic fantasy, knights, eagles, bears

4.4
14 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Patty Jansen
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 31, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
326
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The eighth book in the NYT bestselling Expanse series, Tiamat's Wrath finds the crew of the Rocinante fighting an underground war against a nearly invulnerable authoritarian empire, with James Holden a prisoner of the enemy. Now a Prime Original series.
Thirteen hundred gates have opened to solar systems around the galaxy. But as humanity builds its interstellar empire in the alien ruins, the mysteries and threats grow deeper.
In the dead systems where gates lead to stranger things than alien planets, Elvi Okoye begins a desperate search to discover the nature of a genocide that happened before the first human beings existed, and to find weapons to fight a war against forces at the edge of the imaginable. But the price of that knowledge may be higher than she can pay.
At the heart of the empire, Teresa Duarte prepares to take on the burden of her father's godlike ambition. The sociopathic scientist Paolo Cortázar and the Mephistophelian prisoner James Holden are only two of the dangers in a palace thick with intrigue, but Teresa has a mind of her own and secrets even her father the emperor doesn't guess.
And throughout the wide human empire, the scattered crew of the Rocinante fights a brave rear-guard action against Duarte's authoritarian regime. Memory of the old order falls away, and a future under Laconia's eternal rule -- and with it, a battle that humanity can only lose -- seems more and more certain. Because against the terrors that lie between worlds, courage and ambition will not be enough...
The ExpanseLeviathan WakesCaliban's WarAbaddon's GateCibola BurnNemesis GamesBabylon's AshesPersepolis RisingTiamat's Wrath
The Expanse Short FictionThe Butcher of Anderson StationGods of RiskThe ChurnThe Vital AbyssStrange Dogs
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.