Death's Witness: A Novel

Oceanview Publishing
10
Free sample

USA Today Best-Selling Author

Prominent defense attorney murdered in Central Park—random act or a conspiracy?


When Tom Perini, a legendary Heisman Trophy winner turned criminal lawyer, is found brutally murdered in Central Park, his widow Julie Perini suspects a wider conspiracy. Not only was her husband part of the defense team for a Congressman on trial for bribery, but her intuition also tells her that the FBI is not too eager to find the killer.

Relying on her skills as a journalist, Julie begins her own investigation and soon discovers her late husband's secret underworld associations; ties that now threaten her and her toddler's lives. Fighting grief and a sense of betrayal, Julie is pulled into an inescapable labyrinth of organized crime dealings, political corruption, brutal power grabs and murder.

Desperate, Julie turns to Vincent Sorrentino, Tom's defense partner, for help, and the two discover a shocking and terrifying truth that threatens to paralyze them. But it may also hold the key—the only key—to saving the lives of Julie and her daughter.

Perfect for fans of John Grisham's legal thrillers

While Death's Witness is a standalone novel, here is the publication order of Paul Batista's legal thrillers:

Death's Witness
Extraordinary Rendition
The Borzoi Killings
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #1)
Manhattan Lockdown
The Warriors
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #2)
Accusation (Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #3) — coming in March 2022
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Paul Batista, novelist and television personality, is one of the most widely known trial lawyers in the country. As a trial attorney, he specializes in federal criminal litigation. As a media figure, he is known for his regular appearances as guest legal commentator on a variety of television shows including,Court TV, CNN, HLN and WNBC. He's also appeared in the HBO movie, You Don't Know Jack, starring Al Pacino.

A prolific writer, Batista authored the leading treatise on the primary federal anti-racketeering statute,Civil RICO Practice Manual, which is now in its third edition (Wiley & Sons, 1987; Wolters Kluwer, 2008). He has written articles for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The National Law Journal.

Batista's debut novel, Death's Witness, was awarded a Silver Medal by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA). Batista is a graduate of Bowdoin College, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, and Cornell Law School. He's proud to have served in the United States Army. Paul Batista lives in New York City and Sag Harbor, New York.

Read more
Collapse
4.2
10 total
5
4
3
2
1
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Oceanview Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Seller
Google LLC
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 26, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
378
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781608092093
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Thrillers / Legal
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2022 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google Play|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.