The Equal Parent: How sharing the load helps the whole family thrive

· Bookouture
Ebook
265
Pages
Eligible
This book will become available on March 2, 2023. You will not be charged until it is released.

About this ebook

A myth-busting must-read about creating parenting equality for fans of Caitlin Moran, The Danish Way of Parenting and The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read.

 

·     Why do mothers wake first when their baby cries at night?

·     Why do fathers take so little time off work to bond with their newborn babies?

·     Why are mothers never praised for being ‘hands on’?

·     Is there a biological difference in mothers’ and fathers’ parenting instincts?

·     Why do nurseries and schools often call mothers first when there is a problem?

·     Why don’t we expect fathers to have a more active role in caring for their children?

 

As a new father and Head of Investigations at The Times, Paul Morgan-Bentley found himself lying awake in bed one night after settling his three-month-old back to sleep. With all these questions buzzing in his mind, he decided to go a mission to answer them.


Drawing on his own personal experience of fatherhood – from the utter joy and terror Paul and his husband felt caring for their new-born son, to the chemist who calls Paul ‘MummyDaddy’ and the juggle of nursery pick-ups with work deadlines, Paul delves into what it really means to share the parental load.

 

With a range of case studies, research from around the world, and conversations with leading scientists, The Equal Parent explores the truths behind the falsehoods about parenting roles – and why challenging these myths to achieve parenting equality will benefit all of us: mothers, fathers and, most importantly, our children.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.