The Bubble Wrap Boy

Sold by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Ages 9-12
1
Free sample

"Middle school readers will easily relate to the situational humor and school life, but everyone should read this book for its message. The Bubble Wrap Boy is perfect for fans of R.J. Palacio’s Wonder and will be an excellent addition to any library or classroom."-VOYA

   Charlie Han’s troubles are much bigger than he is. At school he’s branded an outsider, a loser—the tiny kid from the Chinese takeout. His only ally is Sinus Sedgely, a kid with a lower-level reputation than Charlie himself. Life at home isn’t much better. His dad is more skilled with a wok than he is with words, and his mom is suffocating the life out of Charlie, worried about his every move. But when a new passion leads Charlie to the mother of all confrontations, he finds his real mom has been hiding a massive secret. A secret that while shocking, might actually lead Charlie to feeling ten feet tall.
    The Bubble Wrap Boy is a funny and inspiring novel about friendship, family, and one undersized boy's ability to think BIG. 

"Both laugh-out-loud funny and heartbreaking...In the fast-growing bullying genre, Charlie's story stands out. This isn't a kid who will do anything to join the cool clique. This is a story about staying true to yourself and following your passion."-Kirkus Reviews

"Earle excels at showing personal growth in the characters, and it is gratifying to observe the believable evolution of Sinus’s and Charlie’s parents. VERDICT Family drama with a solid mix of action, adventure, and humor."-SLJ   

"Charlie is a character to root for. He is witty and perceptive and has a secret weapon in his best friend, Sinus Sedgely....[The Bubble Wrap Boy is] exciting to read."-Booklist    

"Charlie's amusing sarcasm masks a vulnerability that will resonate with anyone who has felt like an outsider. The humiliation of being the butt of a joke is sensitively rendered, as is Charlie's slow reclamation of his pride in this witty, true-to-life story."-Publishers Weekly  
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Phil Earle's first job was as a care worker in a children's home, an experience that influenced the ideas behind Being Billy. He then trained as a drama therapist and worked in south London, caring for traumatized and abused adolescents. After a couple of years in the care sector, Phil chose the more sedate lifestyle of a bookseller, and now works in children's publishing.
Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 13, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
288
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780553513172
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Family / General
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / General
Juvenile Fiction / Sports & Recreation / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
AVERY MILLER is looking for a fresh start, away from all the bomb sirens and talk of war in Los Angeles. She expects to find a haven in Callaway, Texas, where the cool new substance "glow" was first discovered. What she doesn't count on is making friends with glowboard skaters Dani, Bastian, and Lola, AKA the Sardines... DANI HIRSCH, captain of the Sardines, knows for a fact they're the best glowboarding team in Texas—if only they could prove it. Nothing will distract Dani from leading the team to victory at this summer's big race. Not even food explosions in the school cafeteria, or a mysterious midnight message, or the appearance of secretive government workers in Callaway... BASTIAN GIL is sick of the bullies who tease him for being a Sardine, for being different. Sure, he and his twin sister Lola can share thoughts. That's just twin telepathy, though—nothing too weird, right? But when Bastian finds he can do even stranger things, he starts to wonder if maybe he really is different from the other kids at school... LOLA GIL wants life to go back to normal, to a time before big glowboard races and government investigations. But the more the Sardines discover about themselves—like how they can share thoughts and move objects with their minds—the more Lola begins to fear there was never anything normal about her. In fact, she and the Sardines might be dangerous... When the Sardines receive an ominous, otherworldly message, they must decide if they'll use their newfound powers to stop an impending disaster—one that could have more to do with the war, their bullies, and glowboarding than they can possibly imagine.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.