Girl on the Verge

Sold by Kensington
Free sample

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how it much intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Praise for The Darkest Lie

“Heartbreaking and heroic. You won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough!” --Romily Bernard, author of the Find Me trilogy

“A twisty, fast-paced thriller that kept me guessing to the end.” —Shannon Grogan, author of From Where I Watch You

“This one will tug your heart and leave you breathless!” --Natalie D. Richards, author of Six Months Later

“A headlong rush into the shadows of secrets that should not be kept.” –Michelle Zink, author of Prophecy of the Sisters
Read more
Collapse

About the author

When Pintip Dunn’s first‑grade teacher asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, she replied, “an author.” Although she has pursued other interests over the years, this dream has never wavered. Pintip graduated from Harvard University, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the Yale Law Journal. She now lives in Maryland with her husband and three children. Pintip is a 2012 Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double‑finalist. She is a member of Romance Writers of America, Washington Romance Writers, YARWA, and The Golden Network. Visit her online at pintipdunn.com, or follow her on Twitter @pintipdunn.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Kensington
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 27, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
256
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781496703613
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Assimilation
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“A savvy, smart, and funny book about embracing your body and taking control of your destiny.”

—Kathleen Glasgow, author of the New York Times bestselling novel Girl in Pieces



“Bold, unique, and completely original…A debut both spirited and inventive, much like its indomitable heroine.”

—Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Firsts

From debut author Kelly DeVos comes an unforgettable story about fierce fashion, pursuing your dreams, and loving yourself at any size.

FAT

Cookie Vonn’s dreams include getting out of Phoenix and becoming the next great fashion designer. But in the world of fashion, being fat is a cardinal sin. It doesn’t help that she’s constantly compared to her supermodel mother—and named after a dessert.

Cookie scores a trip to New York to pitch her design portfolio, but her plans are put on standby when she’s declared too fat to fly. When she finally arrives, she finds she’s been replaced by her ultrathin rival. Cookie vows to lose weight, get out of the friend zone with her crush, and put her dreams back on track.

SKINNY

Cookie expected sunshine and rainbows, but nothing about her new life is turning out like she planned. When the fashion designer of the moment offers her what she’s always wanted—an opportunity to live and study in New York—she finds herself in a world full of people more interested in putting women down than dressing them up. Her designs make waves, but her real dream of creating great clothes for people of all sizes seems to grow more distant by the day.

Will she realize that she’s always had the power to make her own dreams come true?

“A realistic portrayal of the frustrations of weight loss and size acceptance…sex, body positivity, and ambition. VERDICT A strong choice for most YA shelves.”

—School Library Journal

“Packed with smart zingers about what it feels like to be fat and have a body that people criticize…Also a fairytale romp through the New York City fashion world.”

—Carolyn Mackler, B&N Teen Blog
Is it better to live with a lie, or risk everything for the truth?

“Heartbreaking and heroic. You won't be able to turn the pages fast enough!” --Romily Bernard, author of the Find Me trilogy

In Pintip Dunn’s gripping and timely novel, a young woman whose life unravels in the wake of her mother’s alleged suicide sets out to clear her name.

“The mother I knew would never do those things. But maybe I never knew her after all.”

Clothes, jokes, coded messages…Cecilia Brooks and her mom shared everything. At least, CeCe thought they did. Six months ago, her mom killed herself after accusations of having sex with a student, and CeCe’s been the subject of whispers and taunts ever since. Now, at the start of her high school senior year, between dealing with her grieving, distracted father, and the social nightmare that has become her life, CeCe just wants to fly under the radar. Instead, she’s volunteering at the school’s crisis hotline—the same place her mother worked.

As she counsels troubled strangers, CeCe’s lingering suspicions about her mom’s death resurface. With the help of Sam, a new student and newspaper intern, she starts to piece together fragmented clues that point to a twisted secret at the heart of her community. Soon, finding the truth isn’t just a matter of restoring her mother’s reputation, it’s about saving lives—including CeCe’s own…

“A twisty, fast-paced thriller that kept me guessing to the end.”—Shannon Grogan, author of From Where I Watch You

“This one will tug your heart and leave you breathless!”--Natalie D. Richards, author of Six Months Later

“A headlong rush into the shadows of secrets that should not be kept.”  –Michelle Zink, author of Prophecy of the Sisters
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.