Four Mothers: A Short Story Collection

RJ Crayton
Free sample

Four stories. Four mothers. Four crises. One great read. 

Our notions of motherhood run the gamut from the mythical SuperMom to the dreaded Mommy Dearest. None is entirely true, as all mothers are both perfect and flawed. Four mothers tells four stories of mothers who each face a crises, either real or perceived, in their parenting life. Change the way you see motherhood. 

In Almost Perfect, we see our Mommy Dearest end of the spectrum with Bitsy. She wants her grandson, whom she is raising to be perfect, and with Bitsy, we are reminded, it's not just stepmothers who are wicked. 

Tilda, the mother we meet in As Luck Would Have It, exudes luck from every pore. She would love to be the super mom who saves the day for her family, but she has one problem - her daughter's seeming lack of luck. In fact, Tilda's luck fails whenever her daughter is around. Tilda's solution to this problem could prove problematic. 

Felicity is relishing her overbearing husband's absence on a business trip, when her Two-Day Break suddenly turns into a nightmare. 

In The Beads, Iram is a mother coping with crisis -- a child in a coma after nearly choking to death -- when something happens that affects her entire outlook. 

Also included in the collection is a bonus story, Lynch Party, about a mother who has a different perspective on what makes a great party activity.

 

Read more

About the author

R.J. Crayton grew up in Illinois and now lives in the Maryland suburbs of Washington, DC. She is the author of the Life First series of novels, which includes Life First and Second Life and Third Life:Taken. Prior to writing fiction, Crayton was a journalist, writing for newspapers, including the Wichita Eagle and Kansas City Star.  Crayton also worked for several trade publications, includingSolid Waste ReportEducation Technology News, and Campus Crime. In addition to her novels, Crayton published Four Mothers, a short story collection, in 2014. Crayton is a monthly contributor to the Indies Unlimited blog and a regular contributor to the Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies blog. When she’s not writing, Crayton spends her time being a ninja mom (stealthy and ultra cool, like moms should be) to her son and daughter. You can find out more about her at http://rjcrayton.com.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
RJ Crayton
Read more
Published on
Jun 1, 2014
Read more
Pages
86
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Drama / Women Authors
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Short Stories (single author)
Literary Collections / Women Authors
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

"The prospect of being the human parts drawer society reaches into to cure its neediest patients would drive anyone mad." - Kelsey Reed, Life First 

Strong-willed Kelsey Reed must escape tonight or tomorrow her government will take her kidney and give it to someone else. 

She’ll need the help of her true love, Luke, to make this dangerous escape. This dystopian future Kelsey lives in was forged by survivors of pandemics that wiped out 80 percent of the world's population. Here, life is valued above all else. The mentally ill are sterilized, abortions are illegal and those who refuse to donate an organ when told are sentenced to death. 

Determined not to give up her kidney or die, Kelsey and Luke enlists the help of a dodgy doctor to escape. The trio must disable the tracking chip in Kelsey's arm for her to flee undetected. If they fail, Kelsey could be stripped of Luke, her kidney and everything else she holds dear. 

This page-turning thriller with a touch of romance, is the first in the Life First dystopian book series. The thrills and romance continue in our dystopian future in Second Life (book 2 of the series) and Third Life: Taken (book 3 of the series). 

* * * 
"Life First is a poignant, riveting, thought provoking read that had me entranced from page one until the very end of the book." 
-- 5 Stars, Griffin's Honey Blog 

"Life First gripped you like King Kong and would not let go until you had finished the book." 
--BestChickLit.com 

~ A 2014 B&P Reader's Choice Award Nominee ~ 
~ BRAG Medallion winner ~

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he'd done something terrible?

'A heart-wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.' Write Escape 

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything he has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain. 

What everyone's saying about The Silent Wife:


'A compulsive read about secrets, lies, and the complexities of families.' Bloomin' Brilliant Books

'What a great novel this is! A very moving story filled with deception, betrayal and, contrastingly, loyalty, love, caring and forgiveness... and it has a brilliant ending!' Splashes Into Books

'Well, this book is a firecracker!...you will experience a rollercoaster of emotions, with laughter, sadness and a satisfying ending that will bring a lump to your throat.' Many Books Many Lives

'A fantastic, thought-provoking story, told with pace and style.' Laura Bambrey Books

'My heart broke … The plot is so well written that you begin to feel as though you are one of the family and it is packed with twists and turns.' The Reading Reverie

'A page turner - full of implied secrets, unravelling family lives, new family dynamics.' Bookworms and Shutterbugs

'An addictive novel about family dynamics, secrets and betrayals that will have your mouth hanging open in disbelief many times along the way.' Books of All Kinds

'A compelling, chilling and heart pounding read which will take you on a rollercoaster ride you'll never want to leave. Phenomenally written and undeniably powerful, Kerry Fisher has done it yet again.' The Writing Garnet

'My only regret about this book is beginning to read it at half term and not being able to finish it quicker. A gripping and emotional read.' De Ja Reads

'It is rare that a book will make you look at your own personality and inspire you to be a better person. A less judgmental person. A braver person. The Silent Wife did that for me – and in the most unexpected way … I gasped, laughed and cried.' The Glass House Girls

'I loved this book… I was riveted throughout. 5 stars.' Emma B books

'The Silent Wife had me engrossed from page one. Five Stars!' Boon's Bookcase

'Another five star read from Kerry Fisher ... I love Kerry Fisher's books and this was no exception!' Strongly Review

'A wonderful, poignant, heart breaking, heart warming story of families and secrets, of hidden strength and unexpected friendship. Brilliant! Very highly recommended. Cannot wait for Kerry's next!' Renita D'Silva

'Another five star read from Kerry Fisher.' Judging Covers

'I loved this! It was absolutely unputdownable and I didn't want it to end.' Jenny Ashcroft

'A gripping, emotional novel ... a real page turner!' La Biblio de Cara

This book was previously titled The Secrets of Second Wives 

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.