Scented: A Love Story

RJ Crayton
Free sample

BRYAN 


I have a special power, but no one would call it a gift. A curse, for sure. I don't know how I ended it up with this ... this thing, but I have it. It's the ability to know who will die. A single whiff as they walk by, and I know the person is marked for death. And there is nothing I can do to stop it. 

I hate this ability, this power, and everyone who knows I have it hates me. Well, only one person knows. My father. And he hates me for it. He hates me for knowledge I don't want or know how to stop. 

I've retreated into myself, knowing I can tell no one. But then, she walked into my life. And I know immediately that she's different. She wears a scent, but not that of death. A different scent, an otherworldly one. And I know in that moment that I will stop at nothing to understand why. 

----
If you enjoy stirring, heart-wrenching tales with love at the center, you'll adore Scented.


Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
RJ Crayton
Read more
Published on
Apr 27, 2016
Read more
Pages
280
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / African American / Christian
Fiction / Romance / African American
Young Adult Fiction / Diversity & Multicultural
Young Adult Fiction / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Paranormal
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Grab all four Prophecy of Light books in one volume.

Book 1 - Trapped
The darkness that has been searching for Kady has finally caught up. Begin this exciting journey today ...

Kady always knew the nomadic life she was living was because her aunt was hiding from some dark force, one Auntie described as magic. When Kady awakens in the middle of the night with her house crumbling around her, Auntie hustles her into the night, hides her, and engages in a battle of magic symbols that set the dark sky ablaze. 

While Auntie succeeds in hiding Kady, she is captured during the battle. Kady, now realizing her aunts admonitions about the power of words were very real, must choose. She can do as her aunt had always warned her -- to run far away if the two were separated. Or she can search for her aunt. 

As strange powers emerge, Kady begins to realize there's magic trapped inside her. Will this new magic help her succeed in retrieving her aunt?

Book 2 - Unleashed
Kady must learn to unleash the magic trapped inside her if she is to help the mage Pylum rescue her aunt.

As Kady learns her way around the Temple of Light and takes classes to help her understand magic, she makes new friends like Jasper and learns more about the mysterious mage who helped her in book one: Akilah.

Will Kady be able to unleash her power, and what else might she find when her bonds are broken?

Book 3 - Foretold
Kady has rescued her aunt from the dark mage Zygam, but now her friend is his ally.

Kady must learn what makes Zygam tick in order to defeat him when he attacks in just 10 days. As she learns more about the mage who has hunted her for 10 years, Kady realizes defeating him may be harder than she thought. Will the secrets she unearths make this battle impossible for her to fight?

Book 4 - Fulfilled
The final story in the Prophecy of Light series is here!

Kady has been told she is the child of light of the prophecy? But is she. Is her choice the key to everything, or is there more to the prophecy than she's been told?
One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos.

Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn.

Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll.

There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll…at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart.

With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself.


New from the New York Times bestselling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Julie C. Dao, Marie Lu, Cassandra Clare and more bestselling YA fantasy will be captivated by book one of this enchanting new series.


“One of my all-time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding!”
—Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series
A New York Times bestseller

“Effervescent.” —Chicago Tribune
“Full of warm characters and sweet romance.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel.” —Hello Giggles
“Adorable.” —Buzzfeed
“Deliciously quirky, funny, and nerdy.” —Bustle
“Utterly delightful.” —BookRiot
“Heartwarming, empathetic, and often hilarious—a delightful read.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

The rom-com that everyone’s talking about! Eleanor & Park meets Bollywood in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.