The Friend Who Lied: A gripping psychological thriller

Saxon Publishing
2
Free sample

 What she doesn’t know might kill her…

 

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

 

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret. 

 

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive. 

 

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

 

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

 

 

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Partyby Lucy Foley and Friend Requestby Laura Marshall.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

 
Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Saxon Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 9, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
360
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781999368364
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Domestic
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
FROM THE AUTHOR OF ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS, WHICH HAS BEEN LONGLISTED FOR THE MCILVANNEY PRIZE SCOTTISH CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR AND SHORTLISTED FOR THE MCILVANNEY DEBUT PRIZE

'(a) meticulous and compelling novel about the aftermath of a major crime and its effect on the affected families and investigating officers both. Set in Edinburgh, too' - Ian Rankin

DI Helen Birch faces a terrible choice - family or justice? - in the gripping second novel from the author of All the Hidden Truths

DI Birch joined the police to find her little brother, who walked out of his life one day and was never seen again. She stayed to help others, determined to seek justice where she could.

On the fourteenth anniversary of Charlie's disappearance, Birch takes part in a raid on one of Scotland's most feared criminal organisations. It's a good day's work - a chance to get a dangerous man off the streets.

Two days later, Charlie comes back. It's not a coincidence. When Birch finds out exactly what he's been doing all those years, she faces a terrible choice: save the case, or save her brother. But how can you do the right thing when all the consequences are bad?

As she interrogates Charlie, he tells his story: of how one wrong turn leads to a world in which the normal rules no longer apply, and you do what you must to survive.

From one of the most acclaimed new voices in crime fiction, What You Pay For is a brilliantly tense and moving novel about the terrible disruption caused by violence and the lines people will cross to protect those they love.

In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career

Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.

When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done...

The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practising criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.

'A book so on point I felt like I was reading tomorrow’s headlines.' Nigel Adams Bookworm

'It had enough twists and turns to keep me glued right to the last page. I look forward to reading more in the series.' Reader review

'It’s a right proper page turner and no mistake... This is very intelligent storytelling here, walking the line between entertainment and authenticity extremely well and balancing character and action perfectly... Highly recommended.' Liz Loves

'Another winner... really looking forward to round three.' Reader review

'Undoubtedly an author to watch out for... this legal thriller was excellent and kept me interested all the way through.' Reader review

 When the body of a snatched schoolgirl is found in an abandoned biosciences building, the case is first treated as a kidnapping gone wrong.

 

But Detective Kay Hunter isn’t convinced, especially when a man is found dead with the ransom money still in his possession.

 

When a second schoolgirl is taken, Kay’s worst fears are realised.

 

With her career in jeopardy and desperate to conceal a disturbing secret, Kay’s hunt for the killer becomes a race against time before he claims another life.

 

For the killer, the game has only just begun…

 

Scared to Death is a gripping fast paced crime thriller from author Rachel Amphlett, in a new series introducing Kay Hunter – a detective with a hidden past and an uncertain future…


The Detective Kay Hunter series:

 

1. SCARED TO DEATH

2. WILL TO LIVE

3. ONE TO WATCH

4. HELL TO PAY 

5. CALL TO ARMS

6. GONE TO GROUND


Police procedural, british detective, detective series, noir, suspense, thriller, mystery, British, female detective, women sleuth, legal thriller, thriller series, mystery series, psychological thriller, strong female, strong female protagonist, police procedural, thriller and suspense, vigilante justice, crime, action packed, police officer, hard-boiled, cozy, legal, suspense, suspense series, crime, financial, murder, theft, death, justice, crime fiction, crime novel, kidnapping, serial killers, heist, series, women's fiction, detective, conspiracy, political, terrorism, contemporary, genre fiction, murder mystery, mystery series, English detective series, English mystery series, English detective

 When a packed commuter train runs over a body on a stretch of track known to locals as ‘Suicide Mile’, it soon transpires that the man was a victim of a calculated murder.

 

As the investigation evolves and a pattern of murders is uncovered, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter realises the railway’s recent reputation may be the work of a brutal serial killer.

 

With a backlog of cold cases to investigate and attempting to uncover who is behind a professional vendetta against her, Kay must keep one step ahead of both the killer and her own adversaries.

 

When a second murder takes place within a week of the first, she realises the killer’s timetable has changed, and she’s running out of time to stop him…

 

Will to Live is the second book in a new crime thriller series featuring Kay Hunter – a detective with a hidden past and an uncertain future…


The Detective Kay Hunter series:

 

1. SCARED TO DEATH

2. WILL TO LIVE

3. ONE TO WATCH

4. HELL TO PAY 

5. CALL TO ARMS

6. GONE TO GROUND


Police procedural, british detective, detective series, noir, suspense, thriller, mystery, British, female detective, women sleuth, legal thriller, thriller series, mystery series, psychological thriller, strong female, strong female protagonist, police procedural, thriller and suspense, vigilante justice, crime, action packed, police officer, hard-boiled, cozy, legal, suspense, suspense series, crime, financial, murder, theft, death, justice, crime fiction, crime novel, kidnapping, serial killers, heist, series, women's fiction, detective, conspiracy, political, terrorism, contemporary, genre fiction, murder mystery, mystery series, English detective series, English mystery series, English detective

When a mummified body is found in a renovated building, the gruesome discovery leads Detective Kay Hunter and her team into a complex murder investigation.

 

The subsequent police inquiry exposes corruption, lies and organised crime within the tight-knit community – and Kay’s determination to seek justice for the young murder victim could ruin the reputations of men who will do anything to protect their business interests.

 

But as Kay closes in on the killer, tragedy strikes closer to home in an event that will send a shockwave through her personal life and make her question everything she values.

 

Can Kay keep her private and professional life under control while she tries to unravel one of the strangest murder cases of her career?

 

 

Have you discovered the Kay Hunter British detective murder mysteries yet?

 

1. SCARED TO DEATH

2. WILL TO LIVE

3. ONE TO WATCH

4. HELL TO PAY

5. CALL TO ARMS

6. GONE TO GROUND

7. BRIDGE TO BURN

 

The Detective Kay Hunter crime thriller series: page-turning British police procedurals for readers who love Peter James, Ann Cleeves, and Peter Robinson.

 

What readers are saying about the Detective Kay Hunter series:

 

“Reminded me at times of Chris Chibnall’s Broadchurch series” – Crime Review

 

“Hunter is a force to be reckoned with” – Goodreads

 

“A series that goes from strength to strength” – Goodreads





Police procedural, british detective, detective series, noir, suspense, thriller, mystery, British, female detective, women sleuth, legal thriller, thriller series, mystery series, psychological thriller, strong female, strong female protagonist, police procedural, thriller and suspense, vigilante justice, crime, action packed, police officer, hard-boiled, cozy, legal, suspense, suspense series, crime, financial, murder, theft, death, justice, crime fiction, crime novel, kidnapping, serial killers, heist, series, women's fiction, detective, conspiracy, political, terrorism, contemporary, genre fiction, murder mystery, mystery series, English detective series, English mystery series, English detective 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.