A Baby on the Doorstep: An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction page-turner

· Bookouture
4.5
10 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

Virginia, 1934: In the middle of the night, he crept through the bushes, thankful for the darkness, for the clouds covering the stars. Tenderly, he opened his bag, lifting the small bundle out. With tears in his eyes, he held her tight, not wanting to let her go. But he had no choice––it was the only way. “This is your new home, little one. You’ll be safe here.”


Distant rumblings of conflict in Europe have reached even the secluded, snow-dusted mountains of Virginia, where Lauren Greenwood faces a battle of her own. The Great Depression is crippling America, leaving millions of its victims without shoes on their feet and clothes on their backs. Hope House––the orphanage Lauren runs––is suffering more than ever.


The one thing Lauren is not short of is love. But with just a handful of dollars to her name, every day is a struggle to feed the orphans and keep a roof over their heads.


Yet she refuses to give up. When a baby is left on the porch, Lauren welcomes her with open arms. The abandoned new-born, Maisie, is left with a crumpled letter––her parents begging Lauren to look after the girl and promising to return for her one day. Lauren refuses to allow another child to fall prey to the Depression, and vows to provide little Maisie with the love and protection of a mother.


But when the debt collectors come calling, threatening to shut down the orphanage, Lauren runs out of hope. Any day now the children could be thrown onto the frozen streets, where survival is impossible. With tragedy just around the corner, how can she ever reunite Maisie with her parents? And if she doesn’t manage to save the orphans, how will she live with herself?


A totally heartbreaking tale with a beautiful and hopeful message––when all else fails, love can save the day. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this emotional and totally gripping historical page-turner.


Readers totally love Rachel Wesson’s Hope House series:


Love love love this book!!! I laughed, I cried and it really touched me.” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Tissues! I cried… A masterpiece of truth! Eye-opening! I would give this book more stars if I could! I’d definitely recommend this book to everyone!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I loved each and every minute Heartwrenching… Reminiscent of Of Mice and Men as well as The Colour Purple, JoJo Moyes’ The Giver of Stars with a dash of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help Like a warm hug on a winter’s day… An emotional rollercoaster.” Rachel M Writes, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“A tearjerker. I sobbed… I KNEW it would be heartbreaking just from the title… But it was worth all the sobbing. I need the second book in the series pronto.” Privat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I’m speechless, how do I even do this book justice? You need to read this... I laughed and smiled and sobbed… This is a must-read.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I loved this… One of the most heartwarming books I’ve read all year. It is a heartbreaker.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Pulls on your heartstrings… It will bring you to tears and but also make you smile.” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Felt like I was watching a movie… Will keep you up late reading and page turning, and then it will linger with you! You don't want to miss this one!Musing by Maureen, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Inspirational, heartbreaking and also upliftingFlawless… A true artist in storytelling.” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh my!… An extremely emotional book!” NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


You will need a Kleenex!” Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.5
10 reviews
Maureen Timerman
January 29, 2021
This is the second book in this series that I have read and enjoyed! I loved being back with these characters and updated with their lives! We are still in the grips of the Depression, Europe is becoming unstable, a manic is taking control and people are following, they want. rid of the Jewish race/religion. At home work is till under way by the CCC’s in building the Great Smoky National Park, and more people are loosing their homes, you don’t understand unless you are the ones having their land confiscated. Lauren is still in control of the Orphanage, and what a change from the previous book! Becky is there with her, and so are the help coming from the men who support these woman, even if they aren’t responding to their love. I love the surprises, sometimes not very nice, that keep popping up, and kept me page turning, Now I can’t wait for the next book in this series! I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Bookoutour, and was not required to give a positive review.
Maureen Duggan
February 6, 2021
I throughly enjoyed this story. Keeping my interest from beginning to end.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.