Chloros: Avaritia

Free sample

San Antonio, TX in the year 2014 the scene is one of devastation, desolation and heartbreak. It is post-apocalypse, where people have lost everything that is human and become flesh-eaters; cannibals willing to tear their prey into shreds in their lust for human flesh. One young woman, healthy and whole, can be seen stalking a flesh-eater. She has a tranquilizer gun in her hand, but before she can shoot, she kicks an empty can. The flesh-eater turns and attacks, biting her as she pulls the trigger. The dart reaches its target, but for Molly, it's too late. Her transformation into one of the infected has begun.

The flesh-eater or what used to be one slowly wakes up with a vile stuck to his arm with no recollection of whom he is. The word's American Genetic Systems engraved on it. Putrid, slimy skin slough of his body as he searches the women for clues where he finds a picture of himself. Confused by the find he calls for help. However, in desperation for their next meal flesh-eaters attack him. He runs; only to find there is nowhere to run to. In the wilderness that the city has become, he comes across Alma, fleeing flesh eaters. She takes him to the Alamo, a small farming outpost of the Alamo Dome, where about 150 survivors have formed a small community and struggle to survive as best they can. Introducing himself as Richard, because that is what the woman in the store called him, he tries to unravel the mystery of his past.

In 1993, Victor Boutros was a young businessman on the rise. After meeting Molly, a brilliant university student with a passion for erasing world hunger, he sees the potential in bio-engineering. Not that he is interested in world hunger; there is nothing he could care about less. He wants money and power; lots of it. His company, American Genetic Systems, employs Molly and their first invention, TSR Corn, is a success. However, it is not enough. Through blackmail, manipulation, bribery and murder, Victor always gets what he wants. In the end, he has the President of the United States in his back pocket, ready and willing to push through any legislation to eradicate any authority who threatens to thwart Victor's plan to control the world's food supply through Genetically Modified Foods.

The novel moves back and forth through time telling the story of how the greed of a man changes the world via its seed modification and a man trying to recall who he is. Will he regret recovering his memory? Is he the reason for the apocalypse?

Read more



Additional Information

Read more
Published on
Dec 6, 2013
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Edgar Rice Burroughs
The John Carter of Mars Collection (7 Novels + Bonus Audiobook Links)

"In one respect at least the Martians are a happy people, they have no lawyers." — Edgar Rice Burroughs, A Princess of Mars

* Professional formatting, giving you full control over fonts, font sizes, and line spacing
* Active table of contents accessed by the "go to" or "menu" button
* Links to download full-length audiobooks included FREE!

The John Carter of Mars Collection includes seven of Edgar Rice Burroughs works:

A Princess of Mars
The Gods of Mars
Warlord of Mars
Thuvia, Maid of Mars
The Chessmen of Mars
The Master Mind of Mars
A Fighting Man of Mars
Bonus: A Glossary of Names and Terms Used In the Martian Books

Audiobook Links: Links to download free, full-length audiobooks for The John Carter of Mars Collection by Edgar Rice Burroughs (books 1-5) can be found at the end of the book.

About this Digital Papyrus edition:
“Experience the Digital Papyrus Difference!"

We are devoted book lovers and formatting fanatics. Our team has experience producing thousands of ebooks since 2011 for discerning authors and readers alike. We know what readers expect from their ebook purchases. We avoid distracting formatting inconsistencies and annoying glitches too often found in ebooks.

We adhere to the highest standards in producing our ebooks—regardless of the sale price. (Low or value pricing should never be an excuse for second-rate work!)

We want readers of our ebooks to get lost in the story just as easily as readers of print books. Our promise is a pleasant reading experience.

10% of all Digital Papyrus profits are donated to charity every month.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.