You Can Run: A Gripping Novel of Suspense

· Zebra Books
4.6
22 reviews
Ebook
400
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“I couldn’t put it down!” —Lisa Jackson, New York Times bestselling author

Fans of Laura Griffin and Jayne Ann Krentz won’t want to miss this brand new thriller series by New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti, as FBI Special Agent Laurel Snow, a rising star profiler, strives to stay one step ahead of the criminal mind—and discovers that her own demons may be the hardest to outrun…

“Be prepared to stay up all night…Rebecca Zanetti takes you on a thrill-ride, pitting characters you love against impossible odds.” Christine Feehan, New York Times bestselling author


Laurel Snow wouldn’t call hunting a serial killer a vacation, but with a pile of dead bodies unearthed near her Genesis Valley, WA, hometown, she’ll take what she can get. Yet something about this case stirs her in unexpected ways. Like the startling connection she feels to Dr. Abigail Caine, a fiercely intelligent witness with a disturbing knack for making Laurel feel like she has something on her. Then there’s Laurel’s attraction to Huck Rivers, the fish and wildlife officer guiding her to the crime scene—and into the wilderness…
 
A former soldier and a trained sniper, Huck’s thirst for blood is rivaled only by his fierce pursuit of Laurel. He’s been burned by love, wounded by the government, and betrayed before, and to say he has trust issues is the ultimate understatement. Plus, he might be closer to this killer than anybody knows…
 
Once in the heart of darkness with Huck, Laurel must negotiate her distracting desire for him, her complex rapport with Abigail—and her mission to find a serial killer among a growing list of suspects and a danger that’s far too close to home. So close in fact, Laurel fears she will never find her way back to the woman she once was…

“Pitch-perfect…[a] deliciously intricate mystery. Readers will delight in this smart take on classic trope.” Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW
 
“Plot twists and red herrings abound in this fast-paced novel that will keep readers turning the pages.”Library Journal
 
“Zanetti is a master…A strong start to a new series.” Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW
4.6
22 reviews
Viper Spaulding
January 25, 2022
Fascinating edge-of-your-seat thriller! Laurel is not your usual FBI profiler. With her eidetic memory and no-nonsense approach, she dives right into the middle of a serial killer case in her hometown. Having to work with the gruff Fish and Wildlife officer, Huck, proves to be both a blessing and a curse. Huck is the perfect balance to Laurel and I really enjoyed watching their romantic and professional relationships develop. This is a serial killer story, so be prepared for the high body count. For my own sanity I had to skim through the brief sections that were told through the eyes of a couple victims, but most folks probably wouldn't have a problem with them. The investigation is riveting, with lots of secrets and more than a couple twisty surprises. Ultimately, good wins over evil and there's a loosely acknowledged HEA for Laurel and Huck. If you like the Criminal Minds series or love to read crime dramas, you don't want to miss this excellent book. The vocabulary is quite broad, perfect for an armchair etymologist like myself, who really enjoys looking up new words. The characters immediately come to life, and the pacing was a terrific balance between the high-stakes action and the more contemplative character studies. I love this author and highly recommend this story. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
Did you find this helpful?
Cathy Geha
January 25, 2022
You Can Run by Rebecca Zanetti Laurel Snow #1 Great introduction to a new series! Couldn’t put it down! What I liked: * Laurel Snow: FBI Special Agent, genius, focused, has trouble with emotions, lacks people skills, effective, loves her family, professional, intriguing * Huck Rivers: Fish & Wildlife Captain, dog handler, search and rescue leader, ex-military, aloof, quiet, loner, intriguing * Aeneas: Karelian Bar Dog, Huck’s K-9 partner, great dog * Kate: divorced, loving mother of three girls, temporary employee of Laurel’s when she sets up her onsite office, potential friend for Laurel * Laurel’s family: her mother Deirdre has a horrific backstory as does her uncle Carl, then there is her other uncle and his wife there to support the others – liked them all and hope to see more of them in the future * Walter Smudgen: on loan to Laurel from local FBI office – there is potential for him in the series * Monty, Ena and a few others that hopefully will show up later * The slow growth of the relationship between Laurel and Huck – definitely has potential if the two are willing to take a chance and communicate * The location – sounds beautiful * The serial murderer aspect and how the killer was found * The questions that remain about Dr. Abigail Caine and her father Zeke Caine – do wonder how they will be resolved * That there is another book to look forward to What I didn’t like: * Exactly what I was meant not to like…and there were more than a few people, groups and events to dislike * That there are still threads that were not tied off completely even though the serial killer was dealt with…not a cliffhanger but there is more to learn * Having to wait for the next book Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more in the series? Yes Thank you to NetGalley and Kensington Zebra for the ARC – this is my honest review. 5 Stars
Did you find this helpful?
nicola Brooks
November 26, 2021
A brand new thriller series to get 2022 off to a racing start! Laurel Snow is just about the smartest person in the room at all times. She's got degrees on top of degrees, a former child prodigy and a kickbutt FBI agent. Her childhood wan't easy - her mother raised her on her own, never naming her father. She went to college when she was still a young child and she finds the world a chaotic place if she was honest with herself. But when family calls and says that her uncle is being grilled by police over discovery of multiple bodies, she makes her way home to Genesis Valley to see what is actually going on. Snowblood Peak just sounds creepy, the perfect place for a serial killer to haunt. Tasked with setting up a branch office of the FBI in the small town is not going to be easy - the local sheriff is territorial to the extreme, the local church seems to be far too involved in local life and one particular Fish and Wildlife office, Huck Rivers, is far too distracting. Loving this superb new series. Again set in the Pacific Northwest which made me feel right at home as it's like Scotland on steroids LOL. Lauren is complex and a layered character. Huck most definitely has secrets he's keeping and Genesis Valley is a small town that bursts with intrigue. Mostly told from Laurels POV but with chapters devoted to other characters. We meet an array of townsfolk who don't make life easy for Laurel. A certain psychologist is all up in Laurel's business! Twists and turns aplenty and enough suspects that you're never quite sure who you can trust. Although there is romance, it's secondary to the storyline and enhances the tension rather than distracts from it. It's going to be interesting to see how that plays out in further books in the series.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti has worked as an art curator, senate aide, lawyer, college professor, and a hearing examiner—only to culminate it all in stories about alpha males and the women who claim them. Her novels have received a starred PW review, have been listed among Amazon’s best romances of the year, and have won RT Reviewer Choice Awards.

Growing up amid the glorious backdrops and winter wonderlands of the Pacific Northwest has given Rebecca fantastic scenery and adventures to weave into her stories. She resides in the wild north with her husband, children, and extended family who inspire her every day—or at the very least give her plenty of characters to write about.

Please visit Rebecca at www.rebeccazanetti.com.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.