The Innocents

Down & Out Books
2
Free sample

Winner of the 1996 Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel!

There are seven of them. Children—innocents—whose long-buried remains are uncovered by a flash-flood. No one knows who could have committed such a crime. Clues are scarce, and with the media turning the story into a law enforcement nightmare, time is short. Only Wil Hardesty, a private eye who has more in common with the case than anyone knows, is willing to push hard enough—and dig deep enough—to find the cruelest of killers. The killer of The Innocents …

Praise for THE INNOCENTS …

“Author Richard Barre kicked off his Wil Hardesty series with this smart, psychologically nuanced first novel, which garnered a 1996 Shamus Award. The plot is gripping, the dialogue sharp, and the villains very villainous indeed, but the character of Wil Hardesty is what separates this mystery from the rest of the pack. More than just another private-eye-with-a-troubled-past, Hardesty is both complicated and flawed, a very real human who brings a lifetime’s worth of pain, passion, and guilt to bear on solving this crime.” —Publishers Weekly

“Sober, understated, intense.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Up-close and personal narrative…nicely convoluted plot.” —Library Journal

“Crisp, street-smart dialogue; a likable protagonist; and very nasty villains…a solid debut.” —Booklist

“Impressive.” —San Francisco Examiner

“Excellent…the writing is so good.” —The Oregonian

“Walking in the shadows of everyone from Ross Macdonald to Lawrence Block, Barre still manages to find something original to say. The book’s strength comes from the chances it takes…fresh characters…clever plot twists.” —Chicago Tribune

“Hardesty is remarkably evolved as a character in his first outing. [He] could be you or me or a neighbor, a person trying hard to survive a few of life’s dirtier tricks. He has stature.” —The Plain Dealer (Cleveland)

“Barre delivers…an engrossing mystery that moves quickly in prose that is as sleek and muscular as its protagonist. This first outing easily handles, then transcends, the genre requisites for a lively, intense read. Reserve a long evening for this one…it delivers the tension and pace that readers demand.” —Santa Barbara News Press

“One of the best mysteries of the year.” —Firsts Magazine

The Innocents is a truly powerful and moving novel, going beyond the private eye genre as only the best authors do. Let’s hope that is only the first of a long and significant series.” —Otto Penzler, Mysterious Press

“Barre is a skilled writer, an uncanny observer and comes equipped with an uncommonly good ear for dialogue. Wil Hardesty, is a most welcome addition to the pantheon of private detectives.” —Ross Thomas, author of Out on the Rim

“A truly powerful and moving novel…an intriguing world of mystery, deceit and murder. Richard Barre is a skilled writer and The Innocents is a gripping story.” —Michael Connelly, author of The Fifth Witness

“A great read. Barre has a great command of all the elements—plot, character, and individual scenes. I suspect and hope that Wil Hardesty will be around crime fiction for many novels to come.” —James Crumley, author of Dancing Bear

“Will Hardesty is a man with a lot of pain and a lot of pride, a man with a mission: a man you should meet. In a world of fake and fabrication, The Innocents is the real thing.” —Stephen Greenleaf, author of False Conception

The Innocents is a powerful novel…of action and suspense that is, in the end, a voyage of self-discovery.” —Michael Collins, author of Crimes and Misdemeanors

Read more
Collapse
4.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Down & Out Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 5, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
190
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Adroitly crafted and ingeniously plotted. This one is a spellbinder." ~John Lutz, author of UNTIL YOU ARE DEAD

Chris Jackson has secrets.

A wildly popular author of suspense novels, Chris hides away in the tiny town of Pyrite, Missouri, where she lives in a converted storefront and practices breaking-and-entering on local businesses.

Most of the citizens of Pyrite happily claim Chris as their very own celebrity. But the new police chief, Al MacNamara isn't one of them. Recently transplanted from the mean streets of Chicago, Mac hates mysteries. And Chris Jackson is a mystery.

Then, the murders begin. Murders that look suspiciously like those in Chris's books. Murders that escalate to a grisly stabbing that exactly mimicks a story no one has read except Chris, herself.

With MacNamara's help, Chris is forced to delve into the dark recesses of her past for answers. Is a madman stalking Chris? Or is Chris right to question her own sanity? Could she be committing the murders herself?

"...has as many layers as an onion and more than a few surprises." ~Gothic Journal

Publisher's Note: As a former trauma nurse, Eileen Dreyer combines her real-world medical knowledge and superb story-telling to bring readers a series of uniquely plotted, spine-tingling, medical mysteries. Fans of Tami Hoag, Elizabeth George, Nora Roberts as well as John Lutz, Michael Crichton and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy these well-crafted medical thrillers.

OTHER MEDICAL SUSPENSE/THRILLERS by Eileen Dreyer:
Nothing Personal
Brain Dead
Bad Medicine
If Looks Could Kill
A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW BEST CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR
A CrimeReads Best Crime Novel Notable selection
Harry Bosch and LAPD Detective Renée Ballard come together again on the murder case that obsessed Bosch's mentor, the man who trained him---new from #1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly

Back when Harry Bosch was just a rookie homicide detective, he had an inspiring mentor who taught him to take the work personally and light the fire of relentlessness for every case. Now that mentor, John Jack Thompson, is dead, and his widow gives Bosch a murder book, one that Thompson took with him when he left the LAPD twenty years before -- the unsolved killing of a troubled young man.

Bosch takes the murder book to Detective Renée Ballard and asks her to help him discover what about this crime lit Thompson's fire all those years ago. As she begins her inqueries -- while still working her own cases on the midnight shift -- Ballad finds aspects of the initial investigation that just don't add up.

The bond between Bosch and Ballard tightens as they become a formidable investigation team. And they soon arrive at a disturbing question: Did Thompson steal the murder book to work the case in retirement, or to make sure it never got solved?
Written with the intense pacing and masterful suspense that have made Michael Connelly "the hard-boiled fiction master of our time" (NPR), The Night Fire continues the unofficial partnership of two fierce detectives determined not to let the fire with burn out.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.