The Reich Device

Troubador Publishing Ltd
Free sample

Professor Gustav Mayer is riddled with guilt after making a monumental discovery: a new technology a century ahead of its time. But his secret is not safe, the world is not safe – a new menace rises in 1930’s Germany. Mayer’s world spirals out of control; hunted by ruthless killers from the newly formed SS, a game of brinkmanship begins. Who is the grey man? Assassin or protector? A global trail of espionage leads from Berlin to New York, Cairo, and London – but is it all a grand deception? What are German spies doing in South Africa? What does this have to do with big American corporations? Meanwhile, Mayer is forced to work on fledgling rocket technology for the new regime in Berlin, but his captors suspect he conceals an even greater secret. British intelligence makes a bold attempt to rescue Mayer, but the plan goes wrong and Mayer is critically injured. Mayer is interrogated by the ruthless Commandant Kessler, and in a moment of delirium mutters a vital part of his secret; but it doesn’t make any sense. Mayer is moved to the infamous V1 rocket site at Peenemünde – a smoke screen for a more deadly ultra top secret weapon – but time is running out. A daring fight in the swamp forests of Zululand, and the duping of British intelligence, gets crucial raw materials back to Germany. But the game is not over until the last man is standing – assassins on both sides have men to kill. This scientific thriller, with its intricate plot, will appeal to fans of Robert Harris’s Fatherland, Guy Saville’s Afrika Reich and Clive Cussler’s The Spy.
Read more

About the author

Currently residing in Devon, Richard D. Handy is an internationally respected expert on the hazards of nanotechnology. Richard has drawn on his life experience of working with different agencies to create this believable historical fiction.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Troubador Publishing Ltd
Read more
Published on
Aug 28, 2015
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
ISBN
9781784629878
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 New York Times Bestseller

#1 USA Today  Bestseller

#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller

From Daniel Silva, the #1 New York Times–bestselling author, comes a modern masterpiece of espionage, love, and betrayal

She was his best-kept secret …

In an isolated village in the mountains of Andalusia, a mysterious Frenchwoman begins work on a dangerous memoir. It is the story of a man she once loved in the Beirut of old, and a child taken from her in treason’s name. The woman is the keeper of the Kremlin’s most closely guarded secret. Long ago, the KGB inserted a mole into the heart of the West—a mole who stands on the doorstep of ultimate power.

Only one man can unravel the conspiracy: Gabriel Allon, the legendary art restorer and assassin who serves as the chief of Israel’s vaunted secret intelligence service. Gabriel has battled the dark forces of the new Russia before, at great personal cost. Now he and the Russians will engage in a final epic showdown, with the fate of the postwar global order hanging in the balance.

Gabriel is lured into the hunt for the traitor after his most important asset inside Russian intelligence is brutally assassinated while trying to defect in Vienna. His quest for the truth will lead him backward in time, to the twentieth century’s greatest act of treason, and, finally, to a spellbinding climax along the banks of the Potomac River outside Washington that will leave readers breathless.

Fast as a bullet, hauntingly beautiful, and filled with stunning double-crosses and twists of plot, The Other Woman is a tour de force that proves once again that “of all those writing spy novels today, Daniel Silva is quite simply the best” (Kansas City Star).

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.