The Reich Device

Troubador Publishing Ltd
Free sample

Professor Gustav Mayer is riddled with guilt after making a monumental discovery: a new technology a century ahead of its time. But his secret is not safe, the world is not safe – a new menace rises in 1930’s Germany. Mayer’s world spirals out of control; hunted by ruthless killers from the newly formed SS, a game of brinkmanship begins. Who is the grey man? Assassin or protector? A global trail of espionage leads from Berlin to New York, Cairo, and London – but is it all a grand deception? What are German spies doing in South Africa? What does this have to do with big American corporations? Meanwhile, Mayer is forced to work on fledgling rocket technology for the new regime in Berlin, but his captors suspect he conceals an even greater secret. British intelligence makes a bold attempt to rescue Mayer, but the plan goes wrong and Mayer is critically injured. Mayer is interrogated by the ruthless Commandant Kessler, and in a moment of delirium mutters a vital part of his secret; but it doesn’t make any sense. Mayer is moved to the infamous V1 rocket site at Peenemünde – a smoke screen for a more deadly ultra top secret weapon – but time is running out. A daring fight in the swamp forests of Zululand, and the duping of British intelligence, gets crucial raw materials back to Germany. But the game is not over until the last man is standing – assassins on both sides have men to kill. This scientific thriller, with its intricate plot, will appeal to fans of Robert Harris’s Fatherland, Guy Saville’s Afrika Reich and Clive Cussler’s The Spy.
Read more

About the author

Currently residing in Devon, Richard D. Handy is an internationally respected expert on the hazards of nanotechnology. Richard has drawn on his life experience of working with different agencies to create this believable historical fiction.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Troubador Publishing Ltd
Read more
Published on
Aug 28, 2015
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
ISBN
9781784629878
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS

 

NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER

#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year!

One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year!

Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick!

The Girly Book Club Book of the Year!

A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub

 

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.

1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister.

1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.

Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads.

“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.