The Burning Girls: A completely gripping crime thriller packed with heart-pounding twists

· Bookouture
4.4
25 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

The girl was beautiful, even in death. Her skin was translucent beneath the sliver of moonlight peeking through the bare branches of the surrounding pines, and her chestnut hair had tumbled around her pale shoulders. Around her, smoke twisted in the air, curling into the inky sky.

 

The remote town of Crooked Creek has barely recovered from its most recent tragedy when wildfires tear through the mountains. Detective Ellie Reeves is grappling with her own heartbreak––she has just discovered she was adopted and that her childhood was a lie.

 

Under the scorching summer sun, Ellie is called to a river where a body has been found. She spots a lone woman’s shoe caught in a nearby tangle of vines, and a pearl necklace scattered by the water’s edge. The remains are surrounded by a circle of stones, which Ellie is certain means something. Was the victim––whoever she was––caught in the fire or is something more sinister at play?

 

The Fourth of July usually means festivals and fireworks, but when another body turns up the town is left in tatters. A young girl with dark hair lies dead, surrounded by stones, smoke drifting in the air. Thanks to an engraved silver necklace, Ellie identifies the body as eighteen-year-old Katie Lee Curtis, and the diary she finds hidden under the teenager’s mattress could get her close to the killer.

 

With two victims in less than twenty-four hours, it’s clear Ellie’s up against a serial killer, and she vows that no more innocent girls will be sacrificed. For her, every day is a battle to come to terms with her past, but when this case becomes personal, will she win?

 

A totally gripping and utterly addictive page-turner that will have you racing  through and reeling at the twists. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot, it’s best read with the lights on!

 

Readers love The Burning Girls:

 

Such a roller coaster ride! From the beginning of the first chapter to the end of the book, I was literally hookedIn fact, I stayed up all nightAn unputownable thriller!!! Guaranteed you will stay up all night to finish this book!!!” Tropical Girl Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I loved, loved this book Oh my, I just love this series… Always leaves me on the edge of my seat. If you have read the books in this series, you will know what I mean. If you don’t, well, you are really missing out on something terribly good in my opinion… 5 big stars.” B for Bookreview, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow, this one was non-stop action right from the very start… Had me hooked, so much so that every time I wanted to put it down I couldn’t. You have to pick this up and read it for yourself.” Spooky's Maze of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Yowza!!! So many twists and surprises, look-over-the-shoulder moments.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I was hooked and honestly, I couldn’t put this story down or turn the pages fast enough.” @mags_louise

 

Wow… Chapter after chapter, The Burning Girls is pulse-poundingHeart-pounding twists… So mind-blowing, hitting all your panic buttons right through to the end.” Booklover Bev, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I am super hungry for more of this fantastic series. Each one just gets explosively betterI was blown away by the action… I cannot read enough I get shivers.” @booksreadbyprairiegirl, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I couldn’t put this one down. Action starts from the first page and doesn’t stop. A can’t-miss book.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“A rollercoaster ride with so many twists and turns It’s hard to put down… My only regret is that I have to wait to find out what happens next!!!” Three Village Central School District, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.4
25 reviews
Jo W
June 18, 2021
always a pleasure to get engrossed in one of the books by this author. they keep you guessing from the start to the last page. I'm already looking forward to the next book
5 people found this review helpful
Mags_louise
June 10, 2021
4.5⭐ The Burning Girls is a gripping mystery, full of tension, twists and intrigue. As Detecive Elle Reeves returns to investigate a series of murders that are seemingly unrelated. That is until the first victim is identified, and as Ellie digs deeper she starts to learn some disturbing truths not just about the victims and their families, but a local church, and herself. And I was hooked and honestly I couldn't put this story down or turn the pages fast enough, especially as the story reached its conclusion and the killer was revealed. Would happily recommend. **I was kindly provided with an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
5 people found this review helpful
Patricia White
May 13, 2021
This author writes the kind of books that are creepy and suspenseful. You will be looking over your shoulder to see if there is someone watching you. Some nights, when the moon was full, she thought she saw a lone man standing at the edge of the forest looking up at her house. Sometimes she thought he was a spirit. This series is slowly revealing Ellie’s past along with a crazy whacked out serial killer. You just can’t put them down.
6 people found this review helpful

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.