Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing: Edition 2

Free sample

Written by leading researchers, the 2nd Edition of the Dictionary of Computer Vision & Image Processing is a comprehensive and reliable resource which now provides explanations of over 3500 of the most commonly used terms across image processing, computer vision and related fields including machine vision. It offers clear and concise definitions with short examples or mathematical precision where necessary for clarity that ultimately makes it a very usable reference for new entrants to these fields at senior undergraduate and graduate level, through to early career researchers to help build up knowledge of key concepts. As the book is a useful source for recent terminology and concepts, experienced professionals will also find it a valuable resource for keeping up to date with the latest advances.

New features of the 2nd Edition:

  • Contains more than 1000 new terms, notably an increased focus on image processing and machine vision terms;
  • Includes the addition of reference links across the majority of terms pointing readers to further information about the concept under discussion so that they can continue to expand their understanding;
  • Now available as an eBook with enhanced content: approximately 50 videos to further illustrate specific terms; active cross-linking between terms so that readers can easily navigate from one related term to another and build up a full picture of the topic in question; and hyperlinked references to fully embed the text in the current literature.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Robert B. Fisher, University of Edinburgh, UK
Toby P. Breckon, Durham University, UK
Kenneth Dawson-Howe, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Andrew Fitzgibbon, Microsoft Research, UK
Craig Robertson, Epipole Ltd., UK
Emanuele Trucco, University of Dundee, UK
Christopher K. I. Williams, University of Edinburgh, UK
Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
John Wiley & Sons
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 8, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
384
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781118706817
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Computers / Computer Vision & Pattern Recognition
Technology & Engineering / Electrical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Explains the theory behind basic computer vision and providesa bridge from the theory to practical implementation using theindustry standard OpenCV libraries

Computer Vision is a rapidly expanding area and it is becomingprogressively easier for developers to make use of this field dueto the ready availability of high quality libraries (such as OpenCV2).  This text is intended to facilitate the practical use ofcomputer vision with the goal being to bridge the gap between thetheory and the practical implementation of computer vision. Thebook will explain how to use the relevant OpenCV library routinesand will be accompanied by a full working program including thecode snippets from the text. This textbook is a heavilyillustrated, practical introduction to an exciting field, theapplications of which are becoming almost ubiquitous.  We arenow surrounded by cameras, for example cameras on computers &tablets/  cameras built into our mobile phones/  camerasin games consoles; cameras imaging difficult modalities (such asultrasound, X-ray, MRI) in hospitals, and surveillance cameras.This book is concerned with helping the next generation of computerdevelopers to make use of all these images in order to developsystems which are more intuitive and interact with us in moreintelligent ways. 

Explains the theory behind basic computer vision and provides abridge from the theory to practical implementation using theindustry standard OpenCV librariesOffers an introduction to computer vision, with enough theoryto make clear how the various algorithms work but with an emphasison practical programming issuesProvides enough material for a one semester course in computervision at senior undergraduate and Masters levels Includes the basics of cameras and images and image processingto remove noise, before moving on to topics such as imagehistogramming; binary imaging; video processing to detect and modelmoving objects; geometric operations & camera models; edgedetection; features detection; recognition in imagesContains a large number of vision application problems toprovide students with the opportunity to solve real problems.Images or videos for these problems are provided in the resourcesassociated with this book which include an enhanced eBook
FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RANDOM AND MURDERABILIA, a tense and gripping crime novel set in the dark underbelly of Glasgow.

A young man enters the culverted remains of an ancient Glasgow stream, looking for thrills. Deep below the city, it is decaying and claustrophobic and gets more so with every step. As the ceiling lowers to no more than a couple of feet above the ground, the man finds his path blocked by another person. Someone with his throat cut.

As DS Rachel Narey leads the official investigation, photographer Tony Winter follows a lead of his own, through the shadowy world of urbexers, people who pursue a dangerous and illegal hobby, a world that Winter knows more about than he lets on. And it soon becomes clear that the murderer has killed before, and has no qualms about doing so again.

'A tense torch-lit trek through a hidden city you never knew existed' Christopher Brookmyre

Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson's debut thriller Random was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. 
 
Praise for Craig Robertson:
'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror
'I can't recommend this book highly enough' MARTINA COLE
'Brace yourself to be horrified and hooked' EVA DOLAN
'Fantastic characterisation, great plotting, page-turning and gripping. The best kind of intelligent and moving crime fiction writing' LUCA VESTE
'Really enjoyed Murderabilia - disturbing, inventive, and powerfully and stylishly written. Recommended' STEVE MOSBY
'A great murder mystery witha  brilliantly realised setting and deftly painted characters' JAMES OSWALD
'Takes a spine-tingling setting and an original storyline and adds something more' Scottish Daily Record
'A perfectly constrcuted police procedural with real psychological depth' Crimefictionlover
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Glasgow is being terrorised by a serial killer the media have nicknamed The Cutter. The murders have left the police baffled. There seems to be neither rhyme nor reason behind the killings; no kind of pattern or motive; an entirely different method of murder each time, and nothing that connects the victims except for the fact that the little fingers of their right hands have been severed.

If DS Rachel Narey could only work out the key to the seemingly random murders, how and why the killer selects his victims, she would be well on her way to catching him. But as the police, the press and a threatening figure from Glasgow's underworld begin to close in on The Cutter, his carefully-laid plans threaten to unravel - with horrifying consequences.

Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Random is Craig Robertson's debut thriller and was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. 
 
Praise for Craig Robertson:
'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror
'I can't recommend this book highly enough' MARTINA COLE
'Brace yourself to be horrified and hooked' EVA DOLAN
'Fantastic characterisation, great plotting, page-turning and gripping. The best kind of intelligent and moving crime fiction writing' LUCA VESTE
'Really enjoyed Murderabilia - disturbing, inventive, and powerfully and stylishly written. Recommended' STEVE MOSBY
'A great murder mystery witha  brilliantly realised setting and deftly painted characters' JAMES OSWALD
'Takes a spine-tingling setting and an original storyline and adds something more'Scottish Daily Record
'A perfectly constrcuted police procedural with real psychological depth' Crimefictionlover
 
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.