A Handy Death

Open Road Media
Free sample

A lawyer agrees to defend an ex-baseball prospect accused of murder

In 1964, nineteen-year-old Billy Dupaul was on his way to stardom. A modest farm boy with a lightning fastball, he had just signed a record contract with the New York Mets when a single gunshot changed his life forever. Dupaul went down on an attempted murder rap, and the Mets washed their hands of him. Eight years later, the man he was said to have shot drops dead when a shard of bullet works its way into his brain. After eight summers in Attica, Billy is about to be tried for murder.

After throwing him to the wolves in 1964, the vice president of the Mets shows surprising interest in the case and hires Hank Ross, one of the toughest defense attorneys in Manhattan, to save the boy from the chair. It’s an impossible assignment, and Ross will find the case has more bite than any big-league curve.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Robert L. Fish, the youngest of three children, was born on August 21, 1912, in Cleveland, Ohio. He attended the local schools in Cleveland and went to Case University (now Case Western Reserve), from which he graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering. He married Mamie Kates, also from Cleveland, and together they have two daughters. Fish worked as a civil engineer, traveling and moving throughout the United States. In 1953 he was asked to set up a plastics factory in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He and his family moved to Brazil, where they remained for nine years. He played golf and bridge in the little spare time he had. One rainy weekend in the late 1950s, when the weather prohibited him from playing golf, he sat down and wrote a short story that he submitted to Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. When the story was accepted, Fish continued to write short stories. In 1962 he returned to the United States; he took one year to write full time and then returned to engineering and writing. His first novel, The Fugitive, won an Edgar Award for Best First Mystery. When his health prevented him from pursuing both careers, Fish retired from engineering and spent his time writing. His published works include more than forty books and countless short stories. Mute Witness was made into a movie starring Steve McQueen.

Fish died February 23, 1981, at his home in Connecticut. Each year at the annual Mystery Writers of America dinner, a memorial award is presented in his name for the best first short story. This is a fitting tribute, as Fish was always eager to assist young writers with their craft.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Open Road Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 7, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
213
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781504007238
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Legal
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Does It Again!  NEW Hunt for Jack Reacher book!


"Full of thrills and tension, but smart and human, too. Kim Otto is a great, great character—I love her." Lee Child, #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers


Jack Reacher: Friend or Enemy?


It’s been a while since we first met Lee Child’s Jack Reacher in Killing Floor. Fifteen years and sixteen novels later, Reacher still lives off the grid, until trouble finds him, and then he does whatever it takes, much to the delight of readers and the dismay of villains. Now someone big is looking for him. Who? And why? Hunting Jack Reacher is a dangerous business, as FBI Special Agents Kim Otto and Carlos Gaspar are about to find out. Otto and Gaspar are by-the-book hunters who know when to break the rules; Reacher is a stone cold killer. Reacher is a wanted man, but is he their friend or their enemy? Only the secrets hidden in Margrave, Georgia will tell them.


Lee Child, Jack Reacher, Reacher, military, action, romance, suspense, thriller, mystery, Florida, Michigan, adoption, secret baby, women sleuth, legal thriller, John Grisham, thriller series, mystery series, romantic suspense series, romantic suspense, hepatitis, medical mystery, medical thriller, psychological thriller, strong female, strong female protagonist, police procedural, thriller and suspense, vigilante justice, crime, action packed, private investigators, lawyer, police officer, FBI agents, Alaska, hard-boiled, cozy, legal, medical, suspense, suspense series, spies, tech, techno, technology, crime, financial, murder, theft, litigator, judge, juror, death, due justice, secret justice, twisted justice, wasted justice, mistaken justice, deadly dozen, deadly, gun, killer, sniper, shot, deadly, parenting, relationships, crime fiction, crime novel, kidnapping, serial killers, heist, series, women's fiction, detective, conspiracy, political, terrorism, contemporary, genre fiction, United States

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE

In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.
 
A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.
 
All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.
 
Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.
 
What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.

Praise for Crime of Privilege
 
“Twisting, engrossing, irresistible.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob
 
“Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story.”—Library Journal (starred review)
 
“A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”—John Lescroart
 
“A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”—Maclean’s
 
“A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp.”—Bookreporter
 
“An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”—Examiner.com
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.