Deadly Lullaby: A Thriller

Sold by Alibi
1
Free sample

INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD FINALIST • For readers of Harlan Coben and Robert Crais, Robert McClure’s rollicking crime novel of family and felony takes readers on a relentless thrill ride through the L.A. underworld.
 
Fresh off a nine-year stint in San Quentin, career hitman Babe Crucci plans to finally go straight and enjoy all life has to offer—after he pulls one or two more jobs to shore up his retirement fund. More than anything, Babe is dead set on making up for lost time with his estranged son, Leo, who just so happens to be a rising star in the LAPD.
 
The road to reconciliation starts with tickets to a Dodgers game. But first, Leo needs a little help settling a beef over some gambling debts owed to a local mobster. This kind of thing is child’s play for Babe–until a sudden twist in the negotiations leads to a string of corpses and a titanic power shift in gangland politics. With the sins of his father piling up and dragging him down, Leo throws himself into the investigation of a young prostitute’s murder, a case that makes him some unlikely friends—and some brutally unpredictable enemies.
 
Caught up in a clash of crime lords, weaving past thugs with flamethrowers who expend lives like pocket change, Babe and Leo have one last chance to face the ghosts of their past—if they want to live long enough to see their future.
 
Praise for Deadly Lullaby
 
“Robert McClure is the real deal, an author who produces pulp fiction the way Chandler and Hammett did—with depth and heart.”—Otto Penzler, editor, The Best American Mystery Stories
 
“Too compelling to put down.”—Roger Hobbs, bestselling author of Ghostman
 
Deadly Lullaby is, at heart, a father-son story, but one in which the father is a ruthless gangster and the son a cynical cop. I loved both of these flawed characters. Robert McClure has written a rousing debut, elevated by pitch-perfect dialogue and a whiplash pace.”—Peter Swanson, author of The Kind Worth Killing

“The writing is excellent, and the family relationship offers an interesting angle.”—I Heart Reading
Read more

About the author

Robert McClure read pulp fiction as a kid when he should have been studying, but ultimately cracked down enough to obtain a bachelor’s in criminology from Murray State University and a law degree from the University of Louisville. He is now an attorney and crime fiction writer who lives and works in Louisville, Kentucky. His story “My Son” appeared in The Best American Mystery Stories, and he has had other works published in MudRock: Stories & Tales, Hardboiled, Thug Lit, and Plots with Guns.
Read more
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alibi
Read more
Published on
Sep 29, 2015
Read more
Pages
383
Read more
ISBN
9781101884980
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
For centuries, colonial powers searched for a sea passage that would link the Arctic and Pacific Oceans. The route, known as the Northwest Passage, would cut thousands of miles from sea travel and open up commercial trade to and from Asia. There were numerous expeditions to find the passage, though none successful. It was while searching for one of these failed expeditions—the Franklin Expedition—that Captain Robert McClure and his crew aboard the HMS Investigator became the first via sea and sledge to traverse and chart the elusive Northwest Passage.

First published in 1856, The Discovery of a Northwest Passage is comprised of McClure’s logs and journals from his time in the Arctic from 1850 to 1854. What began as a joint venture between commanding captain Richard Collinson of the Enterprise and Captain McClure, as his subordinate on the Investigator, became a solitary expedition. Separated along the way, McClure took a dangerous shortcut through the Aleutian Islands and ended up in the Bering Strait, ahead of his commanding ship. His route carried him to Banks Island and to the discovery of the Prince of Wales Strait. The first-hand account tells of the two harsh winters that McClure and his crew spent iced in the Bay of Mercy. And their rescue in 1853, when many from the ship were found suffering malnutrition and on the brink of death.

With an introduction by bestselling author and adventurer Anthony Dalton, The Discovery of a Northwest Passage is the original narrative of one of the most dramatic discoveries in Arctic sea travel.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.