Muse (A Short Story)

Free sample

Every writer needs a muse.

Some are needier than others.

Some are hungrier.

Some demand blood.

A new story of suspense, from USA Today bestselling author Robert Swartwood.

PRAISE FOR ROBERT SWARTWOOD

"Robert Swartwood is the next F. Paul Wilson — if F. Paul Wilson's DNA was spliced with Michael Marshall Smith. If you haven't yet read Swartwood, you're missing out."
—Brian Keene

"Robert Swartwood is a sharp writer, his prose lean and mean as a razor blade. He notches up the tension from chapter to chapter like a master story-teller, keeping you reading long into the night."
—The Man Eating Bookworm

"An exceptional novelist."
—Douglas Clegg 
Read more
Collapse

More by Robert Swartwood

See more
When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers' parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents' blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it's in Bridgton that he meets an extraordinary young man who has come with his father to stop an unrelenting evil. Soon Christopher learns of the town's deep dark secret, and how his parents' murder was no accident, and how he has been brought to Bridgton by forces beyond his power — forces that just may threaten the destruction of all mankind.

For fans of Dean Koontz and Peter Straub

Praise for The Calling:

"The Calling is a powerful, gripping and terrifying novel, the sort that possesses your whole life while you're reading it; it'll stalk you through the day, and inform your dreams. Swartwood has delivered a novel that will become a classic." —Tim Lebbon, New York Times bestselling author of Coldbrook 

"Robert Swartwood's The Calling is a diabolical rocket sled of a psychological thriller. Told through the vivid, almost druggy point of view of a young man on the edge, tangled in a web of tragedy and surreal horror, Swartwood's novel gets under the skin and stays there. Highly recommended." —Jay Bonansinga, New York Times bestselling co-author of The Walking Dead: Rise of The Governor

"This novel is small town horror at its best." —Hellnotes
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
RMS Press
Read more
Collapse
Pages
20
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Short Stories (single author)
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.