Her Mother's Cry: A completely gripping mystery thriller

· Jessie Novak Book 3 · Bookouture
4.3
3 reviews
Ebook
330
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

The girl in the photo was laughing, her head thrown back, her lips painted a bright red. Jessie could feel the simple joy reflected in that moment. And as she looked closer, she saw the same gold cross and chain that had adorned the first victim’s neck.

 

When a young woman falls to her death from a parking garage, the Boston police department rule it as a suicide. But when Jessie Novak examines the scene, she isn’t so sure… The girl’s delicate hands are bruised and her fingernails torn: evidence of a struggle. Did someone push her from the roof?

 

Then a second young woman is found dead, this time at the foot of her dorm building, her hands injured in the same way as the first victim’s with a gold cross and chain clutched in her fist. Jessie is convinced there is a connection and that a twisted killer is on the loose.

 

Just as Jessie thinks she is closing in on the culprit, her worst fears are realized: a third girl is found dead. The gap between murders is closing: the killer is getting more confident. He will never stop until he is caught.

 

But little does Jessie know that, while she works to pick up the trail of her suspect, he is already on hers. She is the only one who can stop this monster before he kills again—but to save the next innocent life, is she prepared to risk her own?

 

A thrilling and totally gripping crime thriller that will grab you from the start and not let go until the final, heart-stopping page. Utterly addictive reading for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.

 

Readers are loving Her Mother’s Cry:

WOW! I am actually at a loss for words. This is the first book in a little while that I have got 100% stuck into and refused to put down. Reading late into the night and finishing in the early hoursEverything you could possibly want from a crime thriller. A pace that keeps you guessing and keeps you hooked. The creepiness that had the hairs on my arms standing up.” Chloe’s Reading Room ⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Another fantastic five star read from this author… Intense, chilling and gripping. This book had me sat on the edge of my seat and constantly holding my breath and as for the climax I literally have no nails left. This author has done it again. A must read series and another explosive addition to this gripping and very addictive series. Loved it!!!!” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Such a roller coaster read and will leave you sitting on the edge of your seatI was totally hooked on this book from the very first scene!… I didn't want this book to end and I read so fast… I was so upset it had to end!… Amazing.” @rubie_reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I devoured this book in just one sitting!I have been completely immersed… unwilling and unable to put this downFantastic… Kept me guessing throughout.” Little Miss Book Lover 87 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Loving this… keeps you hooked.” Spooky’s Maze of Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping… addictive… Loved it!!!!” NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Suspense, action, intrigue, murder and a great who-done-it!… Gave me the chills.” Goodreads reviewer

4.3
3 reviews
Kirsty Whitlock
November 7, 2021
BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Her Mother's Cry' by Roberta Gately. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Roberta Gately, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 1st November 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Jessie Novak' series. I have previously read 'The Frozen Girl' which I also recommend anyone read. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated thatthid book is 'Utterly addictive reading for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Roberta and if this is half as good as 'The Frozen Girl' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed.
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
November 1, 2021
A woman falls from the roof, her body lies broken and still. Accident? Suicide? Murder? When Jessie Novak examines the scene, she finds that the girl’s delicate hands have been bruised and her fingernails torn: evidence of a struggle. She's not the only woman who has lost her life in the previous months. Jessie sees a violent pattern emerging. Working with the Homicide Department, she finds some connections that may lead to the culprit. But then another woman is found dead. The gap between murders is closing: the killer is getting more confident. He will never stop until he is caught. And Jessie finds a witness .... or does she? This police procedural is packed with page-turning action. Well-written page-turning twists and turns lead the characters to a commanding conclusion. the characters are solidly drawn and I enjoy the blend of professional with the personal lives. Although 3rd in the series, this is easily read as a stand-alone, however I do recommend reading the books in order. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.