Her Pretty Face

Sold by Simon and Schuster
18
Free sample

The author of the bestselling novel The Party—lauded as “tense and riveting” by New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda—returns with a chilling new domestic drama about two women whose deep friendship is threatened by dark, long-buried secrets.

Frances Metcalfe is struggling to stay afloat.

A stay-at-home mom whose troubled son is her full-time job, she had hoped that the day he got accepted into the elite Forrester Academy would be the day she started living her life. Overweight, insecure, and lonely, she is desperate to fit into the Forrester world. But after a disturbing incident at the school leads the other children and their families to ostracize the Metcalfes, she feels more alone than ever before.

Until she meets Kate Randolph.

Kate is everything Frances is not: beautiful, wealthy, powerful, and confident. And for some reason, she’s not interested in being friends with any of the other Forrester moms—only Frances. As the two bond over their disdain of the Forrester snobs and the fierce love they have for their sons, a startling secret threatens to tear them apart—one of these women is not who she seems. Her real name is Amber Kunik. And she’s a murderer.

“Robyn Harding’s Her Pretty Face is a fierce and blazing one-sitting read that will make you question even your closest friendships” (Carter Wilson, USA TODAY bestselling author) and is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and Lisa Jewell’s Then She Was Gone.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Robyn Harding’s novels include The Party, Her Pretty Face, and The Arrangement, and she has written and executive produced an independent film. She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, with her husband and two children.

Read more
Collapse
3.9
18 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 10, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
352
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781501174261
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Brightside: A Psychological Thriller
Imagine a world where the person next to you—stranger, friend, lover—has the ability to creep into your mind and steal your most intimate thoughts. Now imagine you are the Thought Thief who is so greatly feared that your freedom and your life are threatened. Welcome to Brightside…you won’t be leaving.


Brightside, by Mark Tullius, takes a unique twist on the psychic phenomena of telepathy.  The fearful masses panic and create Brightside, a town that is essentially a prison. Protagonist Joe Nolan is one of the many Thought Thieves who have been rounded up and forced to live in Brightside, with little hope of ever leaving. Suspense builds as Joe finds himself on a mission to break free on his 100th day of captivity.


"THAT’S WHY THEY’VE ROUNDED US UP, STUCK US IN THIS LITTLE TOWN. IT’S TO MAKE YOU FEEL SAFE. BUT THEY CAN’T KEEP US HERE FOREVER. IT’S DAY 100 AND IT’S ALL GONNA END. ONE WAY OR ANOTHER, I’M GETTING OUT OF BRIGHTSIDE."


The reviews tell why Brightside should be your next read:"A well-written and well-executed story by first-time author Mark Tullius. It reads like a gritty, postmodernism novel similar to Blade Runner or A Scanner Darkly. Very interesting character development and plot elements, especially since the protagonist can't hide anything. A quick and fast read that keeps you glued to the pages." - eNovel Reviews


“Brightside is a fiction novel about a believable "now" where a large population of the world are telepathic, or "Thought Thieves" as they call them in the book. The fearful and ignorant masses cause panic and mass arrests and institutionalization of these individuals, who are sent to a "island in the sky" called Brightside, which is basically a prison on top of a mountain. The book follows Joe and his journey through 100 days at Brightside, and the people he interacts with along the way.”Add Brightside to your bookshelf today! 
Kerry Spence is unfulfilled by her soulless career in advertising, disappointed by her dysfunctional relationship, and horrified by the ever-increasing size of her ass. Ever since her gorgeous, self-absorbed boyfriend Sam demoted her to late night hook-up status, she has fortified herself with prime-time TV and blissful binges on cream cheese frosting, awaiting an epiphany that will reveal her next move.
Of course, everybody in her life is full of advice. Her free-spirited divorcee mother–when not necking furiously with her much younger boyfriend– sagely counsels her daughter to do whatever it takes to snag Sam back, since, quite frankly, he is the best she can do. Her friends ply her with fruity cocktails and dispense bits of ‘Cosmo’ wisdom like “Divide your age in half and add seven–that’s the youngest man you are allowed to date” and “Scotch tape can eliminate forehead wrinkles.” And then there is Kerry’s shrink, the calm, unflappable therapist who suggests she start “a diary of past encounters with men that may be contributing to her negative and dysfunctional quasi-relationship.” Or, as Kerry sees it, a journal of mortifying moments.
Beginning with a kissing game gone bad in grade school, the journal jump-starts Kerry’s stroll down memory lane of man troubles. But just as Kerry decides her poorly dressed therapist is as crazy as everybody else in her orbit, she begins to realize the journal may actually make some sense–as she plumbs the depths of her most embarrassing experiences on a quest for personal awareness that will give her the strength to turn her life around–and just maybe find love again.
The Journal of Mortifying Moments is a hysterically funny glimpse into the quirky, slightly obsessive, and completely lovable mind of Kerry Spence. But somewhere amidst the laugh-out-loud hilarity of Kerry’s exploits emerges the story of a woman who learns to stop trying to be someone she’s not, and start loving the wonderful, quirky person she is, once and for all.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.