The Hidden Girl: An absolutely gripping mystery thriller

· Bookouture
4.3
19 reviews
Ebook
391
Pages

About this ebook

Dawn light filters through the window, glinting on the woman’s dark hair falling over her unseeing eyes. Rope encircles her delicate wrists, and her mouth is frozen open in a silent scream…

 

Racing to the murder scene of married couple Dan and Heidi Newman in an isolated cabin, Agent Tori Hunter finds their seventeen-year-old daughter Cara hiding in the woods, shaking with fear. Tori’s blood turns to ice as she realises that her father worked a crime scene just like this before he died. Is there a copycat killer at large? And are they sending a message to Tori?

 

With no forensics at the scene, Tori interviews the killer her father put behind bars years ago. Cold, remorseless, and in the prison hospital with just days to live, the only clue he gives Tori is a whisper: “Your father. He cheated.”

 

To get justice for the Newmans—and protect their daughter—Tori must confront painful secrets in her father’s past. Could her brave, honest Dad have planted evidence? As all happy memories of her father shatter, the unthinkable happens: another couple is found murdered, tied up together, and Cara Newman goes missing.

 

Knowing someone close to both cases is watching her every move, Tori can’t even trust her team… with time running out, does she have any hope of stopping this vicious killer before more innocent lives are lost? And can she find Cara alive?

 

An absolutely addictive and mind-blowing crime thriller that will have you glued to the pages through each and every twist, until the final shocking conclusion. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Jackson won’t be able to put this down.

 

Read what everyone’s saying about The Hidden Girl:

 

“Wow!! OMG!!!… What an absolutely riveting, non-stop action-packed crime thriller!!! I was absolutely hooked from the first page to the last!!!... left me on the edge of my seat biting my nails with my heart poundingabsolutely fantastic… a page-turning and addictive explosive crime thriller that will leave you on the edge of your seat throughout!!” bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Wow!!! What a gripping read… had me hooked from page one… so absorbing… had me captivated.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I was literally hooked into this book!… I stayed up all night, waiting to find out who the killer is… so many unexpected twists and turns… I couldn't simply put this book down!… kept me at the edge of my seat… I felt like I was in a roller coaster ride with this book!… a twisted, thrilling ride, that will keep you hooked from the beginning to the end!Tropical Girl Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“What an ending!… A can’t-put-down book!… I read late into to the night because I just had to know what the ending was going to be. Phenomenal… I could not put it downtook my breath away and I gasped out loud. OMGMy goosebumps had goosebumps.” NetGalley reviewer

 

“A tense, high-octane, action-packed, procedural thriller… gripping… a nail-biting climaxsimply superb… a totally engrossing crime thriller.” Goodreads reviewer

 

WOW!... Stelljes certainly knows how to start a book off with a gripping bang!!... Thrown straight into the deep end… I flew through this book, I was totally immersed… A fabulous read.” Orchard Book Club

 

“Captivating… from the very first pages, just sucks you in… forget doing anything else for the day because you won't want to put it down… everything I love about thrillers… absolutely loved this book. Highly recommend.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.3
19 reviews
Mike Kennedy
October 7, 2021
The Hidden Girl is on par with the first two installments of the series, The Winter Girls and Silence Girls. Mr. Stelljes’ character Tori Hunter, not to be confused with Torii Hunter (The Twins great), is a top notch character that gains a little more depth with each novel. The Hidden Girl centers around a gruesome murder of a couple at their remote house in the north woods. Tori is called in to consult on the murders by her boyfriend and lead detective Braddock. This murder has many similarities with a murder over two decades old that happened when Tori’s dad, Big Jim Hunter, was sheriff. The murderer of those murders is in the clear as he is currently dying of cancer in prison. As Tori and Braddock investigate more they find the murder might be connected to old murders after all and a secret no one thought would come to light. I thought this book was well written with enough mystery and intrigue to keep you on your toes and invested. The character of Tori Hunter keeps growing and you see more sides of her in each novel. The rest of the cast, Braddock, Cal, Steak, and Eggs, are solid and add to your enjoyment. The setting of Northern Minnesota is tough to beat with the numerous lakes and full woods. Mr. Stelljes knows how to weave it all together just right. This book is an easy read that I didn’t want to put down. The book ended with a bit of a cliffhanger in Tori’s life (sorry no hints), so there is mostly likely going to be another novel. That is great news for all of us readers. If your a fan of spine tingling fiction in a beautiful north woods setting this is a must read. You won’t be disappointed.
Roslyn Holman
January 15, 2022
Just finished the third book in the Tori Hunter series and looking forward to getting information when the next one is out. Loved the way that the story line has been developed through book 1 and 2 and the pace never flags. Enjoy Roger Stelljes, who is a new author for me and writes the style of story I find engaging and keeps me sitting up to the early hours as I speed read and hate to finish until I reach the end - thankfully I have a partner, who can cope with me reading in bed! Whilst the crimes are always solved in the book, which is not real life, they are detailed, with believable characters and Stelljes makes you feel like you are an onlooker at the scenes. He has a lot of attention to detail and clearly loves Minnesota and of course hockey. After reading more about him online< i can now understand why and that he also has a legal background - all of this he brings into writing a great story.
Krista Hajjar-Nejad
October 7, 2021
Thank you Netgalley and Bookouture for this e-ARC! This was the first book I’ve read in the Tori Hunter series and I’m addicted!! Usually I don’t gravitate toward agent/detective thriller series because I don’t prefer them, but this book just changed my mind. Tori Hunter is a former FBI agent who is helping Chief Detective Will Braddock and the Sheriff’s department solve disturbing and gruesome murders in her hometown of Manchester Bay, Minnesota. This book goes back and forth from past to present, and we learn about a case that Tori’s after, Sheriff Jim Hunter worked on 24 years ago. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! You don’t have to read the first two books in the series in order to read this one first. This book does offer bits and pieces of the first two books, which helps the reader learn about Tori Hunter as a whole. This book was unputdownable, increased my anxiety at times, and the ending left me hanging!! Can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.