Windy City Nocturne

Author House
Free sample

The place: Chicago, Illinois. The year: 1937. A city struggles to recover from the lawless legacy of Prohibition and the destructive aftermath of the Great Depression. The inequities of race and social class are vast and growing. In a rigidly segregated society, the average citizen keeps to his own kind, keeps his head down, and toils just to make ends meet. During this turbulent time, a young European immigrant labors in obscurity, deep within the teeming confines of the Pilsen district. He dreams of being a professional prizefighter. The young man’s prospects are few until he befriends an elderly African American boxer who operates a small gym on the city’s west side. The old man recognizes championship potential in the boy and agrees to coach him, molding him into a first class athlete. Together, the unlikely pair chase the elusive goal of a Middleweight Crown. Across town, another young man has a mentor of a different sort. One who schools him in the fine art of the “quick buck”. This boy, rescued from abject poverty, pursues wealth and power with ruthless zeal, surrendering to the darker side of human nature. Abandoning all compassion, he eagerly embraces a life of crime and brutality. A disillusioned Detective, grappling with a deep personal grief has become obsessed with fighting crime. His work has become his solace, his only virtue, his redemption. Exceeding the bounds of his authority, he fanatically persecutes the criminals of his precinct, setting him on a dangerous path of confrontation and violence. When these worlds collide, loyalty is forsaken and heartfelt dreams are crushed. A life is taken. This is a tale of good versus evil, of sacrifice and righteousness and love. This is a story of happiness and heartbreak and darkness. This Windy City Nocturne.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

The author was born and raised on the west side of Chicago, experiencing first hand, the glory and peril of the inner-city. Coming of age in an era of social dissent, racial conflict, and political assassination; he became a student of human psychology, seeking to unravel the mysteries behind action and motivation. At a young age he discovered the therapeutic powers of writing, both as an escape and conversely as a vehicle for coming to terms with the world around him. A proud product of the Chicago Public School System, he studied at the University of Illinois and is currently a practicing Architect. Though his first love is writing, he divides his time between addressing the realities of the physical environment and exploring the freedom of the imagination.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Author House
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 5, 2008
Read more
Collapse
Pages
368
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781452054780
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An ex-commando for the Israeli Defense Force is reunited with his estranged Christian father when they are recruited to participate in a time-travel experiment. A think-tank of the brightest physicists on the planet, working in secret for decades at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, has created a device that can manipulate the space/time continuum. Unable to verify a successful foray into the past, the physicists enlist the aid of the father, an eminent archelogy professor, and his adventurer son, to substantiate the placement of a subject into the deep past, from where he can never return. To mitigate theoretical time paradox interference the First Century is chosen as the temporal destination, and the father and son devise an ingenious way to communicate through the intervening millennia. As the father prepares his son for the journey, the two grow closer, and in a final act of love the son promises his father he will look for evidence of Jesus if the experiment is a success and he is placed in ancient Israel. The son departs, and the father spends a lifetime searching the Hebrew tombs of Israel for a message he never finds until he is forced into retirement because of what the Chancellor of Tel Aviv University considers to be increasingly eccentric behavior.

The time-jump is successful, and the son materializes on the beach outside the ancient city of Caesarea. Though he trains for months for his adventure, he quickly finds he is not prepared for the rigors of life in First Century Palestine. Running afoul of the Romans he is imprisoned and sold into slavery to a wealthy Roman merchant. Struggling to acclimate to his new situation, he eventually settles into a protected life with the merchant and his mission and his promise to his father are forgotten. Allowed to travel around the province on trading missions, he meets a farmer in Jericho, becoming betrothed to the man’s daughter, and learns of a young rabbi who is gathering a following in the Galilee. Escaping the merchant’s home, the time-traveler heads for Capernaum to verify if the Rabbi is truly Jesus.

Finding that the Rabbi has departed Capernaum for Jerusalem, the time-traveler follows on a quest through the Holy Land, becoming entangled in the conflict between his ancestors and the Roman occupiers. Arriving in Jerusalem at Passover only to find that the rabbi Yeshua has already been executed, he happens upon one of the Rabbi’s followers who invites him to journey back to Capernaum. There in the fishing town beside he Sea of Galilee, he bears witness to the birth of Christianity, and sends a message through the ages to his father.

A Christian adventure tale in the tradition of Ben Hur and The Robe combined with the speculative technology of The Time Machine and Timeline, The Emmanuel Project will appeal to both religious and secular readers.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.