The Shell Seekers

Sold by St. Martin's Press
18
Free sample

At the end of a long and useful life, Penelope Keeling's prized possession is The Shell Seekers, painted by her father, and symbolizing her unconventional life, from bohemian childhood to wartime romance. When her grown children learn their grandfather's work is now worth a fortune, each has an idea as to what Penelope should do. But as she recalls the passions, tragedies, and secrets of her life, she knows there is only one answer...and it lies in her heart, in this beloved Cornwall novel from Rosamunde Pilcher.
Read more
Collapse

More by Rosamunde Pilcher

See more
5.0
18 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 23, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
560
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781250032195
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
'I have fallen completely in love with Judith Lennox's writing - she's a fantastic storyteller!' Jill Mansell

With the onset of war, everything changes...

Judith Lennox writes an unforgettable novel of enduring love and the tides of fortune in the compelling novel Footprints on the Sand. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Lucinda Riley.

The Mulgraves are a rootless, bohemian family who travel the continent, staying in crumbling Italian palazzos, Spanish villas, French vineyards - belonging nowhere, picking up friends and hangers-on as they go, and moving on when Ralph Mulgrave's latest enthusiasm dwindles. Faith, the eldest child of the family, longs for a proper home. But in 1940, Germany invades France and the Mulgraves are forced to flee to England. Faith and her brother Jake go to London, while Ralph reluctantly settles in a Norfolk cottage with the remnants of his family.

In the intense and dangerous landscape of wartime London Faith finds work as an ambulance driver, and meets once again one of Ralph's retinue from those distant and, in retrospect, golden days of childhood. Through war and its aftermath, it is Faith on whom the family relies, Faith who offers support and succour, and Faith who is constant and true in her love.

What readers are saying about Footprints on the Sand:

'Curl up and get lost in this wonderfully written book that takes you from early 1900 through to the 1960s'

'[Judith Lennox] can paint a picture so vividly in your mind, make you care about her characters, make you feel the anguish, the partings, the love that is taken away and then given back. A wonderful read'

'Such wonderful escapism - well written and compelling!'

Under the storm clouds of war, can they hope for happiness?

In the tumultuous years before the First World War, four sisters seek to follow their dreams in Judith Lennox's compelling novel All My Sisters. Perfect for fans of Lulu Taylor and Kate Morton.

Iris, Marianne, Eva and Clemency are the daughters of Sheffield manufacturer, Joshua Maclise. In the tumultuous years before the First World War, the sisters seek to fulfil their ambitions. Pretty, self-centred Iris dreams of a grand marriage, quiet Marianne meets the love of her life, and passionate Eva longs for independence. Only Clemency, caring for her invalid mother, remains tied to the family home.

Years pass and, her hopes of marriage dashed, Iris becomes a nurse in a London hospital. Marianne, living on a tea estate in Ceylon, finds first her happiness and then her life is threatened by a cruel and ruthless man. When Eva falls in love with the Bohemian, Gabriel Bellamy, her dreams of a career as an artist falter. As the clouds darken and war changes the lives of all the sisters, Clemency fights to free herself from the bonds that confine her and to discover love at last.

What readers are saying about All My Sisters:

'This is a book to savour - so many characters, all of them well drawn and who invite our sympathy. A wonderful story'

'[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings'

'Happy and sad, [this book] has all the qualities to make for an excellent read'

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.