The Girls of Mulberry Lane: A heart-warming, war time family saga

Head of Zeus Ltd
3
Free sample

1938, Mulberry Lane, London. War is looming, but on Mulberry Lane there are different battles being fought... Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.

Maureen Jackson is a prisoner of her father's blackmail. Three years earlier, she'd been hoping to marry Rory, the man of her dreams. However, after her mother's death, she was left to care for her overbearing father. Now Rory is back in London with a pregnant wife in tow to remind Maureen of the life that should have been hers.

As war threatens, Janet ashley hopes to marry her sweetheart Mike, but her father refuses to grant them his blessing. Defying his wishes, Janet finds herself pregnant and her mother Peggy is determined to hold her family together at all costs.

Will the girls of Mulberry Lane manage to snatch happiness before the darkness of World War II descends?

Order the next book in the series out JANUARY 2018 - A Wedding at Mulberry Lane.

Read more

About the author

Rosie is happily married and lives in a quiet village in East Anglia. Writing books is a passion for Rosie, she also likes to read, watch good films and enjoys holidays in the sunshine. She loves shoes and adores animals, especially squirrels and dogs.

Read more
4.7
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Head of Zeus Ltd
Read more
Published on
Aug 1, 2017
Read more
Pages
312
Read more
ISBN
9781786692573
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
'I loved this novel so much, even though it’s probably the most heart-breaking story I’ve read all year ... it will totally absorb you and capture your heart.' That Thing She Reads

Brighton 1963. Mary Pickles and I walked along the street with our arms linked, looking in shop windows. We were best friends and together we were invincible.

Dottie and Mary forged a friendship over a bag of penny sweets when they were eight years old. They’ve shared everything together since then – the highs and lows of school, family dramas, hopes and dreams and now, at seventeen, they’re both shop girls, working at Woolworths.

As they go out in the world in pursuit of love and happiness, the simplicity of their childhood dissolves as life becomes more complicated. The heady excitement of first love will consume them both, but the pain of unintentional betrayal will test their friendship in ways neither of them could ever imagine…

A charming, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting novel which brings a bygone era vividly to life. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Pam Weaver will love The Girls from See Saw Lane.

‘I absolutely loved this book and couldn’t put it down. It has all the ingredients for a perfect read: fantastic, loveable and very real characters, an emotional and compelling storyline, and a brilliant setting in time and place.’ Louise Douglas

‘Sandy Taylor has proven herself to be a very talented and gifted storyteller with an immense insight into family, friendship, love, and forgiveness…This is one of the most endearing, yet heart-breaking, novels that I have encountered in quite some time and will certainly not soon forget…Witty and humorous dialogue written with such ease truly brought this story to life and swept me away between the pages. Filled with unexpected twists and turns, you'll want to keep the box of tissues nearby!’ Kimberly’s Bookshelf

‘I have just started to read this one and am hooked! I love the vivid details of the time period and the closeness of the best friends.’ Weekend Reading

'I would recommend it to anyone who loves stories about female friendships, books set in the past...and for anyone who wants an emotionally stirring read!' My Bookish Ramblings

'A beautiful tale of friendship, love, betrayal and forgiveness and one that will stay with me for a long time to come...The Girls From See Saw Lane is a truly beautiful story that will touch your heart. Mary and Dottie will certainly live on in my head and my heart.' By The Letter Book Reviews

'I find it very hard to believe that this is Sandy's first book. This book is so well written...The relationship between the girls is very heartwarming, but also extremely heartbreaking, there will be times when you will need tissues at hand.' The Reading Head

'I recommend this book to all who want to take a wonderful trip back to the 60's. I would give it more than 5 stars if there were more to give.' Library Thing

'When you read this book, be prepared to laugh and to cry (it gets really sad) … The Girls from See Saw Lane is a good book to settle in and read on a rainy afternoon.' The Avid Reader

'Wow this book had me laughing out loud one minute and bursting into tears the next..A massive page turner.' Nat's Reading Cloud

'I absolutely adored it...so wonderful and so captivating.' The Book Cafe

'Will make you smile, laugh, reminisce and perhaps even cry a little...an absorbing and charming read.' Portobello Book Blog

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.