The Gauge War

Engine Ward

Book 2
Grymm & Epic
Free sample

A new iron curse threatens London

Now that the Sunken have been defeated, Isambard Kingdom Brunel can begin the task of making the British Empire great once more. All that stands in his way are the French forces closing in on the country, and rival engineer Robert Stephenson, who seeks to undermine Brunel's power by disobeying his orders at every turn.

Nicholas Thorne once again finds himself caught in the middle of a war he does not believe in. Only now, Nicholas is assailed every waking hour by terrible voices – animals in excruciating pain pound against his skull, begging for release. Can Nicholas fight through the pain and retain control of his mind to protect the people he loves?

Not content to lay idle while his empire is attacked and civil war looms, Brunel has one last great innovation to unveil. This new machine could be the salvation of England, or the destruction of them all.

The Gauge War is the second book in S C Green's Engine Ward series, exploring the clash of science and religion in an alternatee history London where dinosaurs still survive.

metaphysical fantasy, dark fantasy, epic fantasy, grim dark, steampunk, science fiction, alternate history, Victorian, Georgian, London, dragons, dinosaurs, zombies, vampires, dystopian, gothic, historical fantasy

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 S C Green as a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of dark urban fantasy and science fiction. Her popular Engine Ward series explores a steampunk Georgian London where dinosaurs still survive. Her latest series, The Chronicles of the Wraith, is co-written with fellow bestselling urban fantasy author Lindsey R Loucks.

She also writes steamy paranormal romance under the name Steffanie Holmes.


Steff lives in an off-grid house on a slice of rural paradise near Auckland, New Zealand, with her cantankerous drummer husband, their two cats, and their medieval sword collection. She writes about metal music, her books, living off-grid, and her adventures with home-brewing on her blog www.steffmetal.com.


Stay up to date with books by S C Green by signing up to her newsletter at http://steffmetal.com/subscribe. You can also support Steff's writing on Patreon and get bonus content, first editions, the chance to name characters and vote on plots, and other cool stuff: http://patreon.com/steffmetal.


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Grymm & Epic
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 4, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
540
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780473334147
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Romance / Paranormal / Vampires
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Steampunk
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 “… one of the most original books I’ve ever read.” – I Heart Reading


“One of my most enjoyable reads of this year, cracking along at high speed and using intriguing ideas to create a world that’s like a cracked mirror version of our own history.” – BookieMonster

In the heart of London lies the Engine Ward, a district forged in coal and steam, where the great Engineering Sects vie for ultimate control of the country. For many, the Ward is a forbidding, desolate place, but for Nicholas Thorne, the Ward is a refuge.

Deep within the bowels of the Ward, Nicholas can finally escape his strange affliction – the thoughts of animals that crowd his head. The shadows of his past hang over him, forcing him to remain hidden alongside the Stokers – a forgotten people who toil day and night to keep the boilers of the Ward constantly firing, so that the engine of progress may continue to hum.

But rebellion is stirring within the ranks of The Stokers, led by Nicholas' childhood friend, the brilliant engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel. Forbidden to do the work that brings him his only joy, Brunel innovates in secret, his mind growing ever more twisted by the desire for knowledge.

Battles rage in the shadows of bizarre buildings at the heart of this nightmarish alternative London. As men transform into flesh-eating monsters, Nicholas and Brunel seek a way to restore peace – will London's salvation come from a mechanical army, or on the backs of prehistoric beasts?

The Sunken is the first book in the Engine Ward fantasy series by S C Green. For fans of China Mieville and Neal Stephenson who want to explore the clash of religion, technology, and bestiary in a city on the cusp of industrial revolution.

metaphysical fantasy, dark fantasy, epic fantasy, grim dark, steampunk, science fiction, alternate history, Victorian, Georgian, London, dragons, dinosaurs, zombies, vampires, dystopian, gothic, historical fantasy

 “… one of the most original books I’ve ever read.” – I Heart Reading


“One of my most enjoyable reads of this year, cracking along at high speed and using intriguing ideas to create a world that’s like a cracked mirror version of our own history.” – BookieMonster

In the heart of London lies the Engine Ward, a district forged in coal and steam, where the great Engineering Sects vie for ultimate control of the country. For many, the Ward is a forbidding, desolate place, but for Nicholas Thorne, the Ward is a refuge.

Deep within the bowels of the Ward, Nicholas can finally escape his strange affliction – the thoughts of animals that crowd his head. The shadows of his past hang over him, forcing him to remain hidden alongside the Stokers – a forgotten people who toil day and night to keep the boilers of the Ward constantly firing, so that the engine of progress may continue to hum.

But rebellion is stirring within the ranks of The Stokers, led by Nicholas' childhood friend, the brilliant engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel. Forbidden to do the work that brings him his only joy, Brunel innovates in secret, his mind growing ever more twisted by the desire for knowledge.

Battles rage in the shadows of bizarre buildings at the heart of this nightmarish alternative London. As men transform into flesh-eating monsters, Nicholas and Brunel seek a way to restore peace – will London's salvation come from a mechanical army, or on the backs of prehistoric beasts?

The Sunken is the first book in the Engine Ward fantasy series by S C Green. For fans of China Mieville and Neal Stephenson who want to explore the clash of religion, technology, and bestiary in a city on the cusp of industrial revolution.

metaphysical fantasy, dark fantasy, epic fantasy, grim dark, steampunk, science fiction, alternate history, Victorian, Georgian, London, dragons, dinosaurs, zombies, vampires, dystopian, gothic, historical fantasy

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.