The Five Facets of Murder

Pneuma Springs Publishing
1
Free Sample

The Percival diamond disappears when twins, William and Elsie Percival, are children. Not too long afterwards, their parents descend to their deaths over the edge of a cliff, leaving them the family estate coupled with a vast fortune. William and Elsie Percival grow up living a debauched life of partying, opulence and luxury. Soon enough, their money begins to dwindle, they have to concoct a plan to revive their waning funds. During one of their many parties, they unearth a trunk in the attic; the contents : the secret to the Percival diamond that allegedly went missing decades before. It seems Mary, their cousin, whom the siblings have not seen in many years, may be able to unlock the mystery and so a house party is organised in her honour. Mary, a prickly tempered spinster, takes the train to Oakmere and in her carriage she encounters a peculiar company, all of whom seem to have an inkling about the coveted jewel. The guests that arrive at Oakmere Hall are a mixed bunch. Death also pays a visit. Death is an insomniac that weekend: a poisoning, shooting and a fall bring Inspector Thomas and his bumbling sidekick Constable Turner hurrying up to the estate to try to get to the bottom of the enigma. Finally the mystery is solved, but is this the end, or has a plan for revenge just begun? Book reviews online: PublishedBestsellers website.
Read more

About the author

Reading, writing and the English language has always been a passion for Salema and so she trained to teach English as a foreign language and went to work in Beirut for a few years. Now back in England, she spends her time writing, looking after her two children, and cats (not necessarily in that order!). In 2015 Salema’s first 1930s style whodunit, The Folly Under the Lake, was published by Pneuma Springs. It outsold ‘Girl on the Train’ at the Haslemere Bookshop and finished the year being their overall bestseller, even selling out at the book launch. The interest has been overwhelming! Inspiring authors include the queen of crime herself Agatha Christie and J Jefferson Farjeon because they write good old-fashioned crime stories that are gripping from start to finish. She also loves the writings of Naguib Mahfouz, an Egyptian writer, who won the 1988 Nobel Prize for Literature.
Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Pneuma Springs Publishing
Read more
Published on
16 Feb 2017
Read more
Pages
220
Read more
ISBN
9781782284277
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Set in the early 1930s at a country house in Surrey. Witton Park is owned by crooked, multi-millionaire, oil speculator Walter Sinnet and he lives there with his wife Blanche and their two adult children Harry and Rose. Harry is a good-natured bookworm who spends most of his time in the library, and has nothing in common with his father who wants him to work in the family company. His sister Rose, fun but feisty, wants some excitement in her life. Walter has become a multi-millionaire by swindling the investors in his company and has a vast lake and underwater folly engineered and put onto his property. People can sit in the folly and look through the windows into the lake and watch the fish swim past. The Sinnet family have a weekend house party and amongst them are Joseph Brewer and his wife Florence who are a couple in need of money who are desperate to invest in Walter’s business. Another guest is Hattie Abberton, who has been invited by Blanche and has a big secret to hide. Other guests include grieving widow Cordelia Brown, who is Blanche Sinnet’s niece, jewellery expert George Brown and Blanche’s childhood friend Aubrey Sapping, who is in love with her. That night a storm happens that is so severe that a large tree falls down over the entrance gates making it impossible for anyone to leave the estate. The next morning Florence Brewer’s jewellery has disappeared and a dead body is found floating in the lake facing down through the folly’s glass roof. Inspector Marcus Thomas and his son James, who has a day off school because of the storm, soon arrive at the property. Along with bumbling sidekick Constable Turner, the three set out to solve the mystery. Book reviews online: PublishedBestsellers website.
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Set in the early 1930s at a country house in Surrey. Witton Park is owned by crooked, multi-millionaire, oil speculator Walter Sinnet and he lives there with his wife Blanche and their two adult children Harry and Rose. Harry is a good-natured bookworm who spends most of his time in the library, and has nothing in common with his father who wants him to work in the family company. His sister Rose, fun but feisty, wants some excitement in her life. Walter has become a multi-millionaire by swindling the investors in his company and has a vast lake and underwater folly engineered and put onto his property. People can sit in the folly and look through the windows into the lake and watch the fish swim past. The Sinnet family have a weekend house party and amongst them are Joseph Brewer and his wife Florence who are a couple in need of money who are desperate to invest in Walter’s business. Another guest is Hattie Abberton, who has been invited by Blanche and has a big secret to hide. Other guests include grieving widow Cordelia Brown, who is Blanche Sinnet’s niece, jewellery expert George Brown and Blanche’s childhood friend Aubrey Sapping, who is in love with her. That night a storm happens that is so severe that a large tree falls down over the entrance gates making it impossible for anyone to leave the estate. The next morning Florence Brewer’s jewellery has disappeared and a dead body is found floating in the lake facing down through the folly’s glass roof. Inspector Marcus Thomas and his son James, who has a day off school because of the storm, soon arrive at the property. Along with bumbling sidekick Constable Turner, the three set out to solve the mystery. Book reviews online: PublishedBestsellers website.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.