Saving Sophie: A compulsively twisty psychological thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last page

Sold by HarperCollins UK
129
Free sample

***THE NO.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER***

‘This book is not only gripping, but it ends with a gasp-out-loud twist’ Closer

‘Tense, convincing ... kept me guessing’ Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Marshall and Cara Hunter.

Praise for Sam Carrington

‘A gripping exploration of twisted family secrets’ Cass Green, author of The Woman Next Door

‘Saving Sophie is a twisted rollercoaster of a debut . . . Sam Carrington is definitely one to watch out for’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

‘A tense, pacy read. This story’s enough to put you off social media!’ Isabel Ashdown, author of Beautiful Liars

‘I was hooked ... I devoured this story in one sitting. Louise Jensen, author of The Sister

Read more

About the author

Sam Carrington lives in Devon with her husband and three children. She worked for the NHS for 15 years, during which time she qualified as a nurse. Following the completion of a Psychology degree she went to work for the prison service as an Offending Behaviour Programme Facilitator. Her experiences within this field inspired her writing. She left the service to spend time with her family and to follow her dream of being a novelist. SAVING SOPHIE is her debut psychological thriller novel.

Read more
4.1
129 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Published on
Aug 12, 2016
Read more
Pages
400
Read more
ISBN
9780008191863
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Sister.

What everyone's saying about SAFE WITH ME:

'Holy Hell what a jaw dropper!.....Just need a moment to lift my jaw back off the floor, what a fantastic debut!' Chelle's Book Reviews

'First let me say, just WOW. It has been a long time since I read a book this good. I was completely spellbound by this psychological thriller and could hardly put it down... Safe With Me went far beyond my expectations in every way ...There are so many secrets, backstories, and undercurrents, and this wonderful feeling of dread throughout, it is like nectar for the reader. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves a psychological thriller. I am looking forward to the next book from K.L. Slater. She has knocked this one out of the proverbial park' Shelf Knowledge

'Oh my gosh! What a belter of a debut! Safe With Me is totally brilliant' The Little Bookworm

'Sublimely dark and all-consuming, Slater has written a novel so gripping, so captivatingly exciting that I found myself shushing everyone and ignoring everything simply so I could carry on reading.' Becca's Books 

'This one will keep you up at night, flipping the pages ...One word of caution, prepare to be surprised & shocked more than once.' First to Read

'Freakin' awesome...you need to start this book on a day when you have nothing else to do, because believe me you will not want to put this down once you start it.' I Love Reading

'WOW, I'm going to have to catch up with the housework tomorrow because I have just spent the last two days devouring this jaw droppingly brilliant debut psychological thriller.' Nicki's Life of Crime
‘Wow. What a book … a roller coaster ride of emotions ...’ Goodreads Reviewer

Two childhoods destroyed. One story they will never tell. Until now.

Beth ran away from her family when she was a teenager. She left behind a terrible evil that took her innocence. She also left behind her sister, Sara.

When Beth returns home, she is shocked to discover her terrible secret is not just hers alone…she shares it with Sara. Under the shadow of a remote headland, the sisters make an oath they promise never to break.

Eva’s birth is a mystery that remains unsolved. Years later with her marriage in ruins, and her future uncertain, she realizes that to move forward with her life, she must first understand her past.

But while Eva is drawing closer to the truth about her roots, Beth and Sara’s lives are falling apart, crushed under the weight of the secret they carry. They must confront the past and face the darkness once more. But this time, their story will be heard.

From the bestselling author of The Betrayal, Stolen Child and Fragile Lies, comes a breathtakingly tense and emotional story of the fierce bond between sisters, and a family destroyed by a disturbing secret.

‘Breathtakingly emotional … I really felt for Beth, Sara and Eva and feel privileged to have read the book.’ Donna’s Book Blog

'An absorbing, compelling family saga...very well-written, captivating and at times very emotive …Once I started it, I couldn't stop.' Relax and Read Book Reviews

‘A hard hitting story… there is a sense of justice and resolution.’ For the Love of Books

‘A good tale around a dark subject.’ Books from the Comfort of my Sofa

Note: Previously published as ‘When the Bough Breaks.’ This is a new extended version.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.