The Christmas Calendar Girls: a gripping and emotive feel-good romance perfect for Christmas reading

Head of Zeus Ltd
4
Free Sample

'Warm, cosy and perfect to curl up with' Mandy Baggot, author of One Last Greek Summer.

'A charming story about second chances, redemption, and the magic of Christmas. Five festive stars!' Lucy Coleman, author of Snowflakes Over Holly Cove.

'A must-read Christmas story of love, loss, friendship and community' Sandy Barker, author of One Summer in Santorini.

This Christmas fall in love with the town of Chesterwood...

Christmas is meant to be a time of giving, so with Chesterwood food bank under risk of closure Fern knows just what to do to save it. She's going to get the town to create a living advent calendar.

Fern, and her best friends, call for help from the local community to bring this calendar to life. When Kit, the new man in town, offers his assistance Fern's heart can't help but skip a beat (or two).

As they grow ever closer, Fern must admit that Kit's breaking down the barriers she built after the death of her husband. But his past is holding him back and Fern doesn't know how to reach him. No matter how hard she tries.

In this town, Kit's not the only one with secrets. Domestic goddess Cara is behaving oddly, burning meals in the oven and clothes whilst ironing, and Davina's perfect children are causing trouble at school leaving her son, Jasper, desperately unhappy.

Can the Christmas Calendar Girls find a way to bring the community together in time to save the food bank, while still supporting their families and each other? Can Fern find love again with Kit?

This is a story about kindness and letting go of the past. It's about looking out for your neighbours and about making every day feel like Christmas.

Praise for Samantha Tonge:

'A story of love, friendship and community sprinkled with magical festive moments. Full of warmth, this is a real treat' Maggie Conway, author of Winter at West Sands Guest House.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK with her husband and children. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely. When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women's magazines. She is represented by the Darley Anderson literary agency. In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. In 2018 Forgive Me Not heralded a new direction into darker women's fiction with publisher Canelo. In 2019 she was shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association romantic comedy award.

Read more
Collapse
4.2
4 total
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Head of Zeus Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Published on
3 Oct 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
288
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838930769
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Family & Relationships / Friendship
Fiction / Holidays
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Humour / Topic / Marriage & Family
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From Southport to the South of France – this is going to be a summer to remember!


Life just got a whole lot more complicated for thirty-eight-year-old single mum Liv. Her son Jake is practically perfect in every way, but he’s started asking some difficult questions, and the answers lie in a holiday romance twenty years ago. Back when Liv was staying with her aunt on the French Riviera…


Returning to the Cote d’Azur, with its white sandy beaches, her supportive aunt, and exquisite wine and cheese is harder than it sounds though. Because – if she’s going to give Jake the answers he needs – Liv knows she has to hunt down her first love Andre. And since she’s a professional baker rather than a professional investigator, she doesn’t even have a clue where to start.


At first, finding the one that got away proves even trickier than she thought. And if she succeeds, how will he take the bombshell secret Liv has been keeping? Liv has to do the best thing for her family, but does that mean closing the door on this very French affair?


A joyful, laugh-out-loud story about second chances, secrets and sunshine! The perfect summer read for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella. 


Readers love A Very French Affair:


‘Oh my God!!!!... I really loved this book… so good and sweet that it is very hard to leave behind’ The Nerdy Bookarazzi


‘The story flows well, the characters are brought to life beautifully and you feel much happier after reading… Definitely a book to enjoy on a sunny day.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I thoroughly enjoyed this story!... the perfect story to read on a summer’s day or on a holiday where you can just relax and let the author's words take you away… 5 stars from me for this one, very highly recommended!!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Go on your very own French adventure. Well in the pages of this book at least. This is a lovely holiday feel good fabulous read.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘After reading this book? Well, I was just about ready to book a flight to Nice… captures the spirit of the South of France perfectly… This should absolutely be your next read!’ Walking Through the Pages


‘I enjoyed this book for so many reasons… a lovely love story.’ Liana Reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The entire book breathes sun, sand and umbrella cocktails… the perfect summer holiday read.’ Reflections of a Swede


‘A wonderful holiday read, I would have loved to have read this poolside, in the sun, drinking a cocktail… A truly enjoyable story that kept me thoroughly entertained.’ Rachel’s Random Reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The perfect blend of everything I love in this genre… Liv felt like an old friend within minutes… Had me in hysterics… a truly fabulous, laugh-out-loud read that I devoured wholeheartedly. It really was such a fun, uplifting and heart-warming story. Whether you take it on the beach, the plane, the back garden, wherever you go this summer, make sure to have a copy.’ By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘What can I say... a fabulous, feel-good summer read! I loved every page. The characters came to life and it was a perfect page-turner. Definitely recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Head over to the most idyllic sounding place in France. Delicious food, tasty cocktails and wonderful baked goodies, add in a little romance and this book has it all… brilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Everything that I absolutely love in a book… such a warm and heartfelt story. Without a doubt the ideal book to read while you are enjoying a cool glass of rose while gazing over the Mediterranean Sea.’ Boek in Wonderland


‘What a wonderful weekend read… Made me feel I was in France.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This carefully crafted ebook: "Indian Summer (Unabridged)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Theodore Colville is a respected newspaperman in Des Vaches, Indiana. He is the editor of the Democratic-Republican, which he bought from his brother. But after a bad political move, his fans criticize him and his pride cannot withstand that. Colville decides that he needs to take a long vacation so he travels to Florence. In Florence he runs into a person he wasn't eager to ever see again, Mrs. Bowen, whom he once knew as Lina Ridgely. She is a widow and has a young daughter Effie Bowen. They have a surprisingly pleasant chat and she invites him to a gathering at her home, Palazzo Pinti, that evening. He accepts the invitation. Howells was a realist writer who wanted "his characters to be honest, ordinary people, as he might find in his strata of society, flawed and well-meaning, good-hearted and self-effacing, bound by the conventions and the restrictions of their day but quietly dreaming of a little local heroism in their souls." All of this is encompassed in the character Theodore Colville. The setting for this novel was inspired by a trip Howells had recently taken with his family to Europe. William Dean Howells (1837-1920) was an American realist author, literary critic, and playwright. Howells is known to be the father of American realism, and a denouncer of the sentimental novel. He was the first American author to bring a realist aesthetic to the literature of the United States. His stories of Boston upper crust life set in the 1850s are highly regarded among scholars of American fiction.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.