Only Daughter: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a nail-biting twist

· Bookouture
4.8
12 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

‘Your daughter is dead.’

 

When Kat Cavanaugh hears the words every mother dreads, her perfect world shatters. She takes in the beautiful long blonde hair, torn yellow dress and chipped blue nail-varnish. It can’t be real.

 

And then the police add the word ‘suicide’. But Kat refuses to believe them. 

 

Even when they show her the familiar looping handwriting and smudged ink on the note her little girl left behind. She knows her bubbly, vivacious daughter would never take her own life.

 

As she searches Grace’s perfume-scented room, filled with smiling photos, she uncovers secrets her daughter had been hiding. Secrets that make her wonder how well she really knew the woman her only child was becoming.

 

Kat’s determined to find out what really happened to Grace on the night she died, even if it means facing her own troubled past. But as she gets closer to the terrible truth, Kat finds herself faced with an unthinkable question: there was no way she could have protected Grace – or was there?

 

The must-read psychological thriller for 2019 from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child, perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

 

Why readers are gripped by Only Daughter:

 

‘Wow, just wow!... Right from the very first page, I was hooked. I pretty much read nearly all this book in one go as that was how compelling it wasa highly addictive read with so many twists and turns. I absolutely loved it! It had me questioning everyone and everything and I loved how much it messed with my head. It’s one of those books you want to rush and tell your friends about so they can read it to so you can talk about it, as that’s how much it blew my mind. Brilliant!’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘Ohhh this one is a fantastic, gripping, psychological thriller, from best-selling author Sarah Denzil… What a book! This book is completely littered with plot twists. Stacks of secrets, unreliable characters, a believable plot, suspense and intrigue… we are thrown right into the action right from the very beginning… A dark and gripping physiological thrillers. One certainly not to be missed.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow! One hell of a book!  Sarah Denzil is truly a talented author… This book had it all from page one, Mystery, suspense, family drama and loss.  Lots of twists and turns. I highly recommend this book and author to anyone looking for an unforgettable read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow what can I say. Amazing, creepy and so well written with so many twists. Would highly recommend this book best I’ve read in ages!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Loved, loved, loved it...read it in one sitting!! Unputdownable. Would highly recommend as a must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This psychological thriller had me hooked from the very beginning… There were jaw-dropping twists and I truly felt like I was on this emotional roller coaster with Kat… Sarah Denzil has a way of writing that not only pulls you in but makes you think you know the answers before dropping another twist.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Loved every heart-pounding, twisted page of this psychological thriller. Amazing twist at the end. Would be a terrific book club pick!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

Another MUST READ! Twists galore that you don't see coming!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Another winner from one of my favorite authors… This is a pacey psychological thriller with lots of secrets and twists maintaining a high level of intrigue and suspense from start to finish. Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Gripped me from the beginning, that enticing prologue that managed to say so much in just a few short paragraphs. The journey Kat goes on to find out what happened to her daughter, Grace, is thrilling and emotional, and the twists are brilliant. A thoroughly gripping read.’ The Bandwagon, 5 stars

 

‘Wow. This was such a thrilling ride.  The tale was twisted due to unreliable characters.  That was exactly what I would like to see in a psychological thriller.  The author's writing kept the story alive, gave me creeps, and made me want to keep reading until the very end of the book. If you're a fan of family thrillers, you mustn't miss this one.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.8
12 reviews
A Google user
March 7, 2019
Omg, Sarah A Denzil is my new favorite author!!! What didn’t I like about the Only Daughter!!! I absolutely loved the plot of this book. It’s about a strong willed mother who will not believe that her only daughter committed suicide. She is on a mission to find out what happened and to come to terms with her daughters death. This character was one of my favorites in this book. I also liked there were so many twists and surprises throughout the whole book. I would have never guessed the ending of this book. All of this made this book an easy and fast read and I will gladly give it 5 Stars.
3 people found this review helpful
Yolanda B Molina
November 23, 2019
Loved the characters and even though sometimes they are a little bit irrational, they are very human and likeable.
Tracy Grant
May 10, 2019
From a sad beginning to an emotional ending with so many twists and turns along the way, a truly brilliant book!

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.