Only Daughter: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller with a nail-biting twist

Bookouture
1
Free sample

‘Your daughter is dead.’

 

When Kat Cavanaugh hears the words every mother dreads, her perfect world shatters. She takes in the beautiful long blonde hair, torn yellow dress and chipped blue nail-varnish. It can’t be real.

 

And then the police add the word ‘suicide’. But Kat refuses to believe them. 

 

Even when they show her the familiar looping handwriting and smudged ink on the note her little girl left behind. She knows her bubbly, vivacious daughter would never take her own life.

 

As she searches Grace’s perfume-scented room, filled with smiling photos, she uncovers secrets her daughter had been hiding. Secrets that make her wonder how well she really knew the woman her only child was becoming.

 

Kat’s determined to find out what really happened to Grace on the night she died, even if it means facing her own troubled past. But as she gets closer to the terrible truth, Kat finds herself faced with an unthinkable question: there was no way she could have protected Grace – or was there?

 

The must-read psychological thriller for 2019 from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child, perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

 

Why readers are gripped by Only Daughter:

 

‘Wow, just wow!... Right from the very first page, I was hooked. I pretty much read nearly all this book in one go as that was how compelling it wasa highly addictive read with so many twists and turns. I absolutely loved it! It had me questioning everyone and everything and I loved how much it messed with my head. It’s one of those books you want to rush and tell your friends about so they can read it to so you can talk about it, as that’s how much it blew my mind. Brilliant!’ By the Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

‘Ohhh this one is a fantastic, gripping, psychological thriller, from best-selling author Sarah Denzil… What a book! This book is completely littered with plot twists. Stacks of secrets, unreliable characters, a believable plot, suspense and intrigue… we are thrown right into the action right from the very beginning… A dark and gripping physiological thrillers. One certainly not to be missed.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow! One hell of a book!  Sarah Denzil is truly a talented author… This book had it all from page one, Mystery, suspense, family drama and loss.  Lots of twists and turns. I highly recommend this book and author to anyone looking for an unforgettable read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow what can I say. Amazing, creepy and so well written with so many twists. Would highly recommend this book best I’ve read in ages!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Loved, loved, loved it...read it in one sitting!! Unputdownable. Would highly recommend as a must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘This psychological thriller had me hooked from the very beginning… There were jaw-dropping twists and I truly felt like I was on this emotional roller coaster with Kat… Sarah Denzil has a way of writing that not only pulls you in but makes you think you know the answers before dropping another twist.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Loved every heart-pounding, twisted page of this psychological thriller. Amazing twist at the end. Would be a terrific book club pick!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

Another MUST READ! Twists galore that you don't see coming!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Another winner from one of my favorite authors… This is a pacey psychological thriller with lots of secrets and twists maintaining a high level of intrigue and suspense from start to finish. Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Gripped me from the beginning, that enticing prologue that managed to say so much in just a few short paragraphs. The journey Kat goes on to find out what happened to her daughter, Grace, is thrilling and emotional, and the twists are brilliant. A thoroughly gripping read.’ The Bandwagon, 5 stars

 

‘Wow. This was such a thrilling ride.  The tale was twisted due to unreliable characters.  That was exactly what I would like to see in a psychological thriller.  The author's writing kept the story alive, gave me creeps, and made me want to keep reading until the very end of the book. If you're a fan of family thrillers, you mustn't miss this one.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 13, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
369
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786817105
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl

“This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review)

"A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)

“The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post

“This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review


Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable.

Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows.

Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed.

From bestselling author B. A. Paris comes the gripping thriller and international phenomenon Behind Closed Doors.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.