The Daughter's Promise: An emotional and page turning novel

Bookouture
Free Sample

Family is everything to Willa. Adopted at birth, her loving husband and son are her safe haven, and the ones she has clung to while numbed by the pain of a recent loss. When a letter arrives, it opens a path for Willa to re-engage with life: she has inherited a house halfway across the world, in a town she’s never heard of, from a woman she doesn’t know. Her only guess is that Lillian Brooks could have been her birth mother.


Travelling to the inviting shores of Sisters Cove, Willa is entranced by the dilapidated old house she now owns, perched high on a windy cliff within the Merrivale Estate. But as she begins to look amongst the dusty photos and sealed boxes of papers left to her, it becomes clear that the truth about who Lillian really was is not at all what Willa expected.


At Merrivale, social butterfly Annabelle is intrigued by Willa’s arrival. Unable to have children herself, she feels drawn to this fragile, younger woman and is inspired to help her mend the cracks in her heart. But as a friendship grows between the two, the dark truth that connects them is exposed, and both are forced to make choices about the risks they’ll take for family, love and forgiveness.


An emotional, powerful novel full of dark secrets and family drama. Perfect for fans of The Silent Wife, Amanda Prowse and Sally Hepworth.


Readers love The Daughter’s Promise:


OMG! OMG! OMG! What a marvellously brilliant book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I LOVED this book!!! I loved everything about it – the characters, story and writing style. I was sad when it ended… Definitely recommend the book. I read it in one sitting. I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely beautifulI just loved this amazing book. Heart-breaking and heartwarming. A thought provoking and powerful story of love, loss, forgiveness and how to keep on living after the worst has happened. Just beautiful. One of my favourite reads of 2019!’ Renita D’Silva, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


One of the best books I’ve read in a while. I did not want to put it down so I read it in one day!… Great characters and an interesting story developed with each page read.’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Will break your heart… It was so easy to fall into this book and in love with this bittersweet storyEven hours after I had finished, my thoughts still lingered on this tale – and Annabelle's indomitable spirit. Wonderful story!!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Gripping and engrossing story… an excellent and poignant read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘What a touching story… I loved this book!’ Robin Loves Reading⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A hugely engrossing and entertaining novel… Gripped right from the start, I was totally caught up in the drama of it all… A heart-warming read and a compulsive story… Very highly recommended.’ Brianne’s Book Reviews⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved the story… 5 stars.’ B for Bookreview⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Fun characters and good writing made this book a great read and I thoroughly enjoyed the drama that played out on the pages. Sometimes unpredictable and unexpected, the story highlights the beauty of the area and the drama that plays out in a family. I loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
8 Jan 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
328
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838880316
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.