The Night Raven

Siskin Press Ltd via PublishDrive
Free sample

Meet Lydia Crow...

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.

The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.

The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.

The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.

The Fox family... Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.

For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter. 

‘My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!’

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows

‘Clever and charming and funny – and a bit creepy!’

Keris Stainton, author of If You Could See Me Now and Counting Stars

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Siskin Press Ltd via PublishDrive
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 23, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
248
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When you are ready, seek, and you shall find. It is your gift.

Gwen Harper left Pendleford thirteen years ago and hasn’t looked back. Until an inheritance throws her into the mystical world she thought she’d escaped. Confronted with her great-aunt’s legacy Gwen must finally face up to her past.

The magic she has long tried to suppress is back with a vengeance but gift or burden, for Gwen, it always spells trouble. She has to stay – she has nowhere else to go – but how can she find her place in the town that drove her out after branding her a witch...?

Praise for Sarah Painter

"Sarah Painter is a talented new writer, and her debut is a charming, romantic and intriguing story, with a little touch of magic. It had me enchanted." - Clodagh Murphy

'This really was a fantastic debut novel... The language was also simple but elegant and meant that the story flowed seamlessly. I honestly could not put it down.' - Laura's Little Book Blog

'The plot had great twists and turns and when I thought I had the story figured out, the story would go in a different direction and surprise me. I didn’t want to put it down and the further I got into the book, the harder it was to stop reading... A wonderful debut novel and I’m looking forward to reading the next one.' - Novel Kicks

'I thoroughly enjoyed The Secret of Ghosts. It was just as magical and just as enjoyable as The Language of Spells and I am soooooo glad Sarah Painter decided to go back to Pendleford. ... I really do love magical fiction and I think Sarah Painter is one of the best at giving you a realistic look at magic and all that comes with it.' - Chick Lit Reviews on The Secrets of Ghosts

Don't miss the second book in this sparkling duet: The Secrets of Ghosts out now!

Step back into the magical world of Pendleford with Sarah Painter’s new book The Secrets of Ghosts. Don’t miss the magical, heart-warming story from the bestselling author of The Language of Spells!

On her twenty-first birthday Katie Harper has only one wish: to become a real Harper woman. Mystical powers are passed down her family generation after generation – some even call them witches – yet every spell Katie attempts goes disastrously wrong.

When her magic does appear, it’s in a form nobody expected and suddenly Katie is thrown into a dangerous new world with shadowy consequences. For the realm of the deceased is not as peaceful as she once thought. The dead are buried with their secrets and only Katie can help the ghosts of the past finally find peace.

If that is what they are looking for...

Praise for Sarah Painter

'The magic, the romance, the right amount of humour and drama, made this a perfectly well-rounded novel. I greatly look forward to Sarah’s next novel.' - Laura's Little Book Blog

'I would recommend this book as it is a real mix: it’s a love story and a thriller with a dash of magic thrown in for good measure.' - Laura's Book Review

'I really loved this book – and it is not often I say this, really. An amazing début, I was sucked in so much I could hardly put it down and finished it in about a day I think. I also couldn’t stop talking about it! That is it’s charm and the skill of the writer, you can’t quite put your finger on what it is... I hope to read more in the future by this author.' - Beloved Eleanor

utterly enchanting’ - The Madwoman in the Attic

'an enjoyable, escapist read, light hearted romance and a bit of paranormal who dunnit.' - Jeannie Zelos

'I thoroughly enjoyed The Secret of Ghosts. It was just as magical and just as enjoyable as The Language of Spells and I am soooooo glad Sarah Painter decided to go back to Pendleford. ... I really do love magical fiction and I think SarahPainter is one of the best at giving you a realistic look at magic and all that comes with it.' - Chick Lit Reviews

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.