Mystery of the Egyptian Mummy

Kid Detective Zet

Book 4
Best Day Books For Young Readers
169

Looking for Fun Halloween Books For Kids?

Something scary is happening in ancient Egypt . . . Discover the bone-chilling secrets in this spooky mystery!

 

When 12-year-old Zet comes face-to-face with a whispering mummy, Zet's eyes practically pop out of his head. Goosebumps race down his neck. Why is a mummy haunting his front door? What does the scary monster want? Zet quickly joins forces with his 11-year-old sister Kat and best friend Hui. The three kids need to unwind this spine-tingling mystery fast, because there's a zany rumor that they're cursed. If they don't, their world might just come unraveled! Clues send them tiptoeing through the hotspots of ancient Egypt--running into hieroglyphics covered tombs and frantically paddling up and down the Nile on a wild mummy chase. They soon suspect this will be their spookiest mystery ever!
 
Readers will appreciate this fun, smart, exciting step up from Mary Pope Osborne's Magic Tree House and R.L. Stine's Goosebumps as it "lends itself to being read by kids moving beyond chapter books." The short chapters provide easy wins for middle school readers and makes it perfect for school reading lists. Fans of the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew,and Indiana Jones will be right at home. This is a middle-grade book for boys, a middle-grade book for girls. Popular in kids book clubs and homeschooling. An action oriented tale that's a great way to introduce middle-school youngsters to the world of ancient Egypt. "A big hit in our library, can't keep it on the shelf. Don't miss this must-read!" - E. Crow, Librarian
 
"Mummies. Curses. Clues to unravel...Scott Peters has done it again." ~ S.D. Brown, author of The Lake Quilt Mystery
 
~ Perfect for all kids ages 9-12 (Lexile: 490-570)
 
"Excellent 'Indiana Jones' style mystery." - Top Reviewer
 
6th grade ELA/SS: "My co-teacher and I have used (Book 1) for the past 2 years and the students absolutely love it!" Janine Taft. Teachers, librarians, and parents will appreciate the ancient civilizations facts and geography and appropriate language for Ages 8-14 Grades 3-7 | #1 Amazon best-selling series in Children's Geography & Cultures > Action & Adventure | ACTION. SMART. EXCITING | Packed with Ancient Egypt References | Also available: BOOK 1, MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN SCROLL, BOOK 2: MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN AMULET, & BOOK 3, MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN TEMPLE | FREE shipping when you get the first 3 books in the series!

Kid Detective Zet Series:

  • Mystery of the Egyptian Scroll

  • Mystery of the Egyptian Amulet

  • Mystery of the Egyptian Temple

  • Mystery of the Egyptian Mummy



Download now!
 
Shelve under: modern classics, books for boys, books for girls, books for kids age 9 - 12, books for middle grade, books for boys 9 - 12, funny exciting stories for kids, Diary of a Wimpy Kid readers, reluctant readers, 5th grade, travel with kids, Mr Lemoncello's Library, Hardy Boys, Rick Riordan, Percy Jackson, Kane Chronicles, appropriate books for kids, librarian-approved.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 Scott Peters writes action-filled adventure stories set in ancient Egypt. In addition to writing, the author has created over 300 museum, science center and theme park installations for such places as the SMITHSONIAN, WALT DISNEY WORLD, PARAMOUNT PICTURES, and the WASHINGTON CHILDREN'S MUSEUM. Peters also helped design an interactive TV show for the NICKELODEON CHANNEL. 


"I write the kind of stories I would have loved to have read as a kid, when I was 8, 9, 10, 11 or 12. Mysteries packed with adventure that make a kid feel smart, like he or she is traveling somewhere really amazing and learning neat things in an interesting way--not dry old facts in some textbook, but experiencing it--and solving a puzzle to become a hero at the same time!"

Scott Peters runs an ancient Egypt blog that gets over 1,500 VISITORS A DAY. Thirsty for a ton of cool facts? Find a treasure trove at Scott's blog: egyptabout.com
Read more
Collapse
4.3
169 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Best Day Books For Young Readers
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 28, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
129
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Juvenile Fiction / Boys & Men
Juvenile Fiction / Family / Siblings
Juvenile Fiction / Ghost Stories
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / Africa
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / Ancient Civilizations
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / General
Juvenile Fiction / Horror
Juvenile Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Juvenile Fiction / Monsters
Juvenile Fiction / Mysteries & Detective Stories
Juvenile Fiction / Readers / Chapter Books
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Religion & Faith
Juvenile Nonfiction / Curiosities & Wonders
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Long, long ago, and far, far away lives a boy named Zet who's a great detective.      He just doesn't know it yet.  Trouble strikes Zet's hometown when a secret scroll falls into the wrong hands. The information on that papyrus is highly classified. Who knows what the thieves are planning? Meanwhile, the ancient Egyptian police are offering a hefty reward to anyone who can lead them to the culprits. Zet's ahead of the game because he's already got a solid clue--which is more than the authorities can say. But does he have what it takes to crack his first case? Or is he getting in way over his head? There's only one way to find out . . . Kids will love this wild adventure that takes them running along the Nile, through strange temples bristling with pillars, past walls covered in ancient hieroglyphics, all while they try to figure out what happens next. 


Praise for Mystery of the Egyptian Scroll: 

"A big hit in our library, can't keep it on the shelf." - E. Crow, Librarian 

"Action packed" - Middle Grade Fiction Finder 

6th grade ELA/SS: "My co-teacher and I have used this book for the past 2 years and the students absolutely love it!" Janine Taft.

   ~ The short, exciting chapters make it perfect for school reading lists. ~ Great for all children age 9-12 (Lexile: 490-570) ~ Packed with fascinating ancient Egypt facts kids will love Teachers, librarians, and parents will appreciate the ancient civilizations facts and geography and appropriate language for middle-grade readers ages 8-14 Grades 3-7 | ACTION. SMART. EXCITING | Packed with Ancient Egypt References | Also available: BOOK 2: MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN AMULET, BOOK 3, MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN TEMPLE & BOOK 4, MYSTERY OF THE EGYPTIAN MUMMY 

Guaranteed to keep your kids on the edge of their seats as they try to puzzle out the mystery and guess what dangers lie ahead! 
"Fast-paced story of Bigfoot, grief, loss, friendship, faith, hope, and most of all love... Young and old readers alike are sure to enjoy this tale of monsters and healing... WHAT A DELIGHTFUL STORY." – My Book Addiction Reviews

* Includes a FREE CHAPTER from the next book in the Monster Hunters series, Alec Kerley and the Wrath of the Vampire! *

Adventure, mystery, and monsters converge in this fast-paced monster series perfect for fans of Stranger Things, Goosebumps, Cirque du Freak, the Cooper Kids, and the Hardy Boys.

Is the legendary Bigfoot real?

Twelve-year-old Alec Kerley finds out, in an adventure he'll never forget!

Alec's mom died six months ago, and his world is upside down. Now, it's just Alec and his dad, alone, together but apart.

Making matters worse, Alec has discovered that his dad works for a secret government agency that investigates monsters — real, living, breathing monsters!

When Alec joined his dad and the Gonzalezes, longtime family friends of the Kerleys, on what he thought was a short getaway to the Branson, Missouri area, he and his best friend Ken Gonzalez, along with Ken's sister Sarah and her pretty friend Emily, expected to stay in cabins with a swimming pool and a Jacuzzi. What they got instead was a close encounter with a wiggly kid named Ethan Elvis Edgar, who breaks wind whenever he gets scared, and a terrifying attack by a group of the fabled Bigfoots, who are not happy the vacationers are there.

And what Alec learns through his experience is that faith and hope and healing can be found in the most unexpected places — even in the midst of the Terror of Bigfoot!

****

Alec Kerley and the Terror of Bigfoot is an inspirational monster novel filled with adventure. It is a legitimately scary story and a great read for all ages — middle graders, teens, and adults. Parental guidance is suggested. 50,000 words, 22 chapters.

Alec Kerley and the Terror of Bigfoot is the first in a series. The other titles are Alec Kerley and the Wrath of the Vampire (Book Two), Alec Kerley and the Roar of the Dinosaur (Book Three), and Alec Kerley and the Haunted Christmas (a holiday short story.)

 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.