The Millennial Sword

Alizarin Publishing
3
Free sample

Viveka Janssen isn't a dragonslayer. She's a practical Midwestern girl brought to San Francisco by the prospect of an entry-level PR job, and her greatest ambitions involve finding an apartment and making a good impression at work. But Viv's sensible nature is shaken when she comes into possession of the legendary sword Excalibur, and finds herself thrust into the front lines of a shadow war against the immortal armies of Morgan le Fay.

Ancient and malevolent creatures hunt the streets by night. Monsters out of fairy tales lurk in subway tunnels. Only Excalibur—and Viv—stand between human civilization and the forces of wild magic.

And the dragons are hungry...

Winner of the 2014 IndieReader Discovery Award in the Fantasy category. Fans of Seanan McGuire and Patricia Briggs will enjoy this blend of adventure, romance, and magic.
Read more

About the author

Shannon Phillips lives in Oakland, where she keeps chickens, a dog, three boys, and a husband. She likes old things, wild places, tall tales, and the people who tell them.

Read more

Reviews

4.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alizarin Publishing
Read more
Published on
Sep 30, 2012
Read more
Pages
215
Read more
ISBN
9781477699805
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Book 10
Douglas Clegg
Dark, Scary, Thrilling, Strange, Creepy, Mysterious -- a mega-collection from a master of the fiction of nightmares. From New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Douglas Clegg comes this giant gathering of classic dark fiction of suspense, horror and nightmare logic, including the previously-uncollected novelette, Funerary Rites, as well as the critically-praised novelettes, White Chapel and I Am Infinite, I Contain Multitudes, and The Dark Game. A total of 700+ pages if in print. 

Also included in this collection are all the short stories from his three collections, The Nightmare Chronicles, Night Asylum and Wild Things. This is a great collection for the fan of Douglas Clegg's award-winning stories and novels as well as for the new reader of his work. 

The Nightmare Chronicles, within this collection, won both the Bram Stoker Award and The International Horror Guild Award. 

Table of Contents: 

1. Foreword by the Author 

2. Funerary Rites 

3. White Chapel 

4. The Stain 

5. The American 

6. Belinda in the Pool 

7. The Skin of the World 

8. O, Rare and Most Exquisite 

9. The Little Mermaid 

10. A Madness of Starlings 

11. Subway Turnstile 

12. Where Flies Are Born 

13. Underworld 

14. The Rendering Man 

15. The Fruit of Her Womb 

16. Becoming Men 

17. People Who Love Life 

18. Fries with That? 

19. The Machinery of Night 

20. The Wolf 

21. The Wicked 

22. 265 and Heaven 

23. The Night Before Alec Got Married 

24. Ice Palace 

25. Why My Doll is Evil 

26. The Five 

27. The Dark Game 

28. Only Connect 

29. The Ripening Sweetness of Late Afternoon 

30. Chosen 

31. Damned If You Do 

32. The Hurting Season 

33. I Am infinite, I Contain Multitudes
Lev Grossman
The entire #1 New York Times bestselling Magicians trilogy, including The Magicians, The Magician King, and The Magician's Land, now available in one ebook bundle

The Magicians
Quentin Coldwater is brilliant but miserable. A high school math genius, he’s secretly fascinated with a series of children’s fantasy novels set in a magical land called Fillory, and real life is disappointing by comparison. When Quentin is unexpectedly admitted to an elite, secret college of magic, it looks like his wildest dreams may have come true. But his newfound powers lead him down a rabbit hole of hedonism and disillusionment, and ultimately to the dark secret behind the story of Fillory. The land of his childhood fantasies turns out to be much darker and more dangerous than he ever could have imagined . . .

The Magicians is one of the most daring and inventive works of literary fantasy in years. No one who has escaped into the worlds of Narnia and Harry Potter should miss this breathtaking return to the landscape of the imagination.

The Magician King
Quentin Coldwater should be happy. He escaped a miserable Brooklyn childhood, matriculated at a secret college for magic, and graduated to discover that Fillory—a fictional utopia—was actually real. But even as a Fillorian king, Quentin finds little peace. His old restlessness returns, and he longs for the thrills a heroic quest can bring.

Accompanied by his oldest friend, Julia, Quentin sets off—only to somehow wind up back in the real-world and not in Fillory, as they’d hoped. As the pair struggle to find their way back to their lost kingdom, Quentin is forced to rely on Julia’s illicitly learned sorcery as they face a sinister threat in a world very far from the beloved fantasy novels of their youth.

The Magician's Land
Quentin Coldwater has lost everything. He has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical world of his childhood dreams that he once ruled. With nothing left to lose he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic. But he can’t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him. Meanwhile, the magical barriers that keep Fillory safe are failing, and barbarians from the north have invaded. Eliot and Janet, the rulers of Fillory, embark on a final quest to save their beloved world, only to discover a situation far more complex—and far more dire—than anyone had envisioned.

Along with Plum, a brilliant young magician with a dark secret of her own, Quentin sets out on a crooked path through a magical demimonde of gray magic and desperate characters. His new life takes him back to old haunts, like Antarctica and the Neitherlands, and old friends he thought were lost forever. The Magician’s Land is an intricate and fantastical thriller, and an epic of love and redemption that brings the Magicians trilogy to a magnificent conclusion, confirming it as one of the great achievements in modern fantasy.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.