The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Bookouture
2
Free sample

‘If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!... This book is epic, a mesmerizing book of strength through unimaginable losses… Heartbreaking and beautifully written this is a gripping tale of bravery… One of the best and most memorable historical books I’ve ever read!’ Deanne’s Book Thoughts, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


When the Nazis march onto the cobbled streets of Colmar on November 1st 1940, Josef, a Jewish violin maker, gathers his wife and daughters closely to him and tells them everything will be alright. 


But one year later, three sharp knocks on the door at midnight turn his seventeen year old daughter Sarah’s world upside down. As the oldest child, Sarah must be the first to leave her family, to make her escape in a perilous journey across France via Paris to Poitiers. And she must hide who she is and take a new name for her own safety. For now, bilingual Sarah is no longer a French Jew but a German girl. 


As she bids farewell to her beloved father and family, Sarah has hope, against all odds, that she will see them again when the war is over. But, travelling through the mountains she finds herself in terrible danger and meets Ralf, a German deserter, who risks his own life to save her. 


Ralf and Sarah continue their journey together, keeping their identities secret at all cost. But when Ralf is captured, will Sarah pay the ultimate price for sharing who she really is?


A gripping and heart-breaking account of love, bravery and sacrifice during the terror of war. A story of standing up for what you believe in; even if it’s going to break your heart. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Ragged Edge of Night


Readers have fallen in love with The Violin Maker’s Daughter :


From the minute I opened this book I was completely enthralledI couldn’t put it down. It was well thought out and expertly written… Really a great read and I can’t wait to look into other books by this author!’ Being Perry, 5 stars


This is the first book I have read by Sharon Maas and from the moment I started reading it I just could not wait to continue reading it. It’s sad, its poignant, its uplifting and it tells the wonderful story of Sarah, the violin makers daughter and her journey as she flees her home country, to escape Nazi's …Beautifully written and a memorable read.’ Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars 


‘Sharon Maas never disappoints! She is one of my favourite authors and with this wonderful, harrowing, heart breaking tale of courage and love in the face of unimaginable danger, she has cemented her place as one of the best historical fiction writes of today, right up there with Antony Doerr and Kristin HannahI SO loved this beautiful story… so stunningly realised. …I would very highly recommend this book and give it ten stars if I could. If you're going to read one war book this year which marks the 75th anniversary of D-day, make it this one!’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars


gripping, heartbreaking, but yet heartwarming historical fiction (that is based on real facts concerning Colmar, Alsace and Lorraine as well as French and German Resistance)... It is raw and emotional, yet a necessary story to tell … A great read. 5/5 stars’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


‘I loved it! Once I started reading, I could not stop... I was on the edge of my seat… This is the first book I have read by this writer, I am eager for more!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


‘A heart wrenching story of bravery, love and sacrifice.’ For the Love of Books


‘I’m a huge fan of historical fiction and this one didn’t disappoint. I felt it was a good book about the horrors of wartime France.’Goodreads Reviewer

Read more
Collapse
3.0
2 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 19, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
403
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786819789
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Seller
Google Commerce Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Language: English (United States)All prices include VAT.
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.