The Babysitter: A gripping psychological thriller with edge of your seat suspense

· Bookouture
4.2
63 reviews
Ebook
362
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Oh my goodness I can finally breathe!! What an amazing, addictive, totally gripping read this was, I was absolutely hooked from the beginning… once you start this book you will not be able to put it down!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

You trust her with your family. Would you trust her with your life?

 

Mark and Melissa Cain are thrilled to have found Jade, a babysitter who is brilliant with their young children. Having seen her own house burn to the ground, Jade needs them as much as they need her. Moving Jade into the family home can only be a good thing, can’t it?

 

As Mark works long hours as a police officer and Melissa struggles with running a business, the family become ever more reliant on their babysitter, who is only too happy to help. And as Melissa begins to slip into depression, it’s Jade who is left picking up the pieces.

 

But Mark soon notices things aren’t quite as they seem. Things at home feel wrong, and as Mark begins to investigate their seemingly perfect sitter, what he discovers shocks him to his core. He’s met Jade before. And now he suspects he might know what she wants …

 

Mark is in a race against time to protect his family. But what will he find as he goes back to his family home?

 

If you loved reading The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister, you’ll love the suspense of The Babysitter. This unputdownable read will have you turning the pages until way after dark.

 

What readers are saying about The Babysitter:

 ‘Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! What a rollercoaster of a ride that story was, bloody brilliant! This story is jaw droppingly addictive, you won’t be able to put it down. Amazing. A well deserved five stars from me. It had me hooked, gripped and my heart pounding throughout. If you enjoyed The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl then this story is for you!’ Gemma’s Book Reviews ‘Had my blood boiling! … had me hooked, gripped and my heart pounding throughout … If you enjoyed The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl then this story is for you!' Between the Pages Book ClubWOW ... Stunning … Gripping, tense and suspenseful … There aren't many thriller authors who can grip the reader so powerfully, a heart in mouth and pulse racing realistic thriller … I loved it.' Goodreads Reviewer ‘Woah! This book was crazy good, talk about mind games! Wow, I feel out of breath after reading this! Absolutely sucked me in, I was totally captivated and couldn't put this one down … an incredible read … blew my mind.' Bonnie’s Book Talk 

WOW!!! What a story! From the first word I was dragged into the story … if you read the book, I am sure you will be in for a few hours on a rollercoaster of emotions. Enjoy!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

Sheryl Browne absolutely NAILED it with this book! I started reading telling myself I was just going to read one chapter. I ended up staying awake until 3am finishing this book in a single sitting.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Phew ... Goosebumps, shivers down my spine and the hairs on the back of my neck were standing on end, that's how good this book is. A well deserved 5 stars.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘I have spent the past few hours consumed by The Babysitter. I was about to turn off my Kindle and go to bed, but I couldn’t and just had to get it finished. It was such an addictive read that I couldn’t wait to see how it was going to end.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘Sheryl Browne has written a tense psychological thriller with a chilling antagonist taking central stage … a highly addictive read.’ The Book Review Café 

Fans of B.A. Paris and Ruth Ware will LOVE this book!Kelly Young Reads

 

‘If you enjoy films like The Hand That Rocks the Cradle you’ll love this.’ Nigel Adams Bookworm

4.2
63 reviews
Ellen Belhadj
May 24, 2018
This is a good and at times, and exciting story but I felt a bit disappointed that it was too predictable and I got bored in the middle and skipped to the end. The book is well written and the characters are quite believable.
10 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
May 26, 2018
Predictable From The Start
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
May 10, 2018
Mark, a detective, and his wife, Melissa, are happily married with 2 young children. They are both busy .. he with the homicides he investigates she with her sculpting business. Of course, it's usually Melissa that winds up changing her plans .... murder doesn't wait. A new neighbor watches one night as her house burns down. Mark saves the cat, but Jade is left with nothing more than what she's wearing. They take her into their home and she winds up being the babysitter... something that Mark and Melissa have discussed before. Things start changing .. Melissa starts slipping into depression. She is sleeping way too much..leaving her husband and children at Jade's mercy. Mark begins to realize that something isn't quite right with the babysitter.... and when he investigates, he discovers something that he never considered. Mark is in a race against time to protect his family. But what will he find as he goes back to his family home? This was a nice easy read ... suspenseful, yet more character driven. The reader knows from the beginning who the babysitter really is and why she does the things she does. The reader knows what the end game is. But it's the uncertainty of how she manipulates this family. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this psychological thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
13 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.