Drinking Midnight Wine

Jabberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
9
Free sample

There is a world beyond the world

It figures. Just when Bradfordian bookshop clerk, Toby Dexter, finally works up the nerve to talk to his secret crush, she darts into an open door. Toby follows, and in that second, everything changes. Though it still looks like Bradford-on-Avon, the town’s suddenly chatty ATM and river mermaids are the first clues that something is quite out of place—namely, Toby. The moment he stepped through that door, Toby entered the magical parallel world of Mysterie.

Our ordinary dimension—the one Toby knew as Bradford-on-Avon—is actually Veritie, a mere shadow of its alter ego, Mysterie, where magic and myth, gods and monsters, living legends and walking nightmares reign. And Toby isn’t the only recent arrival. A cunning and vicious demon—The Serpent’s Son—has returned to Mysterie, accompanied by a malevolent new ally, intent on bringing down both dimensions.

Toby can remain mortal, return to Veritie, and try to convince himself that he had a bad pint of bitter that night. Or he can stay in Mysterie, join forces with his new friends Leo Morn and his Brother Under The Hill, and try to stop The Serpent’s Son. The choices Toby makes will have dramatic consequences for both worlds. It may not be the first time Mysterie’s wars have spilled over into our reality, but if Toby fails, it could be the last.

Simon R. Green, New York Times bestselling author of the Deathstalker series and the Nightside series, brings his trademark wit and inventiveness to his beloved hometown of Bradford-on-Avon, in this charming standalone urban fantasy novel.
Read more
Collapse

More by Simon R. Green

See more
4.7
9 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Jabberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 28, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
279
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781625671028
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Paranormal
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR, ELLE CASEY, brings readers Book 6 in the YA Urban Fantasy WAR OF THE FAE Series.

[Formerly titled Clash of the Otherworlds, Book 2]

Jayne Sparks Blackthorn continues her journey as a changeling member of the Fae living in the Green Forest. Decisions have been made and the Fae Council has spoken. The chosen few must leave the Here and Now to undo the damage begun over a thousand years ago. Loyalties are questioned. Intentions are suspect. Angels and demons, witches and werewolves, pixies and elves. Everyone has a secret it seems, and the bridge between the Light and Dark lies squarely in the Gray.

Content Warning: Mild violence and significant foul language within. Meant for older Young Adult readers (age 15+).

WAR OF THE FAE SERIES READING ORDER
War of the Fae: Book 1 (The Changelings) **Free at most retailers**
War of the Fae: Book 2 (Call to Arms)
War of the Fae: Book 3 (Darkness and Light)
War of the Fae: Book 4 (New World Order)
War of the Fae: Book 5 (After the Fall) [Formerly titled Clash of the Otherworlds, Book 1]
War of the Fae: Book 6 (Between the Realms) [Formerly titled Clash of the Otherworlds, Book 2]
War of the Fae: Book 7 (Portal Guardians) [Formerly titled Clash of the Otherworlds, Book 3]
War of the Fae: Book 8 (Time Slipping)
War of the Fae: Book 9 (Dragon Riders) **Coming soon**
War of the Fae: Book 10 (Winged Warriors) **Coming soon**

HERE'S WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT WAR OF THE FAE, BOOK 6:
“Once again Elle Casey raises the bar. Just when you think it can't get any better you read the next book and are blown away.” ~ Jamie, Goodreads reviewer

“Completely addicted to this series. Another great story by Elle Casey. Once again Ms. Casey has deprived me of sleep by writing a story so intriguing that I read through the night.” ~ M. Palmer, Amazon reviewer

“Amazing book! Very hard to put down! A wonderful continuing to the series. But I was about to throw my Kindle clear across the room when I realized I was at the end. I wanted more. Elle Casey is an amazing author. And she is very good at her cliffhangers, she has a way of always making you want more. But that is the mark of only the best of authors. I look forward to her next...” ~ Kristal Coulter, Amazon Reviewer

“This book is laugh out loud funny...but I come to expect that from Elle (her humor and voice speak to me like a best friend)… I have recommended all of Elle's books, and if you read one and like her voice then I would tell you read them all! Thanks again, Elle, for the wild ride and the rush of adrenaline you provide on a regular basis.” ~ Tracey Murphy, Goodreads Reviewer

About this series: A reader fan recently set up a blog dedicated to casting the actors for the War of the Fae movie. No, it is not in production to be made into a movie, nor have I sold the rights to anyone for the movie. But just in case I ever do, my fans will be sure the casting director has a complete line-up ready! Check it out: ellecasey.com/WOTF_Movie

Kat Chanter isn't your ordinary girl. And she isn't your ordinary vampire, either. The ruthless Directorate would go to any lengths to have her power – including murder. And when that leads to a war between races, Kat's fate becomes the ultimate prize ...

Kat is done with being on the run, or so she hopes. A new pathology job in Paris is her big chance to start afresh, far from the Tabérin Directorate who want her dead. Sure, adjusting to life as a half-vampire, half-human hybrid poses its own challenges, but it's nothing Kat can't handle ... until the past starts to catch up with her.



Teenage loner Ben is also hiding his hybrid bloodlines and a troubled history with the Directorate. His growing involvement with Yara, the most popular girl in the senior class at his school, exposes secrets that place them both in mortal danger.



Because the Vodas, the all-powerful leader of the Directorate, has made eradicating hybrids like Kat and Ben his obsession. And as his methods grow more extreme, it's not just his own people, the vampiric Tabérin, who plot to overthrow him. Another ancient and arcane power stirs. One that could threaten them all ...



The covens are rising.



Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, Dark Child (Covens Rising) is the highly anticipated sequel to the best-selling urban fantasy novel Dark Child (The Awakening).



This is a full length novel. Dark Child (Covens Rising): Omnibus Edition bundles together Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episodes 1-5.



The next book in the Dark Child series is expected in 2015.



Recommended Dark Child reading order is:



Dark Child (The Awakening) Omnibus Edition



followed by



Dark Child (Covens Rising) Omnibus Edition

The hunger was worse every day, and now there was only a whisper-thin line holding her back from a dark red sea.

"You would feed me?" Her voice came out so husky and low that it was a wonder he heard her.

In Paris, Kat hears of horrifying events back in America. The leader of the Directorate is openly attacking those with mixed Tabérin and human blood. Hybrids like her. And chances are he'll be turning his attention to Europe next.



Kat knows she needs to go into hiding again. But then her Tabérin aunt, Akilina, reveals something about Kat's heritage that changes everything. If Akilina is right, the Directorate will stop at nothing until they have eradicated Kat and the threat she represents. No matter how many they have to kill to get to her...



As the threat from the Directorate intensifies, Ben and Yara barely escape America with their lives. But being trapped together on a boat bound for Europe could prove much more dangerous than anticipated. Because one of them is in transition, and needs to feed...



Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, Dark Child (Covens Rising) is the highly anticipated sequel to the best-selling urban fantasy novel Dark Child (The Awakening). This novella length episode is part three of five. All five episodes are also available from late August 2014 bundled as Dark Child (Covens Rising): Omnibus Edition.



Recommended Dark Child reading order is:



Dark Child (The Awakening) Episode 1

Dark Child (The Awakening) Episode 2

Dark Child (The Awakening) Episode 3

Dark Child (The Awakening) Episode 4

Dark Child (The Awakening) Episode 5



followed by



Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episode 1

Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episode 2

Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episode 3

Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episode 4

Dark Child (Covens Rising) Episode 5



OR Dark Child (The Awakening) Omnibus Edition



followed by



Dark Child (Covens Rising) Omnibus Edition

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.