Out with the Ex, In with the New: An utterly perfect feel good romantic comedy

· Bookouture
3.9
8 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! After months of struggling to find another author I love as much as I love Sophie Kinsella I have found her! Could not put this book down. Ending up sneaking a few lines in here and there, even in a lift whilst shopping!... Fab read, funny and LOL.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


You know when you sleep through your alarm, trip over running for the bus, and then someone points out that your dress is stuck into your hotdog-print knickers? That’s basically my life right now.


Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After twenty failed interviews she thought she’d got her dream job as a journalist – except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how awful things are.


Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails – and her old life seems like a distant memory.


But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle – and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things start to go wrong with Charlie. ‘Out with the old, in with the new’, the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?


This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a break-up or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable read which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

 

This book was previously published as the Truth About Gemma Grey.


Readers absolutely love Out with the Ex, In with the New:


Laugh-out-loud goodness!... If you are looking for something to devour over a few days check this one out!!... I could not stop reading.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


Perfect!... Lots of fun, lovable and well-drawn characters, witty and pacy. Read it in one sitting and now going to read the Sophie Ranald back-catalogue!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


Made me literally laugh out loud and I lost count of how many times I lol’ed!Steph and Chris Book Review


Oh my goodness, I enjoyed this book!... I highly recommend it!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


Loved it!!’ Goodreads Reviewer


Funny, relatable and just totally fabulous. I didn’t want to put it down.’ Beanie Bookworm, 5 stars

 

It’s a pure joy to read this.’ Goodreads Reviewer


Funny and addictive! Great read, glued to it! Looking forward to the next one!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


‘What a great read! Funny and timely.’ Tracy Bloom

 

I really really enjoyed this book… Lots of messages about loving who you are and not needing the approval of others. It’s a story about finding your own way and realising that sometimes dreams need to change and grow… Well done Sophie Ranald!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Such fun!... It gave me just what I was looking fora huge hug!’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘This is chick lit at its best!... Just read it for yourself!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

I really loved this book … I knew I would!’ Goodreads Reviewer


Fabulous!... Full of funny moments, girly moments, romance, wine, coffee, and cats. Can you go wrong with that combo? I think not!’ Goodreads Reviewer

3.9
8 reviews
Gaele Hi
December 30, 2019
Gemma is 24 and lives at home, but is hoping that will change with her new job and her now 4-year relationship. But, when her boyfriend trumps her news of a new job and the ability to move out of her mother’s house with his own plans to travel, without her but bringing his friend Olivia along, things take an unusual twist. With a new house share in London with a married couple and another single like her, she’s expecting great things – and along with her new job and new outlook, she’s going to put more emphasis on her vlog and see where that leads. Then the totally unexpected (to no one BUT her) letter from the boyfriend arrives, confirming he’s moved on without her – and she’s devastated. Taking to her vlog – she vents – and the vlog takes off. Gemma was more than a bit naïve and uncertain at first, and a bit star-struck when her vlog took off, with a few nicely placed warnings in actions about the lure and dangers of social media and deciding about motives when one is surrounded by other ‘influensters’ with big followings. Sure, with two boys that are interesting and only one seeming to share her ‘place’ in the vlogosphere, along with the ‘celebrity’ culture that is celebrated (or shot down) with the ‘ever on’ reality bent of the script – it’s going to take far more thought and consideration, and a removal of a bit of her innocence before she actually starts to grow and see potential – the real and the false – in her newly defined life. Heavily peppered with YouTube culture and references, the perils and alure of social media, and quite a bit of missteps from Gemma – it will take some unexpected events to be thrust in her face before her choices become clearly evident, and besides being a cause celeb for herself, she throws herself into a true cause that she cares about. Again, like Sorry not Sorry the promise of “laugh out loud” was a bit overstated, and this felt more chick lit than rom com – even with the happy for now ending. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
Out with the Ex, In with the New by Sophie Ranald Source: NetGalley and Bookouture Rating: 3/5 stars Gemma has three goals in life: 1) to marry her long-time boyfriend, Jack; 2) to land a job as a ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.