Halfway Home

Sisterhood of the Halfways

Book 2
Stef Nichols
Free sample

2# in the Sisterhood of the Halfways series

A modern novel for lovers of romance, mystery and home-cooked pizza

Emma White is a forty-something divorcee and single-parent. She lives in the sleepy Cotswolds village of Westwick, where she’s the life and soul of the place, running the parish council and loving every minute of it. But she’s also beginning to feel her age, and when her daughter goes off to college, Emma finds herself alone for the first time.

Then the fast-food chain Flyers announces plans to open a huge restaurant in the village, and her world is turned upside down. Westwick’s less affluent residents (including an ex-army war hero) are faced with eviction from their parish-owned homes, and Emma is powerless to stop it. A dirty war involving sabotage and corruption is being mounted for the heart of the village, turning old friends into enemies and threatening to destroy the place that she loves so dearly.

Someone, she begins to suspect, is pulling the strings illegally. And at the heart of it all is Joe Richards, an investor in the proposed new restaurant, and himself the single parent of a young daughter. He claims to have fallen in love with Westwick. But can he be trusted with her village, or with anything else?

Emma belongs to the Sisterhood of the Halfways, part support group, part rural mafia. The women of the Sisterhood focus on the good things in life: romance, moderately-priced wine, gossip, archery and cake. Particularly cake. And it is the Sisterhood that finally comes to her aid, giving her the strength to fight for what she believes in, and finding deep, enduring love along the way.

A mystery-romance with a backdrop of pizza-making, HALFWAY HOME is for readers of Joanna Trollope, Sophie Kinsella, Jojo Moyes and Alexander McCall Smith. Plus lovers of The Great British Bakeoff

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Stef Nichols was born in 1968 and grew up in England and Spain. She studied English Literature and Linguistics, and currently works as a college English teacher in Spain. Her passions are reading, travel, and her two sons. 

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Stef Nichols
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 1, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
210
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.