This Other Island: A heartbreaking and powerful book club read about race, identity and family

· Bookouture
4.0
1 review
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘Oh what a wonderful, heart breaking, stunning, beautiful story. This touched my heart, made me cry. Beautifully written. A masterpiece.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

St Lucia, 28 July 1961. The day my father and mother boarded a ship called the Carlotta C. The day my story began, the day my truth started to disappear…

 

When Yvette receives a call saying her estranged father, Joe, is fighting for his life in hospital, she rushes to his side. She’s determined to have him back in her life and to forgive him for walking out on her and her mother so many years ago. But when she arrives she doesn’t find the larger-than-life father she remembers. Joe seems broken; haunted by the past. So, when he begs Yvette to help him find the truth, she knows she must…

 

Since stepping off the ship that brought him with Yvette’s mother, Doli, from the sunny, picturesque island of St. Lucia, with its tranquil Caribbean seas and air fragrant with the scent of tropical fruits, to start new lives in a cold and unwelcoming Britain, Joe has carried a dark secret. For years, he’s believed he might have killed a man on the ship. A man who had had feelings for Doli too. A man who could perhaps help Yvette answer questions she didn’t even know needed answering. 

 

When she asks her mother for help with tracking him down, Doli is uncharacteristically quiet. Yvette wonders if finding the truth might break their relationship, but she can’t stop; daren’t let her papa down. As she sorts through old passports and shipping records, Yvette knows she has to unravel this secret history of love and betrayal, loyalty and sacrifice.

 

Will uncovering the truth tear their fragile family apart or bring them back together?

 

A heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.

 

Readers are loving This Other Island:

 

A beautiful debut… I was immediately swept up in the story and was totally captivated There is so much to love about this book, it’s heart-breaking at times, uplifting at others, and just so beautifully written. A stunning read about family, about home and about love, I enjoyed it from start to finish and didn’t want it to end.’ Sibbz Reads

 

What a beautiful book! I enjoyed the heck outta this one! The writing was flawless. Characters amazing! I loved the setting! I just absolutely adored this one.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘A powerfully written and deeply affecting debut novel about love, family and identity readers won’t forget in a hurry… A heart-wrenching and beautifully layered page-turner that is thought-provoking, immensely emotional and highly chargedWill break readers’ hearts and have them crying their eyes out.’ Bookish Jottings

 

This Other Island is a beautiful debut novel – masterfully written and enchantingBrought me to tears.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

FascinatingA beautiful story that captures your attention and your heart from beginning to end.’ Victoria Wilks

 

An emotional rollercoaster... Thought provoking… There were times where I laughed, others where I was quite shocked and others where I was tearful so this is definitely a roller coaster ride of thoughts and emotions… Overall an emotionally charged novel that will keep you hooked throughout.’ Bookworm86

4.0
1 review

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.