This Other Island: A heartbreaking and powerful book club read about race, identity and family

Bookouture
This book will become available on May 21, 2021. You will not be charged until it is released.

Then before I could ask any more questions, I was off, on my way to England, lost on a ship with others similar to me… And after fourteen days that felt like months – I was there, dressed in layers of clothes, thick socks and shiny new shoes, which didn’t take the cold away. So this was my strange new home…


When Yvette receives a call to say her estranged father Joe has been attacked in a seemingly random act of violence, she rushes to his side.


But when she arrives, she finds a man different to the larger-than-life father of her memories. Joe is broken, too scared to describe his attacker to the police, and seemingly haunted by memories of his past – memories he’s fought to suppress.


About the boat journey that brought him and his wife Dolina to their new home in a hostile and unwelcoming Britain – as part of the Windrush Generation. About the secrets left behind in St Lucia… And about the darkest secret of all – the one that he has carried with him since stepping off the boat that cool, wet August day.


As he fights for his life, he begs Yvette to find out what really happened on the last day of that crossing. Because, for forty years, Joe has believed that he killed a man. A man who had loved Dolina too. And who might hold the key to Yvette’s own story…


What follows is a heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. It will grip you, challenge you, and ultimately break you into a thousand pieces. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.

Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 21, 2021
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781800193611
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / African American / General
Fiction / African American / Historical
Fiction / African American / Women
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.