Black Dog

Cooper & Fry Mysteries

Book 1
Sold by Harper Collins
63
Free sample

Who killed Laura Vernon?

The helicopters are halted. The dogs are called off. The search for beautiful, teenaged Laura Vernon is over. Her body is found, mutilated, in the forest.

When he takes on the case, Ben Cooper is paired with a new partner: Diane Fry, a woman as tenacious as she is alluring. The two detectives are like fire and gasoline. But they must learn to work together to apprehend a killer who is hiding in plain sight.

This relentless, atmospheric thriller is perfect for readers of New York Times bestselling authors Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson, and for viewers of the hit TV series The Killing.

Read more
Collapse

More by Stephen Booth

See more
3.6
63 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Harper Collins
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 8, 2013
Read more
Collapse
Pages
544
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780062301963
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Blood on the Tongue is a complex, atmospheric police procedural perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

It's a new year for Peak District detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new murders to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter in Edendale, Derbyshire.

It isn't the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Cooper and Fry are put on the case but they have as much questions about the abuse the woman might have suffered in life as they do the circumstances of her death.

The unidentified body of a dead man is found by the roadside. And an intriguing young woman arrives in Edendale desperate to solve a decades old puzzle that has haunted her family: a Royal Air Force bomber crashed into Edendale, in the same spot where the frozen corpse was found, killing everybody on board except for the pilot, who supposedly walked away from the wreck and was never seen again.  With colds and flus and holiday plans thinning out the ranks of the Edendale police force, Cooper and Fry are scrambling to find an explanation for the two recent deaths while being pulled deeper into the mysteries of the past.

Rich with multiple intertwining mysteries, this Cooper and Fry thriller has all of psychological suspense and three dimensional characters that fans have come to expect from Stephen Booth—a master of his craft.

A deadly game of cat and mouse - and the police aren't the ones doing the hunting. A gripping new serial killer thriller from the bestselling author of Cry Baby

When police are called to a murder scene in the Liverpool suburbs, even the most jaded officers are disturbed by what they find.

DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case. But the police have no leads, except the body of the bird - and the victim's missing eyes.

And then the killer strikes again, and Cody realises the threat isn't to the people of Liverpool after all - it's to the police.

PRAISE FOR A TAPPING AT MY DOOR

'Cody is up there with the best in every sense . . . A thrilling series opener'
Weekend Sport

'A harrowing page-turner from a writer who seems to know your darkest fears. Terrific!' David Mark, bestselling author of Dark Winter

'The Liverpool setting makes for an interesting change, the characters are well drawn and the plot builds to a taut and tense conclusion. In all, a worthy addition to the annals of British detective fiction'The Sydney Morning Herald

'The best crime fiction novel I've read. It's an outstanding book, and it's one that I am going to be recommending to everybody' Book Addict Shaun

'A deliciously dark and compelling investigation . . . a well-executed thriller, with plenty of scope and a firm foundation for a projected series' Raven Crime Reads

'I was sucked in and had tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat. At other points, I just couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Jackson's writing is flawless' Rebecca Bradley, Murder Down to A Tea
In modern-day London, a descendant of the legendary founder of Communism is murdered, and two Scotland Yard sleuths are on the case.
 
A notorious curmudgeon, Detective Chief Inspector David Brock has his doubts about Detective Sergeant Kathy Kolla, a young neophyte to the legendary Scotland Yard, especially since her first case could have such daunting implications. Meredith Winterbottom, a great-granddaughter of Karl Marx and a longtime resident of Jerusalem Lane—a Dickensian section of London inhabited by Eastern European immigrants—is found dead in her apartment. Along with her two sisters and other Lane residents, she’d been seeing red over plans to gentrify their neighborhood.
 
The unofficial suspect, for now, is some money-hungry developer. But when a second Marx sister is murdered, Brock and Kolla fear that something even more sinister is unfolding. As they delve into the Lane’s eccentric melting pot, they discover revealing and previously unseen letters from Marx, a possible fourth volume of Das Kapital, a long list of suspects ranging from Meredith’s shady son to a Princeton professor to a Polish veteran of World War II—and a devious plot to make certain Kathy Kolla’s first case is her last.
 
“Intelligently devised and subtly plotted” (Dallas Morning News), this first book in the popular series was shortlisted for a Crime Writers Association award for Best First Mystery, and was hailed by the Providence Sunday Journal as a “beautifully crafted…stunning debut.” 
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.