Rain Down: A Crime Novella

SFA Books
Free sample

A man with no name hits the streets of Portland to find a friend he fears may have been killed for taking a stand.


By the author of the new novel The Preserve.


It's 2009, and the economy's falling apart. Formerly homeless, the no-name man owes what little he has to his friend Oscar. As a fellow day laborer, Oscar had always stood up for their rights--maybe one time too many.


Now he needs to find Oscar and soon, he realizes, or he just might take the rap himself. He dodges the cops, tries to save his drug-addicted ex, and discovers that a desperate condo developer and his wife are conspiring to cover up a tragic crime. To get at the whole truth he'll finally have to face his past, and accept who Oscar really was--only then can he reclaim his name and place in a harsh world.


Rain Down is hard-hitting crime noir with a heart, all in a compact novella totaling about 95 print pages.


This edition includes an excerpt of The Preserve: A Novel, published by Skyhorse Publishing, Inc.


Read more
Collapse

About the author

Steve Anderson is the author of the Kaspar Brothers novels (The Losing RoleLiberatedLost Kin) and other books. Under False Flags is the prequel to his latest novel, The Preserve. Anderson was a Fulbright Fellow in Germany and is a literary translator of bestselling German fiction as well as a freelance editor. He lives in Portland, Oregon. http://www.stephenfanderson.com

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
SFA Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 14, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
100
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Noir
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A German actor turned spy tries to escape a doomed secret mission behind enemy American lines at the height of WWII’s Battle of the Bulge.

 

By the author of the new novel The Preserve. 


In the final winter of the war a failed German actor, Max Kaspar, is forced to join an absurdly desperate secret mission in which he must impersonate an enemy American officer. So Max cooks up his own fanatical plan—he'll use his false identity to escape tyranny and war and flee to the America he'd once abandoned.


The Losing Role is based on an actual false flag operation during 1944’s Battle of the Bulge that's been made infamous in legend but in reality was a doomed farce. In all the tragic details and with some dark humor, this is the story of an aspiring talent who got in over his head and tried to break free.


Part espionage thriller, part expatriate noir and the first book in the Kaspar Brothers series, The Losing Role is the prequel to Liberated: A Novel of Germany, 1945—Max is the estranged older brother of German-American US Army captain Harry Kaspar in Liberated. The Kaspar brothers reunite in the third book, Lost Kin. 


This latest edition includes an excerpt of Liberated (Kaspar Brothers #2).



“The book’s pacing and dialogue are sharply turned ... Anderson skillfully portrays transformation in all of his characters.” —Historical Novels Review, Historical Novel Society 


“A touching yet painful story ... [Max] is human in the face of hardship and chooses to continue living, but on his own terms.” —Awesome Indies 


“A terrific book that deserves a wide audience. It is exciting and funny and keeps you thinking long after the action is over.” —Rose City Reader 


“Excellent dialogue, well-crafted characters, and enough dramatic tension to saw a Panzer in half.” —The New Podler Review of Books 


Awesome Indies Approved 

B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree 

Independent Novel Best of 2010, The New Podler Review of Books

‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.