Seeking Sara Summers - A Coming Out Later in Life Lesbian Novel

Wild Lily Arts
12

Was her life ever really fun? Was there ever any passion? Will she find the courage to change? Sara Summers Stanton has raised three children and works as a high school teacher at the same school she attended growing up. Her 25 year marriage is showing cracks in the facade and now she's dealing with breast cancer. In a rare moment of taking care of herself instead of everyone else, Sara takes a sabbatical and goes on the trip to Italy she has always dreamed of taking. This search for a more authentic life leads to Julia, a friend she hasn't seen since they were inseparable as girls, nearly 30 years earlier. They reunite in Florence and their friendship continues where they left off, resulting in an unexpected attraction to one another that threatens to turn Sara's already shaky world upside down. Sara's inner conflict and subsequent choices reveal an unpredictable yet dynamic future for all the characters. Seeking Sara Summers is an emotional and lyrical novel, a timeless story about love, commitment and transformation.  “Gabriel renders Sara’s growing attraction and conflict with insight. There is a real sense of what is at stake for all three of these characters: Sara, Julia and Grady. A beautiful and powerful story.” — Heather O’Neill, Book Reviewer, afterellen.com
Read more

About the author

Susan Gabriel is an acclaimed writer who lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Her novel, The Secret Sense of Wildflower, earned a starred review ("for books of remarkable merit") from Kirkus Reviews and was selected as one of their Best Books of 2012.

She is also the author of Temple Secrets, Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories and other novels. Discover more about Susan at SusanGabriel.com. 

Read more

Reviews

4.2
12 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Wild Lily Arts
Read more
Published on
Dec 10, 2012
Read more
Pages
195
Read more
ISBN
9780615222073
Read more
Features
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Lesbian
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Susan Gabriel
Whether you are new to writing or an experienced veteran, this wonderful book by acclaimed author Susan Gabriel will provide you with inspiration, writing tips and encouragement to get going again and keep going.

Here's what thrilled women writers are saying about this groundbreaking book:

"I will keep referring to this little gift of insight throughout the year. Thanks for the encouragement, the dose of reality, and most of all, the inspiration." - S. Evans

"...reflects in a sophisticated yet highly readable voice on many aspects of the writer's life. It will inspire many creative people, whether writers or not. The book definitely lived up to its title." - Krista L.

"Full of inspiration and pointers from Susan Gabriel and other authors to boost your creativity - it's an all-around excellent book - I'd highly recommend it!" - S. Burnside

"A ton of great tips and inspiration that often apply to life in general, as well as to writing....inspiration and enthusiasm to get you started." - S. Lunsford

In addition to sharing from her own experience as a writer for over 15 years, Gabriel also reflects on thoughts and experiences from a wide variety of writers and other inspiring people including Annie Dillard, Virginia Woolf, Harriet Tubman, Ursula Le Guin, Barbara Kingsolver, Kathryn Hackett, Hillary Clinton, Alice Munro, Jane Austen, Maya Angelou, Fran Lebowitz, Brene Brown, Emily Dickinson, Anne Tyler, Harper Lee, Elizabeth George, Anne LaMott, Nora Ephron, Gail Godwin, May Sarton, Willa Cather, Marianne Williamson, Carson McCullers, Sue Monk Kidd, Alice Walker, Louise Erdrich, Geena Davis, Martha Beck, Mary Oliver, Elizabeth Gilbert, Tina Fey and others.

You'll enjoy the wide ranging and inspiring essays, including:

Where ideas come fromThe art of "shitty" first draftsA lesson from Tina Fey101 excuses why people don't writeWriters who are also mothersKill your darlingsWhat writers can learn from coyotesIt's never too late to start your writing career... and much more.

Download Fearless Writing for Women right now and start getting inspired!

Susan Gabriel
Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed author, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and an Amazon #1 Bestseller).

In Savannah, Georgia, one woman holds all the secrets. When she dies of a possible voodoo curse, the secrets start coming out. The ghosts are upset. And for the Temple family women, everything is about to change forever.

Aristocratic, 80-year-old Iris Temple has a fondness for exotic meats and her poison-pen Book of Secrets keeps her family and all of Savannah’s elites in line. Shortly after Iris dies, compromising tidbits from the Book of Secrets are mysteriously published in the newspaper and the quiet lives of the Temple family women explode.

Iris’s estranged daughter, Rose, escaped to Wyoming 20 years ago and married a cowboy. Will she accept the outrageous terms of the will?

Queenie, Iris’s black half-sister, lives in the historic family mansion, suffering Iris’s arrogant ways as her personal assistant. After all she’s tolerated with Iris, will she inherit the mansion, as promised?

100-year-old Old Sally, who keeps the old Gullah traditions alive, is Queenie’s mother by her white employer, Iris’s father. For Rose, she is the mother Iris could never be. Did Old Sally put a voodoo curse on Iris?

When they discover who will inherit the historic family mansion and Iris’s multi-million- dollar estate, the whole boisterous business of secrets forces the women into challenging – and sometimes hilarious – situations as they put the past to rest and forge a brighter future.

Temple Secrets is Southern gothic fiction at its best. If you like strong women, plots full of twists and turns, characters who are funny and unpredictable, and sibling rivalry of biblical proportions, you’ll love Susan Gabriel’s rollicking tale of the cost of keeping secrets, the healing that comes with their exposure and the bliss of coming home again.

Buy Temple Secrets and start unlocking the mysteries today! 


“The secrets and lies of Savannah, Georgia’s upper crust come to light in Gabriel’s Southern Gothic novel. Gabriel unfolds her story deftly, with well-paced revelations about the complicated relationships between the mansion’s white and black inhabitants…Gabriel also evokes the Spanish moss–covered atmosphere of ghost-filled Savannah, and the Temple mansion in particular, with satisfying spookiness…The author’s thoughtfulness about masters and slaves, employers and servants, and family relations also contributes to a satisfying read. Savannah’s atmosphere, culture, and history flavor this engaging tale of intertwined families.” – Kirkus Reviews

©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.