Southern Secrets: Susan Gabriel Southern Fiction Box Set

Wild Lily Arts

Southern fiction lovers will enjoy this exclusive two book box set from acclaimed Southern author Susan Gabriel. It features two of her most popular novels, Temple Secrets and The Secret Sense of Wildflower (a Kirkus Review Best Book of 2012). Save 33% off the separate ebooks and 66% off the paperback prices! 

Temple Secrets

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews). 

Every family has secrets, but the elite Temple family of Savannah has more than most. To maintain their influence, they've been documenting the indiscretions of other prestigious southern families, dating as far back as the Civil War. When someone begins leaking these tantalizing tidbits to the newspaper, the entire city of Savannah, Georgia is rocking with secrets. 

The current keeper of the secrets and matriarch of the Temple clan is Iris, a woman of unpredictable gastrointestinal illnesses and an extra streak of meanness that even the ghosts in the Temple mansion avoid. When Iris unexpectedly dies, the consequences are far flung and significant, not only to her family—who get in line to inherit the historic family mansion—but to Savannah itself. 

At the heart of the story is Old Sally, an expert in Gullah folk magic, who some suspect cast a voodoo curse on Iris. At 100 years of age, Old Sally keeps a wise eye over the whole boisterous business of secrets and the settling of Iris's estate. 

In the Temple family, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a secret.

“The secrets and lies of Savannah, Georgia’s upper crust come to light in Gabriel’s Southern Gothic novel. Gabriel unfolds her story deftly, with well-paced revelations about the complicated relationships between the mansion’s white and black inhabitants…Gabriel also evokes the Spanish moss–covered atmosphere of ghost-filled Savannah, and the Temple mansion in particular, with satisfying spookiness…The author’s thoughtfulness about masters and slaves, employers and servants, and family relations also contributes to a satisfying read. Savannah’s atmosphere, culture, and history flavor this engaging tale of intertwined families.” – Kirkus Reviews

The Secret Sense of Wildflower

The Secret Sense of Wildflower earned a coveted Starred Review from Kirkus Reviews and was named by Kirkus as a Best Books of 2012. 

Set in 1940s Appalachia, The Secret Sense of Wildflower tells the story of Louisa May “Wildflower” McAllister whose life has been shaped around the recent death of her beloved father in a sawmill accident. While her mother hardens in her grief, Wildflower and her three sisters must cope with their loss themselves, as well as with the demands of daily survival. 

Despite these hardships, Wildflower has a resilience that is forged with humor, a love of the land, and an endless supply of questions to God, who she isn't so sure she agrees with. When Johnny Monroe, the town’s teenage ne’er-do-well, sets his sights on Wildflower, she must draw on the strength of her relations, both living and dead, to deal with his threat. 

With prose as lush and colorful as the American South, The Secret Sense of Wildflower is powerful and poignant, brimming with energy and angst, humor and hope. 

"A quietly powerful story, at times harrowing but ultimately a joy to read.” - Kirkus Reviews

Get two great southern novels for one great price!

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Susan Gabriel is an acclaimed writer who lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Her novel, The Secret Sense of Wildflower, earned a starred review ("for books of remarkable merit") from Kirkus Reviews and was selected as one of their Best Books of 2012.

She is also the author of Temple Secrets, Grace, Grits and Ghosts: Southern Short Stories and other novels. Discover more about Susan at SusanGabriel.com. 


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Wild Lily Arts
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 14, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
506
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / African American / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / Family Life
Fiction / Historical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.