Close to the Bone: An addictive crime thriller with edge-of-your-seat suspense

· Detective Megan Thomas Book 2 · Bookouture
4.6
13 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

‘Fast paced… I have to admit I struggled to put this book down, grabbing five minutes here and there just to finish it!… Fantastic read, would definitely recommend!’ Stardust Book Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Detective Megan Thomas’s latest case is far too close to home…


A woman is found on a beach, weeping over her missing child.


A businessman’s broken body is found on the floor of a luxury flat.


Detective Megan Thomas thought that moving to the beautiful coastline of Devon would be quieter than her undercover life in London. But the cases she’s working on prove that evil can strike anywhere, and she’s determined to put it right.


But when her sister is identified as a key suspect, Megan faces a terrible dilemma: her family, or the truth?


And when it seems the only way to find answers is to confront a killer, how much is she willing to risk? 


Fans of Ann Cleeves, Angela Marsons and Mari Hannah will be hooked by this incredibly gripping mystery thriller.


Readers love Susan Wilkins’ writing:


‘Absolutely brilliant!! From start to finish I was kept totally gripped. Full of twists and turns… Susan Wilkins is an amazing author and I can't wait for the next one.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Fast-paced, tightly plotted… Another dose of brilliant crime fiction. More please!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I found myself unable to tear myself away and as a consequence read it all in a single tense sittingBags of suspense and action wrapped up in a thrillingly plotted story’ Reader’s Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Gripped from start to finish… I am in awe.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Addictive and enthralling!… Devoured this book in just one sitting, it was that addictive.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I absolutely devoured Close to the Bonegripping, thrilling and draws you straight in… impossible to put down.’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘My favourite read of 2020… I was engaged from the very first chapterBrilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Well, another success by Susan Wilkins!!… an action-packed crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages.’ Bookworm86


‘Extremely compulsive… My attention didn’t waver for a second and I read it in one sitting’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Addictive, gripping, twisty… How this story unfolds is just brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Loved this… If you like Vera you will love this book. Brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ratings and reviews

4.6
13 reviews
Linda Strong
January 24, 2021
Detective Megan Thomas investigates the murder of a business man found in his office having massive head wounds. She's already making a list of people to question, when she's called into her super's office. She's being taken off the investigation ... not for anything she's done wrong ... but her sister is the prime suspect for the man's murder. Instead, she's given the task of working with a colleague who has been gone for many months due receiving care for cancer. He's also old school .. and really doesn't have much use for women in the workplace, especially if they outrank him. A woman has been sighted on the beach .. she speaks little English . .but makes it clear that her young son is missing. What starts at looking for the boy, it becomes apparent that she has been the victim of people who took a lot of money to get them to where she is. But somehow her son didn't make it. And when the two major cases start dovetailing, Megan finds herself caught between family ... and the truth. This is a well-written follow up to the first in this series. Easily read as a stand alone, I recommend reading them in order. The characters are deftly drawn and the backstories are intriguing. There's plenty of action .. plenty of suspects. Throw in a bit of suspense, a well thought out plot, and a little bit of romance and it's a winner. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?
brf1948
February 1, 2023
I received an electronic copy of this novel for 99 cents from Susan Wilkins and the publisher Bookouture. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read Close to the Bone of my own volition and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. I am always happy to see a Susan Wilkins novel come my way. She writes interesting, exciting police-procedural novels set in England with personable characters. Megan Thomas is a favorite of mine.
Did you find this helpful?
Marnie Harrison
September 10, 2020
Close to the Bone is the second instalment in the Detective Megan Thomas series and can be read as a standalone. I do recommend you reading the first, Buried Deep, not because you won’t be able to follow along, but because you will be missing out on another great read! For Detective Megan Thomas’ second outing, Susan Wilkins has made it personal when Megan’s sister Debbie, is questioned over the murder of her employer. But like all cases, nothing is as it seems and as the investigation deepens and a second body is found, a whole can of worms opens which brings with it police corruption, human trafficking and organised crime. The characters are first class and have been created so well. Megan as the main protagonist, really brings the series to life and I liked how we see more of a vulnerable side to her this time around and more of her relationship with Debbie. In saying that though, we still are shown her sassy side which I enjoy. The plot is strong and has been well researched and executed. There are no obvious plot holes and the two cases come together seamlessly leaving no loose threads. The story moves at a decent pace and with some red herrings, twists and turns and some surprises along the way, makes this such an enjoyable read. With only two books in, this is fast becoming one of my favourite series. Susan Wilkins really has created something great here and I hope there will be many books to come. It was my absolute pleasure to read and review Close to the Bone which I highly recommend. Thank you to Susan Wilkins, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of Close to the Bone which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.