Close to the Bone: An addictive crime thriller with edge-of-your-seat suspense

Bookouture
5
Free sample

‘Fast paced… I have to admit I struggled to put this book down, grabbing five minutes here and there just to finish it!… Fantastic read, would definitely recommend!’ Stardust Book Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Detective Thomas, we’ve brought your sister in for questioning. She’s our prime suspect.’


Detective Megan Thomas used to work undercover, in constant danger, unsure who to trust. Now she’s moved to the remote, wild coast of Devon to be with her family and learn to live without fear. At last, she can remember why she joined the police – to get justice and protect the innocent. But when her sister Debbie finds the broken body of local businessman Greg Porter, his hand reaching out as if to beg, Megan’s peace is shattered…


Porter’s wife and children don’t seem to care much about their loss, and everyone in their small seaside town knows his business dealings were shady. So Megan can’t understand why her colleague Jim Collins is so determined to prove Debbie did it. And why is Debbie acting so suspiciously? When she learns the secret Debbie’s hiding – a secret that could tear her family apart – suddenly Megan is the one with doubts. But is her beloved sister really capable of murder?


Megan’s boss won’t allow her to investigate, leaving Megan on the sidelines. Caught between her job and her family, Megan doesn’t know where to turn. She’s desperate to save her sister, but how far is she willing to go?


Then a surprise confession takes the case into even darker waters. Everyone who knew Porter seems to have a reason to lie – even some of the cops on Megan’s team. The only way Megan can find the truth is to risk everything by confronting a killer. But without knowing who to trust, she can’t be sure she’ll make it out alive…


Fans of Ann Cleeves, Angela Marsons and Mari Hannah will be hooked by this incredibly gripping mystery thriller.


Readers love Susan Wilkins’ writing:


Absolutely brilliant!! From start to finish I was kept totally grippedFull of twists and turns… Susan Wilkins is an amazing author and I can't wait for the next one.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Fast-paced, tightly plotted… Another dose of brilliant crime fiction. More please!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I found myself unable to tear myself away and as a consequence read it all in a single tense sitting… Bags of suspense and action wrapped up in a thrillingly plotted story’ Reader’s Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripped from start to finish… I am in awe.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Addictive and enthralling!… Devoured this book in just one sitting, it was that addictive.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I absolutely devoured Close to the Bone… gripping, thrilling and draws you straight in… impossible to put down.’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘My favourite read of 2020… I was engaged from the very first chapter… Brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Well, another success by Susan Wilkins!!… an action-packed crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages.’ Bookworm86


Extremely compulsive… My attention didn’t waver for a second and I read it in one sitting’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Addictive, gripping, twisty… How this story unfolds is just brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved this… If you like Vera you will love this book. Brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Read more
Collapse
4.4
5 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 8, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
332
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838885199
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.