Buried Deep: A completely gripping crime thriller with heart-stopping suspense

· Bookouture
4.5
8 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I found myself unable to tear myself away and as a consequence read it all in a single tense sittingbags of suspense and action wrapped up in a thrillingly plotted story’ Reader’s Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


On the first day in her new job, Detective Megan Thomas is called to a murder. The body lies deep in an underground bunker, in the middle of beautiful countryside. The two women in the nearest house claim to have no idea who it could be or who could have put it there. So why are they so nervous? And why does Noah, the young child living there, talk about a visitor he’s meant to keep secret?


Megan is determined to solve the case. She’s moved to Devon for a fresh start, after years spent undercover. But when she looks at the victim, it triggers a panic attack. As her heart races and her breathing stalls, she’s forced to ask whether she can return to life in a regular crime unit. Her memories are too powerful to be buried, maybe too powerful to let her do her job. But the need to find justice for the unnamed victim still drives her.

 

When another body is found on the stretch of beach where she swims every day, Megan realises that she is up against a truly vicious killer. Then Noah goes missing, and Megan finds herself in a race against time to save an innocent life. She won’t rest until she finds answers – no matter what it might cost her.


A completely gripping new series from bestselling author Susan Wilkins, introducing the tough and determined Detective Megan Thomas. For fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross and Mari Hannah, this will keep you hooked from the first page to the last.


What readers are saying about Buried Deep:


‘My favourite read of 2020… I was engaged from the very first chapterBrilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Extremely compulsive… my attention didn’t waver for a second and I read it in one sitting… keeps the interest and tension going with timely reveals, unexpected developments and a clever plot’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved the book and was gripped straight from the off. Susan’s a great writer, building up the tension nicely and giving a thumping action-packed ending that really delivers.’ Jessie Keane, author of The Knock


Addictive, gripping, twisty… how this story unfolds is just brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Thrillingwill have you gripped and enthralled right from the beginning… an addictive read’ Once Upon A Time Book Blog


One of the bestcompellingI loved this book.’ Nigeladamsbookworm, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I loved Buried Deep… a gripping plot that had me frantically flipping pages… If you haven't yet read this, you need to. An excellent start to a series that promises to be brilliant.’ Sandy’s Book A Day


Loved this… if you like Vera you will love this book. Brilliant’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brillianthad me hooked from the beginning’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Brilliant book in my opinion! I want to read more and dive into Megan's past… She fascinates me. 5 stars.’ B for Bookreview, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A terrific start to what promises to be an excellent new police procedural series’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Grippingtwists and turns and plenty of suspicious characters… Looking forward to reading more’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘A suspenseful fast paced thriller’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Murders, intricate plot, red herrings and twisted reveals… I knew I had a winner in my handsShalini’s Books & Reviews


Full of action and suspensehard to put down. Couldn't wait to find out what happened… Amazing.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.5
8 reviews
Xavier Hugonet
April 6, 2020
Damage Done is the first book in a new series by author Susan Wilkins, featuring DS Megan Thomas. Megan Thomas has been posted as DS in the Major Crime Team in South Devon, after a five years stint undercover for the London met. Although she has been awarded the Queen’s Police Medal, we get from the start that this mission ended badly for her, and she’s obviously damaged goods. Plagued with PTSD, she sees a therapist, and routinely swims in cold water in the mornings to be able to face her day. She got divorced not long after her return from her undercover job and is living with her sister and family. She feels lonely, with no partner, no friends, and no social life. She thinks that her time undercover made her forget how to be a detective, and basically ruined her life. Or, maybe that it wasn’t that great to begin with. How she sees herself is affecting her work, and even drives her to paranoia, especially as to how her colleagues see her. Back to back events send Megan and her team on two parallel investigations. A body is found in a septic tank on the property of a formerly famous actress, daughter of a renowned one. And, we witness a weird dynamic among this family, obviously hiding secrets. Then, comes an assault on a teenage girl whose family is as much dysfunctional, and whose a seemingly toxic relationship with a « BFF » classmate adds to the misery. Secrets seem to abound there, as well. Megan is comforted in her self depreciation when her DCI takes ownership of the murder investigation, and later brings a DI to supervise the team. They think Megan gets too much emotionally invested and fact is, they aren’t wrong. A large part of the book is a character study, and DS Megan Thomas is indeed an interesting character to get to know. However, this approach impairs the rhythm of the book at first. But, at the halfway point, a major twist makes the story shift gears, and it then becomes pretty much unputdownable. Ultimately, the investigations yield results, but the story doesn’t end there. Flimsy evidence, skilled lawyers, and shifty characters make it difficult for the team to close the deal, and this last part of expert police work makes for a very satisfying final act. Thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for the ARC provided in exchange for this unbiased review.
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
January 22, 2021
Detective Megan Thomas' first day on the job leads her to a body. Two women in the nearest house claim no knowledge of who this body was ..or how it got there. Both women are extremely nervous. Megan has spent years undercover .. and is paying for it, It cost her husband, her home, and she's been diagnosed with PTSD and sees a therapist to try to control the panic attacks. Being enclosed in a dark place and then seeing rats leads to one of her worst panic attacks ever. A few days later another body is found close to the beach where she swims daily. How are these murders connected? That's what Megan is determined to find answers before anyone else is killed. This is the beginning of what looks like an exciting new crime fiction series. Megan is not your run-of-the-mill detectives. She was once held prisoner by a psychopath who left her in a dark basement room to die. Somehow she escaped, but it left her with a lot of issues. Being brand new with department is a gift. Her previous supervisor went to great lengths to get her transferred ... and she's going to have to prove her worth in short order. Her colleagues are a diverse and intriguing bunch. I really enjoy how they all relate to each other. There's plenty of action from start to finish. The intricate plot holds varied suspects. The conclusion comes unexpectedly surprising. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?
Marnie Harrison
April 6, 2020
There is nothing like a new fresh series to sink your teeth into and Buried Deep fits the bill perfectly. Set against the beautiful landscape of Devon, Susan delivers a thrilling read that will have you gripped and enthralled right from the beginning. Susan has created a plot that had me instantly hooked. The story follows Detective Megan Thomas as she moves to Devon leaving behind a five year career which was spent working undercover for the Metropolitan Police. Now working for the regular crime unit, she is barely settled in on her first day, when she is called to the scene of a murder. But this triggers her to have a panic attack and with it brings back memories that leave her questioning whether she is able to do her job. When another body is found, Megan must pull herself together if she is to solve the crime and stop the killer before they strike again. I really enjoyed all the characters in the story and main protagonist Detective Megan Thomas makes for a great lead. She is tough but not without her own flaws and issues which are touched on briefly and I look forward to the layers being peeled back as we learn more about her. Buried Deep is an addictive read. It is well structured, has an interesting plot, well developed characters that Susan brings all together with writing that is fluid, engaging and captures the reader in its prose. A new author for me, Susan is now on my radar and I look forward to reading more books in this series in the future. It was an absolute pleasure to read and review Buried Deep which I highly recommend.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.