When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel

Bookouture
Free sample

The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her…


1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years.


Present day, London: When Sophie discovers a photograph of her great aunt Vivi from World War Two, it throws her into a world of confusion. Because, as she learns about this secret relative, she quickly realises that the photograph doesn’t fit with her family’s story. It shows Vivi leaving an address associated with a spy network in London – a place she had no reason to be – and it is dated right before she disappeared.


Meanwhile Sophie’s own life feels as blasted and bombed as the blitzed city in the photograph she’s looking at. Her beautiful daughter – as full of joy and wild energy as Vivi had apparently once been – is gone; and Sophie’s heart has been left broken into pieces.


Retreating to the family home in rural Cornwall to seek solace from her pain and the feelings of guilt that she could have done more to protect her daughter, Sophie finds herself becoming obsessed with Vivi’s life.


But nothing can prepare Sophie for what she is about to uncover – the story of a woman who risked everything for the person she loved the most; and a secret family history that could be the key to Sophie’s own future.


A powerful, haunting and unforgettable read about love, heartbreak and betrayal set in Second World War Britain and France. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Under a Scarlet Sky and My Name is Eva.


Readers love When We Were Brave:

Wow! Just wow! This book kept me on the edge of my seat right from the get-go!... [An] amazing story.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


‘Fantastic… Historical fiction at its best. Characters that you fall in love with, a story you will hate to end.’ NetGalley Reviewer

 

Totally captivating… About the bravery of the silent heroes of WWII, the secret agents who intercepted codes… A wonderful, compelling story that will grip you to the very end, it will break your heart but it will also leave you with a sense of gratitude for these selfless individuals. I can't stop thinking about this story.’ Krafti Reader, 5 stars


‘I [am] hooked on this FANTASTIC author. When We Were Brave is another OUTSTANDING piece of fantastic writing… I have nothing but total admiration.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Mesmerising and captivated me with every turn of the page… Absolutely heart-breaking… Filled with sadness, love, courage and sacrifice – I couldn’t put this book down.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

A heartbreaking tale of war, love, loss, betrayal and courage.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


Oh my goodness I loved this book!!!… A beautifully woven time-slip novel… This story and its characters will stay with me.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


I LOVED THIS BOOK!… Vivi is a fierce heroine and represents the bravery that everyone had to have during the war… I recommend this book to everyone that loves historical fiction.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars


‘A truly heartbreaking and inspirational read. I was gripped from page one and literally flew through the pages.’ Jaynie’s Book Reviews, 5 stars


After reading When We Were Brave [Suzanne Kelman] is officially added to my autobuy author list… For a book to bring tears to my eyes it has to be amazing... I highly recommend this one to anyone who loves WWII fiction and even those that normally do not… You will not be disappointed.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 24, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
335
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838882518
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / War & Military
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘Heart wrenching… I really struggled to put this book down, particularly the end of the book which I sat up until 2am reading and trying hard not to wake my husband with my crying!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


1941, Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. An unforgettable story of love, hope and betrayal, and a testament to the courage of humanity in history’s darkest days.


As Nazis occupy his beloved city, Professor Josef Held feels helpless. So when he discovers his former pupil Michael Blum is trying to escape the Gestapo, he offers Michael a place to hide in his attic.


In the quiet gloom of the secret room, Michael talks of his beautiful, fearless girlfriend, Elke. Michael insists that not even the Nazis will come between them. But Elke is a non-Jewish Dutch girl, and their relationship is strictly forbidden.


Josef sees the passionate determination in his young friend’s eyes. Furious with the rules of the cruel German soldiers and remembering his own heartbreak, Josef feels desperate to give Michael and Elke’s love a chance. But then tragedy strikes, and Josef is faced with an impossible choice.


In the dark days of war, with danger and betrayal at every turn, no-one can be trusted. If Michael is to survive and get back to the woman he loves, it will be down to Josef – to find the hero inside himself, and do whatever it takes to keep Michael alive.


Even if it means putting his own life in mortal danger.


A heartbreakingly beautiful story about courage against the odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, All The Light We Cannot See, and The Nightingale.


Readers are loving A View Across the Rooftops:

‘Oh my goodness... Hauntingly beautiful… Incredibly powerful… I cried, I grieved and I hoped… I was left both heartbroken and satisfied.’ Robin Loves Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Heart-wrenching… It is an emotional journey of heartache and love that will leave you in tears. One of the finest books I have ever read.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I’ve read many books on WW2… but I’ve never read one like this before. Mesmerising, emotional and beautifully written.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The rollercoaster of emotions I went through while reading this book is amazing… For an author to make me literally cry… The story is just incredible.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. From the first moment I started reading the story, I could not stop. I was captured… Made me feel like I was right there.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Oh my Goodness! What a wonderful book! There is so much love, hope, and fear as well. This is a book I will put back to read again, I enjoyed it so much. It is a book you can't put down.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘It brought me to tears… impossible for me to put it down. One of my best reads of 2019.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Took me on a rollercoaster of emotions – happiness, sadness, anger. This story made me cry and the writing style is amazing. An amazing book.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A beautifully written story of love, courage, self-sacrifice and determination… Such an emotional story and so different to others that I have read in this subject… [A] big fat 5 stars from me.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

From the dark days of WWII to present-day North Carolina, this New York Times bestseller shares the lives of two couples overcoming destructive secrets -- and finding joy together.Ira Levinson is in trouble. Ninety-one years old and stranded and injured after a car crash, he struggles to retain consciousness until a blurry image materializes beside him: his beloved wife Ruth, who passed away nine years ago. Urging him to hang on, she forces him to remain alert by recounting the stories of their lifetime together - how they met, the precious paintings they collected together, the dark days of WWII and its effect on them and their families. Ira knows that Ruth can't possibly be in the car with him, but he clings to her words and his memories, reliving the sorrows and everyday joys that defined their marriage.

A few miles away, at a local bull-riding event, a Wake Forest College senior's life is about to change. Recovering from a recent break-up, Sophia Danko meets a young cowboy named Luke, who bears little resemblance to the privileged frat boys she has encountered at school. Through Luke, Sophia is introduced to a world in which the stakes of survival and success, ruin and reward -- even life and death - loom large in everyday life. As she and Luke fall in love, Sophia finds herself imagining a future far removed from her plans -- a future that Luke has the power to rewrite . . . if the secret he's keeping doesn't destroy it first.

Ira and Ruth. Sophia and Luke. Two couples who have little in common, and who are separated by years and experience. Yet their lives will converge with unexpected poignancy, reminding us all that even the most difficult decisions can yield extraordinary journeys: beyond despair, beyond death, to the farthest reaches of the human heart.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.