Sweet Home Montana

Sweet Montana

Book 2
Lisa Mondello
10
Free sample

Dumped by a cheating husband, Katie Dobbs' life had gone off the rails and she is now back to square one, living in her parents' home in Sweet, Montana and working a job she hates. She refuses to stay in a dark and empty house as a constant reminder of her mistakes. So she did the only thing that made sense. She breaks into an old dilapidated chapel to figure out her next move, and is nearly arrested by Caleb Samuel, her brother's high school friend who is now a handsome police officer in town.

Caleb had heard Katie was having a hard time. Sweet was a small town and everyone knew everyone else's business. Except for one thing. No one knew where his sister Julie disappeared to 10 years ago and no one had heard from her since. Katie had been good friends with Julie before they'd both left Sweet. Now Katie is back. Buying a broken down chapel to renovate as a house is nuts when you don't know the difference between each end of a hammer. And Katie didn't. But she did know Julie, and maybe she'd be able to give him some insight into where Julie had gone. Caleb offers to help Katie renovate. But one problem after another threatens the project, and leaves Katie thinking she'll never realize her dreams. Until she realizes she's falling in love with her brother's friend. Even as everything seems to be falling apart around them, can love help heal their hearts?

Excerpt:
Katie sat in one of the pews in the back of the chapel and thought about how her life had gone off the rails. She rubbed her fingers together as she laid them on her lap and tried to ward off the bitter Montana cold. A gust of wind swept into the building, making a sudden chill race through her body. It was probably the flimsy plywood door she’d pulled away from the wall.
But then a beam of light swept through the chapel, illuminating features she couldn’t see in the dark until the beam of light landed on her. She quickly turned and saw the stark light source but did not see the person holding the flashlight as they moved through the open door and into the chapel.
“Katy Dobbs? What on earth are you doing in here?"
Katie shielded her eyes with her fingers. "Do I know you?"
The man’s low chuckle sounded familiar, but she still couldn't place it.
“I hope so. I've known you and your brother practically my entire life.”
He dropped the flashlight enough so that it wasn't shining in her eyes directly. She squinted her eyes and looked at the man's silhouette.
“Caleb? Caleb is that you?”
”You were the last person I expected to find in here.”
Read more
Collapse

More by Lisa Mondello

See more
From New York Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author, Lisa Mondello... a contemporary western romance featuring those hot Texas cowboys and the women who tame them in her popular romance series TEXAS HEARTS

Ever since Mitch Broader set foot in Texas, he dreamed of owning his own ranch. Now that he's bought a share in the Double T Ranch, he's one step closer to the dream. Then his past greets him in the form of a baby basket, complete with infant and birth certificate naming him as the father. He can't change diapers and work toward his dream at the same time.

When Sara Lightfoot, "Miss Hollywood" in Mitch's eyes, rescues him with her particular knack for handling his precocious son, he hires her on the spot as a temporary nanny. No matter how much Sara's dark eyes and warm heart make this bachelor think of making their arrangement permanent, she's made it perfectly clear she has other plans that don't include him or his dreams.

Sara Lightfoot never thought she'd return to her home on the reservation. Now she plans to go back to the reservation as a Native American storyteller, teaching the Apache children stories of their culture. She didn't expect Mitch Broader's sexy smile or job offer as a live-in nanny to derail those plans. After all she's been through to come home, can she open up her heart once again to love?

 Texas Hearts:

Her Heart for the Asking (currently free), His Heart for the Trusting, The More I See, Gypsy Hearts, Leaving Liberty, His Texas Heart, The Wedding Dress, Lone Star Lady, Under a Texas Star


Fans of Debbie Macomber and Sherryl Woods will enjoy the Texas Hearts Series.

Keywords: western romance, contemporary romance, small-town romance, family sagas, lost loves, second chance romance, rodeo, cowboy, Texas Romance, Texas Ranger, lawman, rancher, wedding, secret baby

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lisa Mondello, book 6 of the popular DAKOTA HEARTS western romance series.

Ian McKinnon was just getting steady on his feet, looking forward to the opening of the Wounded Veterans Center and a big McKinnon wedding celebration, when tragedy struck again. The soldier who'd saved his life while in the military has died. He's charged with his most important mission: find his friend Carlos's family in Mexico or become guardian and raise Carlos's children. The only mandatory stipulation of his friend's will was that Ian live under the same roof with Abby Townsend, a firefighter from Carlos's firehouse. Abby knew the kids well and she could help ease them all through the transition of becoming a family. Okay, so Ian may not be daddy material, but he'd grown up with a whole lot of McKinnons running around. He could handle the kids just fine. The beautiful Abby Townsend was another story.

Abby took one look at Ian and shook her head with utter disbelief. What were her dear friends thinking by naming a man whose nickname was "The Hazard" as guardian of their three small children? She only needed to spend one year in Ian's house in South Dakota. She had to either find Carlos's family, or convince Ian that she was the better person to raise the children. Abby knows how hard it is to lose someone you loved. She'll be there to protect the children in any way she can. But can she protect her heart from falling in love with a man known for taking too many risks...and risk heartbreak again?

DAKOTA HEARTS series:

Book 1 - Her Dakota Man

Book 2 - Badland Bride

Book 3 - Dakota Heat

Book 4 - Wild Dakota Heart

Book 5 - His Dakota Bride

Book 6 - Dakota Wedding

Book 7 - His Dakota Heart

Book 8 - Dakota Cowboy

Book 9 - One Dakota Night

Book 10 - Dakota Homecoming

Book 11 - Dakota Blues

Book 12 - Dakota Fire

Book 13 - Dakota SEAL

If you're a fan of western romance, contemporary romance, stories full of angst and emotion, and sexy cowboy and military heroes, then you'll enjoy the Dakota Hearts, Texas Hearts and Fate with a Helping Hand series of romance novels.

4.4
10 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Lisa Mondello
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 2, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
190
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781940512341
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / Western
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A totally emotional, gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.


Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away…


As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included a bucket list Hallie wrote as a child, for Hallie to complete. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. All the time her childhood best friend Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side.


Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along...


Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything.


Will Hallie be able to fulfill Aunt Clara’s last wish and change her life? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to experience true love?


Why readers are falling in love with Summer at Firefly Beach:


‘I fell in love with this book from the very first page… simply beautiful and if you are a romance fan then this is one not to be missed. I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Amazingly heartfelt and emotional. It's not often that I come across a story that completely moves me to tears, but my gosh has the wonderful talented author Jenny Hale gone and done just that… Absolutely delightful.’ Mixing Reality With Fiction, 5 stars


‘So good I couldn’t put it down! I LOVED Ben and Hallie’s relationship so much… Go grab yourself a copy you won’t regret it!!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This novel is honestly the perfect summer beach read… positive and uplifting… Also, Hallie and Ben? I’m obsessed. I loved their chemistry so much, I could not put the book down because I just HAD to know if they were going to end up together or not!’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I am a HUGE fan of Jenny's work and I love her summer books… Ben is perfect. Oh man... I fell hard and fast for him…*Swoon*… This book is the perfect beach read… Grab a copy and curl up with a nice cup of tea (or wine! Wine is good!) and just escape to the beauty of Firefly Beach!’ Starcrossed Reviews


‘Oh how I love this book, and I cannot say enough good things about it… This is the perfect book for summer!... it will leave you with a humongous smile on your heart!’ Kristin’s Novel Café, 5 stars


‘Grab the tissues, curl up on your favourite chair, set aside a reading day and indulge in the new Jenny Hale book. I absolutely adored this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A beautiful love story… I stayed up way too late to finish!... I could envision this beautiful beach town as if I was there… The end is pure perfection.’ Goodreads reviewer


©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.