Complete Poems and Plays, 1909-1950

Sold by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Free sample

The most discussed poet of our time, T. S. Eliot is perhaps also the most important figure in the modern poetic tradition. "In ten years’ time," wrote Edmund Wilson in Axel’s Castle, "Eliot has left upon English poetry a mark more unmistakable than that of any other poet writing in English." In 1948 Mr. Eliot was awarded the Nobel Prize "for his work as a trail-blazing pioneer of modern poetry." This book is made up of six individual titles: Four Quartets, Collected Poems: 1909-1935, Murder in the Cathedral, The Famiyl Reunion, Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats, and The Cocktail Party. For enjoyment of one of the great poetic talents in contemporary literature and for a deeper understanding of such classics as "The Waste Land," "The Hollow Men," "Ash Wednesday," "Prufrock," "Murder in the Cathedral," and "The Cocktail Party," The Complete Poems and Plays of T. S. Eliot is indispensable.
Read more

About the author

THOMAS STEARNS ELIOT was born in St Louis, Missouri, in 1888. He moved to England in 1914 and published his first book of poems in 1917. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1948. Eliot died in 1965.

Read more
2 total

Additional Information

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Read more
Published on
Feb 11, 2014
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Drama / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Literary Criticism / American / General
Poetry / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, King Lear, Hamlet, and Macbeth — the works of William Shakespeare still resonate in our imaginations four centuries after they were written. The timeless characters and themes of the Bard’s plays fascinate us with their joys, struggles, and triumphs, and now they are available in a single volume for Shakespeare fans. This edition of William Shakespeare's works includes all of his poems and plays in an elegant manner which makes it the perfect gift for any lover of literature — a book to read and treasure! Whether for a Shakespeare devotee or someone just discovering him, this is the perfect place to experience the drama of Shakespeare's words. It is one of the most authoritative editions of Shakespeare's Complete Works.

This ebook contains Shakespeare's complete plays and complete poems in a new, easy-to-read and easy-to-navigate format. This is the most reader-friendly introduction to Shakespeare available today. 'The Complete Works of William Shakespeare' collects all thirty-seven of the immortal Bard's comedies, tragedies, and historical plays in a Collectible Edition. This volume also features Shakespeare's complete poetry, including the sonnets. With this beautiful Collectible Edition, you can enjoy Shakespeare's enduring literary legacy again and again.

This collection features the following works:
A Midsummer Night’s Dream
All’s Well that Ends Well
Antony and Cleopatra
As You Like It
The Comedy of Errors
Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
Julius Caesar
King Henry the Eighth
King Henry the Fifth
King Henry the Fourth, the First Part
King Henry the Fourth, the Second Part
King Henry the Sixth, the First Part
King Henry the Sixth, the Second Part
King Henry the Sixth, the Third Part
King John
King Lear
King Richard the Second
King Richard the Third
Love’s Labour’s Lost
Measure for Measure
The Merchant of Venice
The Merry Wives of Windsor
Much Ado About Nothing
Othello, the Moor of Venice
Pericles, Prince of Tyre
Romeo and Juliet
The Taming of the Shrew
The Tempest
Timon of Athens
Titus Andronicus
Troilus and Cressida
Twelfth Night; or, What You Will
The Two Gentlemen of Verona
The Winter’s Tale

The Sonnets
A Lover’s Complaint
The Passionate Pilgrim
The Phoenix and the Turtle
The Rape of Lucrece
Venus and Adonis

(The Complete Works of William Shakespeare by William Shakespeare, 9789380914831)
Kumpulan esai mengenai masalah kepengarangan yang ditulis oleh 15 sastrawan dan filsuf. Mereka adalah RM Rilke, TS Eliot, Helena Cixous, Virginia Woolf, M Sandra, Gibert dan Susan Gubar, F Nietzsche, R Descartes, ED Hirsch, S Freud, Simone de Beauvoir, R Barthes, JP Sartre, dan M Foucault. Esai-esai itu dikumpulkan oleh Toeti Heraty, filsuf, budayawan, penyair, dan feminis, yang pernah menjadi Rektor Institut Kesenian Jakarta (IKJ) tahun 1990-1996 dan pengurus Yayasan Kesenian Jakarta. Tujuannya adalah untuk menampilkan peran para pengarang dalam teori sastra maupun filsafat.
Esai-esai mengenai kepengarangan itu ditampilkan dalam empat bagian.

Pada bagian pertama, pengarang ditampilkan sebagai sosok agung. Hal ini ditegaskan oleh RM Rilke, TS Eliot, dan Nietzsche, yang mengungkapkan keistimewaan pengarang karena gejolak kreatifnya. Sedangkan pada bagian kedua, ditunjukkan bahwa sumber kreativitas dan interpretasi pengarang muncul dari dunia batinnya. Ini diungkapkan oleh Descartes, Hirsch, dan Freud.

Bagian ketiga agak lain. Di sini, Toeti Heraty mengumpulkan esai dari para pengarang perempuan. Dikatakannya, suara kaum perempuan terkadang hanya tersembunyi di pojok sejarah. Hal itu misalnya yang digambarkan dalam tulisan Sandra, Gilbert dan Susan Gubar. Sementara Simone Beauvoir, Woolf, dan Cixous, lebih memaparkan kreativitas beserta kendala-kendalanya dan "ruang pribadi" kepengarangan kaum perempuan.

Pada bagian keempat, melalui tulisan Roland Barthes, Sartre, dan Foucault, dipaparkan masalah surutnya peran pengarang. Perubahan-perubahan dalam masyarakat dapat membuat pengarang lenyap, fiksi dan polisemi telah berfungsi tanpa kita bertanya akan keaslian maupun orisinalitas.

Toeti Heraty sendiri berpihak pada kehidupan pengarang dan bukan kematiannya.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.