Hate You Can Trust: Another Dance Around the Maypole With The Klute

Brick Cave Books
Free sample

Another collection of poetry from The Klute, featuring:
Love Letter to Former Alaska Governor Sarah Palin
2012
The Merit Badge of Pain
Adam and Steve
Burn Wall Street Burn
Madman
Hip-Hop Republican
Fun for the Whole Family
Leprechaun’s Wake
A Warning to Levi Johnston from the Colonists of LV-426

With a forward by The Monarch lot's of rambling, the Klute's poetic satirical pen is as sharp as ever, and no one is spared in this latest collection.

From the author:
"Salvador Dalí once said 'The sole difference between myself and a madman is the fact that I am not mad!' Consider this work my clutch at sanity, a pop-culture surrealist attempt to reconcile the monstrosity that is American culture with the beauty it can produce. Hatred in poetry, laughter in the face of incredibly banal nightmares. That’s all delightfully pretentious, isn’t it?" 
Read more
Collapse

About the author

The Klute (known to the government as Bernard J. Schober) is a southern Arizona slam poet who combines pop-culture saturation with punk rock sensibility to try to make you laugh, get angry, and think (not necessarily in that order). He’s been a member of 4 National Poetry Slam teams from Mesa, AZ (2002-2003, 2005-2006) and traveled the United States and Canada for his “One Foot in the Grave” spoken word tour. Prior published works include 2002’s “Escape Velocity” (mercifully out of print), and 2005’s “Look at What America Has Done to Me” (on its 9th printing – it’s just that good!). He’s performed for the president of the American Communist Party and has broken bread with Republican lawmakers. He believes in God, the 1st Amendment, and the Bermuda Triangle, and once performed a poem outside the White House gates under the watchful eyes of Secret Service snipers.  

Website: http://theklute.livejournal.com/
Twitter: @the_klute
Facebook: Facebook profile


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Brick Cave Books
Read more
Collapse
Pages
41
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Humor / General
Literary Criticism / Subjects & Themes / Politics
Poetry / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The USA Today Bestseller from the Executive Producer of the hit Netflix series House of Cards.

A dark tale of greed, corruption, and unquenchable ambition, House of Cards reveals that no matter the country, politics, intrigue and passion reign in the corridors of power.

Francis Urquhart has his hand on every secret in politics-and is willing to betray them all to become prime minister.

Mattie Storin is a tenacious young reporter who has a knack for finding the real stories hidden behind the spin. When she stumbles upon a scandalous web of intrigue and financial corruption at the very highest levels, she vows to reveal the truth. But to do so she must battle her own demons and risk everything, even her life.

An explosive political thriller reinvented for a new generation. Fans of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci and Robert Ludlum will revel in getting to know Francis Urquhart, the man we love to hate.

As a former advisor to Margaret Thatcher, Conservative Party Chief of Staff, and now peer of the realm and Conservative member of the House of Lords, Baron Dobbs provides an insider look at the twists and turns of British politics.

Other books in the House of Cards series:
House of Cards, Book 1 The dark, twisting schemes of a politician determined to succeed
To Play The King, Book 2 Newly elected Prime Minister plots to take on the Monarchy to grab even more power
The Final Cut, Book 3 The perfect finale to this twisted trilogy, Urquhart refuses to close his career quietly

What readers are saying about House of Cards:

"the best of modern political fiction. The reader can't help but be riveted by the lead character, even hoping for his sinister plots to succeed."

"fast-paced and interesting. I couldn't put the book down"

"wonderful and extremely...one of the most memorable and unashamedly wicked characters in political fiction."

What reviewers are saying about House of Cards:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

'The exciting thriller that has Westminster buzzing. Here is a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government.' - Daily Express

'It has pace, a beguiling authenticity and a cast of Achilles heels.' - Daily Telegraph

What everyone is saying about the House of Cards books:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

"...a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government." - Daily Express

"If you are a fan of the modern TV series than you should definitely pick up these books."

"Michael Dobbs has an uncanny knack of forecasting the future. A fascinating read and a conclusion that would send a chill through Buckingham Palace." - Sunday Express

The #1 International Bestseller from the Executive Producer of the hit Netflix series House of Cards.

Francis Urquhart is back and the newly elected Prime Minister continues his climb to power. This time he will take on the King himself, threatening to expose Royal secrets. This game is winner-takes-all, but who will walk away the victor?

The role of the monarchy in modern Britain comes under scrutiny as Prime Minister Francis Urquhart threatens to expose Royal secrets when his plans are blocked by the idealistic new King. Their differences of opinion quickly degenerate into open hostility.

The battlefield ranges from architecture to the underprivileged; the battle is fought with rigged opinion polls, manipulated newspaper headlines, sexual scandal and economic brinkmanship as Urquhart sets out to destroy not only the King's family and friends but even the King himself.

Continuing the dark tale of greed, corruption, and unquenchable ambition, To Play the King reveals that no matter the country, politics, intrigue and passion reign in the corridors of power. An explosive political thriller, fans of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci and Robert Ludlum will enjoy this second tale of Urquhart's intrigues and schemes.

As a former advisor to Margaret Thatcher, Conservative Party Chief of Staff, and now peer of the realm and Conservative member of the House of Lords, Baron Dobbs provides an insider look at the twists and turns of British politics.

Other books in the House of Cards series:
House of Cards, Book 1 The dark, twisting schemes of a politician determined to succeed
To Play The King, Book 2 Newly elected Prime Minister plots to take on the Monarchy to grab even more power
The Final Cut, Book 3 The perfect finale to this twisted trilogy, Urquhart refuses to close his career quietly

What readers are saying about House of Cards:

"Engrossing, brilliantly written, fast moving political drama."

"Superb trilogy of political ruthlessness"

"great read and an uncanny look at British politics from an ex politician. Buy it and get hooked."

"Engaging and fun to read with all the drama expected from Dobbs."

"Full of intrigue and manipulation. The Machiavellian Prime Minister pitted against the Monarchy in a bitter fight to the death."

"an explosive end and full of intrigue, both political and personal."

"a masterful performance"

"If you are a fan of the modern TV series than you should definitely pick up these books."

What reviewers are saying about House of Cards:

'Michael Dobbs has an uncanny knack of forecasting the future. A fascinating read and a conclusion that would send a chill through Buckingham Palace.' - Sunday Express

'With a friend like Michael Dobbs, who needs enemies? A good romp, and gloriously cheeky. Dobbs' books grab because of their authenticity - the man knows his stuff.' - The Times

'Rattles along from scandal to scandal...excellent entertainment.' - Mail on Sunday

What everyone is saying about the House of Cards books:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." -The Independent

"...a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government." - Daily Express

"If you are a fan of the modern TV series than you should definitely pick up these books."

"Michael Dobbs has an uncanny knack of forecasting the future. A fascinating read and a conclusion that would send a chill through Buckingham Palace." - Sunday Express

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.