Hate You Can Trust: Another Dance Around the Maypole With The Klute

Brick Cave Books
Free sample

Another collection of poetry from The Klute, featuring:
Love Letter to Former Alaska Governor Sarah Palin
2012
The Merit Badge of Pain
Adam and Steve
Burn Wall Street Burn
Madman
Hip-Hop Republican
Fun for the Whole Family
Leprechaun’s Wake
A Warning to Levi Johnston from the Colonists of LV-426

With a forward by The Monarch lot's of rambling, the Klute's poetic satirical pen is as sharp as ever, and no one is spared in this latest collection.

From the author:
"Salvador Dalí once said 'The sole difference between myself and a madman is the fact that I am not mad!' Consider this work my clutch at sanity, a pop-culture surrealist attempt to reconcile the monstrosity that is American culture with the beauty it can produce. Hatred in poetry, laughter in the face of incredibly banal nightmares. That’s all delightfully pretentious, isn’t it?" 
Read more
Collapse

About the author

The Klute (known to the government as Bernard J. Schober) is a southern Arizona slam poet who combines pop-culture saturation with punk rock sensibility to try to make you laugh, get angry, and think (not necessarily in that order). He’s been a member of 4 National Poetry Slam teams from Mesa, AZ (2002-2003, 2005-2006) and traveled the United States and Canada for his “One Foot in the Grave” spoken word tour. Prior published works include 2002’s “Escape Velocity” (mercifully out of print), and 2005’s “Look at What America Has Done to Me” (on its 9th printing – it’s just that good!). He’s performed for the president of the American Communist Party and has broken bread with Republican lawmakers. He believes in God, the 1st Amendment, and the Bermuda Triangle, and once performed a poem outside the White House gates under the watchful eyes of Secret Service snipers.  

Website: http://theklute.livejournal.com/
Twitter: @the_klute
Facebook: Facebook profile


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Brick Cave Books
Read more
Collapse
Pages
41
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Humor / General
Literary Criticism / Subjects & Themes / Politics
Poetry / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The USA Today Bestseller from the Executive Producer of the hit Netflix series House of Cards.

A dark tale of greed, corruption, and unquenchable ambition, House of Cards reveals that no matter the country, politics, intrigue and passion reign in the corridors of power.

Francis Urquhart has his hand on every secret in politics-and is willing to betray them all to become prime minister.

Mattie Storin is a tenacious young reporter who has a knack for finding the real stories hidden behind the spin. When she stumbles upon a scandalous web of intrigue and financial corruption at the very highest levels, she vows to reveal the truth. But to do so she must battle her own demons and risk everything, even her life.

An explosive political thriller reinvented for a new generation. Fans of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci and Robert Ludlum will revel in getting to know Francis Urquhart, the man we love to hate.

As a former advisor to Margaret Thatcher, Conservative Party Chief of Staff, and now peer of the realm and Conservative member of the House of Lords, Baron Dobbs provides an insider look at the twists and turns of British politics.

Other books in the House of Cards series:
House of Cards, Book 1 The dark, twisting schemes of a politician determined to succeed
To Play The King, Book 2 Newly elected Prime Minister plots to take on the Monarchy to grab even more power
The Final Cut, Book 3 The perfect finale to this twisted trilogy, Urquhart refuses to close his career quietly

What readers are saying about House of Cards:

"the best of modern political fiction. The reader can't help but be riveted by the lead character, even hoping for his sinister plots to succeed."

"fast-paced and interesting. I couldn't put the book down"

"wonderful and extremely...one of the most memorable and unashamedly wicked characters in political fiction."

What reviewers are saying about House of Cards:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

'The exciting thriller that has Westminster buzzing. Here is a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government.' - Daily Express

'It has pace, a beguiling authenticity and a cast of Achilles heels.' - Daily Telegraph

What everyone is saying about the House of Cards books:

"This blood and thunder tale, lifelike and thoroughly cynical, certainly carries the ring of authenticity....a great triumph." - The Independent

"...a political thriller writer with a marvellous inside track knowledge of government." - Daily Express

"If you are a fan of the modern TV series than you should definitely pick up these books."

"Michael Dobbs has an uncanny knack of forecasting the future. A fascinating read and a conclusion that would send a chill through Buckingham Palace." - Sunday Express

"A must-read for this era.”—Jake Tapper, CNN Anchor and Chief Washington Correspondent 

An insightful, urgent, and perennially relevant handbook that lays out in common sense language how the United States Constitution works, and how its protections are eroding before our eyes—essential reading for anyone who wants to understand and parse the constantly breaking news about the backbone of American government.

The Constitution is the most significant document in America. But do you fully understand what this valuable document means to you? In How to Read the Constitution--and Why, legal expert and educator Kimberly Wehle spells out in clear, simple, and common sense terms what is in the Constitution, and most importantly, what it means. In compelling terms and including text from the United States Constitution, she describes how the Constitution’s protections are eroding—not only in express terms but by virtue of the many legal and social norms that no longer shore up its legitimacy—and why every American needs to heed to this “red flag” moment in our democracy.

This invaluable—and timely—resource includes the Constitution in its entirety and covers nearly every significant aspect of the text,  from the powers of the President and how the three branches of government are designed to hold each other accountable, to what it means to have individual rights—including free speech, the right to bear arms, the right to be free from unreasonable searches and seizures, and the right to an abortion. Finally, the book explains why it has never been more important than now for all Americans to know how our Constitution works—and why, if we don’t step in to protect it now, we could lose its protections forever.

How to Read the Constitution--and Why is essential reading for anyone who cares about maintaining an accountable government and the individual freedoms that the Constitution enshrines for everyone in America—regardless of political party.

Keywords: The New Language of Capitalism chronicles the rise of a new vocabulary in the twenty-first century. From Silicon Valley to the White House, from kindergarten to college, and from the factory floor to the church pulpit, we are all called to be innovators and entrepreneurs, to be curators of an ever-expanding roster of competencies, and to become resilient and flexible in the face of the insults and injuries we confront at work. In the midst of increasing inequality, these keywords teach us to thrive by applying the lessons of a competitive marketplace to every sphere of life. What’s more, by celebrating the values of grit, creativity, and passion at school and at work, they assure us that economic success is nothing less than a moral virtue.


Organized alphabetically as a lexicon, Keywords explores the history and common usage of major terms in the everyday language of capitalism. Because the words in this book have successfully infiltrated everyday life in the English-speaking world, their meanings often seem self-evident, even benign. Who could be against empowerment, after all? Keywords uncovers the unexpected histories of words like innovation, which was once synonymous with “false prophecy” before it became the prevailing faith of Silicon Valley. Other words, like best practices and human capital, are relatively new coinages that promise us a kind of freedom within a marketplace extending its reach across the public sector and into our private lives. The new language of capitalism burnishes hierarchy, competition, and exploitation as leadership, collaboration, and sharing, modeling for us the habits of the economically successful person: be visionary, be self-reliant, and never, ever stop working.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.