The Sweetheart Locket: A gripping and emotional WW2 page turner

· Orion Dash
5.0
1 review
Ebook
336
Pages

About this ebook

'A story that will linger in your heart long after you finish it' MAISIE THOMAS

'I laughed and cried .... I loved this book and heartily recommend it' FIVE STARS

'The Sweetheart Locket is a moving dual timeline story about love, loss and secrets' FIVE STARS

What if the key to your present lies in the past?

London, 1939
On the eve of the Second World War, Canadian Maggie Wyndham defies her family and stays in England to do her bit for the war effort. Torn between two countries, two men and living a life of lies working for the Special Operations Executive (SOE), Maggie's RAF sweetheart locket is part of who she is...and who she isn't.

San Francisco, 2019
Over twenty years after Maggie's death, her daughter Millie and granddaughter Willow take a DNA test that's supposed to be a bit of fun but instead yields unexpected results. Willow has always treasured her grandmother's sweetheart locket, both family heirloom and a symbol of her grandparents' love story. But now she doesn't know what to believe. She embarks on a search for the truth, one she doesn't know will reveal far more about herself...

A gripping and heart-breaking dual timeline novel about love, loss and buried secrets, The Sweetheart Locket is perfect for fans of Lorna Cook, Rachel Hore and Suzanne Kelman.

***

Readers are loving The Sweetheart Locket!

'A book that I enjoyed and brought tears to my eyes' FIVE STARS

'It was heartwarming and made me feel some powerful emotions' FIVE STARS

'This book has everything. There is romance, intrigue, history and mystery' FIVE STARS

'A well-written story with characters drawn so realistically and likeable' FIVE STARS

'A journey I'm grateful for having the opportunity to experience' FIVE STARS

Ratings and reviews

5.0
1 review
DJ Sakata
March 20, 2022
This was an absorbing, heart-rending, and intriguing dual-timeline and multiple POV narratives between family members in WWII England and modern times. The storylines were original, engaging, well contrived, historically and culturally accurate, and laced with modern-day family tensions and 1940's wartime dangers, and a sense of impending peril. Unexpected revelations, family secrets, cultural concerns, clandestine operations, and identity issues were insightfully and thoughtfully explored in both timelines. I cared about the characters and was riddled with curiosity about what was to become of them. The writing has emotive, perceptive, easy to fall into, and kept a smooth scroll of sharp visuals sparking across my gray matter. Ms. Gilroy is not only an agile storyteller but a wily one full of surprises.

About the author

Now based in Canada, Jen Gilroy is a full-time writer. She lived in England for many years and worked in marketing communications and academic editing. She is a dual British/Canadian citizen with a postgraduate degree in geography (with a focus on British cultural studies and social history) from University College London.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.